We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lone Mountain Ranch is AMAZING!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lone Mountain Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lone Mountain Ranch
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Lone Mountain Ranch is AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Lone Mountain Ranch in Big Sky, Montana is one of the most beautiful places we have every visited! The property, staff, food, horses, fly fishing, all the activities far exceeded our expectations!!! The staff and guides are so knowledgeable. Everyone involved goes out of their way to make your stay an experience of a lifetime!

Thank you, thank you, Lone Mountain Ranch...we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob F, General Manager at Lone Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
Managing our guests expectations before they come and then exceeding them when they arrive is our full time job. Thanks Lisa for giving us the opportunity of serving and hosting your family. We look forward to your next visit when you will not just be our guest but part of our family with a Big # 2 on your name tag.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    15
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
94
40
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is the 5th dude ranch we have enjoyed. We love 4 star dude ranches that cater to those who love the beauty of the mountains, great food, decor, comfort and attentive service. Lone Mountain has a gorgeous property in Big Sky Montana, near the cute town of Bozeman. The people who work there are educated and dedicated environmentalists. Andrea, the guide who takes people to Yellowstone as well as birdwatching hikes, is a PhD candidate in environmental science. The hours spent listening to her passion re: this area were a treasure. I learned so much from her! Same with the hike to Ouzel Falls with Kaitlin, and the kayak and canoe day with ... oh, I forgot his name.... but he's from the National Forest department and now works as a guide at Lone Mountain. I had a great massage from his wife after a horseback ride. Everyone was helpful. The pastry chef is fabulous, the food is very good. We love all the ranches we've visited. They all have different strengths. They are all 4 star equivalent.

Helpful?
Thank lvtrvlchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob F, General Manager at Lone Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, 11 August 2013
This Chicago reviewer learned a valuable lesson in her five visits to dude ranches..."They all have different strengths". She enumerated many of ours. Thank you and we look forward to your 6th visit, no matter where you go. By the way, the name she forgot was Chris. He is also a master furniture and wood maker. Most of our full time staff are well educated and love to share their home at Lone Mountain with our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Get ready to create your personal dream vacation. The five of us were blown away by the beauty of the LMR. Our Douglas Fir cabin was gorgeous and immaculate, with incredible views. We had avid horseback riders in the group, who were able to go on advance rides, and new comers who were learning. Everyone enjoyed their horses (loved Tiger and Socks), especially our 15 year old horse crazy daughter. Hikes with Denise were amazing - so much to learn and see. Breakfast and lunch buffet style suited everyone's taste - the salads and fruit were so fresh. Dinner was great - with some consistent menu choices and then 4-5 specials every night to try. Don't miss the desserts - especially the choc chip scones in the morning.
We had trouble fitting everything in - so give some thought in advance to what you want to do most. All 5 people caught a fish fly fishing, though most of us were novices. We saw moose, elk, bear, coyote - and the bird watching hike probably netted us 15-20 types. And leave time for some of the unusual activities at the ranch - the high ropes course is very challenging and fun, archery was great, Tiny taught us how to rope, and if you have a car, make sure you do the oezul (sp?) falls hike - it's well maintained and beautiful.
Finally - if you want to be spoiled by wonderful service and some great friendly people - this is the place. Every part of the ranch - from horseback riding, hiking, kids club, dining area - they are focused on making sure you have a great time. This is hospitality at its best. The maint. people even helped us when we got a flat tire. I can honestly say this exceeded my expectations - a trip that can be tailored to your passions in an amazing backdrop of mountains.

Room Tip: If your group is big enough and in good shape - do the douglas fir cabin. It's gorgeous. But it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vball19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob F, General Manager at Lone Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
One portion of our mission statement says "we want to fulfill your western vacation dreams". I'm very happy we did just that with this family. We thank you for your kind review. Our staff deserves all the credit for these positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We spent a week at Loan Mountain Ranch with our son, daughter-in-law and two grandchildren. It was beautiful, clean and well managed. Any activity we wanted in the mountains was available to us. The staff was the best. Always going out of their way to make sure we were having a good time. The horseback riding was tailored to our different abilities and by the end of the week we were all feeling comfortable on the beautiful trails with experienced guides. Our 11 year old granddaughter fell in love with her horse. There was archery, a ropes course & fly fishing, so something for everyone. We stayed in Ridge Top Lodge which was outstanding, roomy and very comfortable. Located high above the ranch with views from balconies & large windows. The food was exceptional with lots of seafood, salads & fresh vegetables & homemade soups which made the girls happy and more hearty food for the guys or anyone who wanted it. Great desserts & lots of fresh fruit. We hiked to beautiful falls, Kids participated in Organized Kids Activities when they wanted company or did things with the family if they preferred that. We all met nice people and the kids made new friends.
We all highly recommend Lone Mountain.

Room Tip: Ridge Top Lodge has larger rooms and bigger living areas, but you need to have a group people. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob F, General Manager at Lone Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
We feel the best family vacations happen on guest ranches. The mixture of spectacular scenery, a responsive staff, well executed activities and good old western hospitality make for unplanned moments of sheer happiness for most families. Thank you for your words of encouragement. It was a pleasure serving as your host.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

My family stayed 7 nights and didn't want to leave at the end of our week. The scenery is gorgeous. We went for a horseback adventure wih NO horse experience. The wranglers were knowledgable and made riding a great time even for our 8 year old. Speaking of the OYA (kid program) was super fun and a huge confidence boosting experience. The food was amazing with lots of variety and just down right yummy. Foodies bring your fat pants! Portions are more than filling. The activities list is flexible and you tailor your own experience. You can be as lazy or busy as you like. I wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy everything possible. Overall out of this world experience. We will be going back next year!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanMurrayKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob F, General Manager at Lone Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
This reviewer used three phrases that are music to our ears: stress free; didn't want to leave; will be back next year. We are thrilled you enjoyed your adventure at Lone Mountain Ranch. We look forward to your return when you will be a friend and not just a guest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We had a wonderful time at LMR this past week. The riding was amazing with a good variety of scenic trails. Our cabin was clean and cozy and was right next to a rushing creek. The food surpassed my expectations, especially the decadent desserts and yummy breakfast pastries on the ample buffet. They also had a nice wine list and full bar. There were many other activities to keep non horse enthusiasts busy including a full day trip to Yellowstone NP, escorted hikes, a canoe trip etc (all included in price). The youth program was amazing with such nice counselors- even my shy daughter thrived and was engaged. I really can't say enough about how much we loved the place and the people!The only downside was the freaky Montana weather which treated us to several hail and rainstorms, and even some snow! We would love to return someday.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob F, General Manager at Lone Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
There are two Montana quips that are appropriate in response: "if you don't like the weather, wait five minutes"; "there is no such thing as inclement weather, only inappropriate clothing". To still garner a "perfect" even with the weather is a great tribute to our staff and their flexibility. Thank you for your review and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I have a previous review with more detail but thought that the April 2013 review based on a stay in mid-2012 should be commented on -- my husband and I are both vegetarians (no fish, meat, chicken, any other meat) and he also requires gluten free food. We found the restaurant very helpful, and we had sufficient options at each meal. We didn't have a ton of options - usually just 2 or so. Yes, I'd like more, and maybe a veg soup every day at lunch, but we had plenty of high quality food. Just notify them in advance and they will work with you.

Room Tip: Decide how far you want to walk to the lodge and how much privacy you want, and then ask the reserva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATLhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
3.8 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
4.1 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#2 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 13 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 13 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
3.8 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
3.9 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#8 of 13 in Big Sky
3.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Mountain Ranch

Property: Lone Mountain Ranch
Address: 750 Lone Mountain Ranch Road, Big Sky, MT 59716
Region: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lone Mountain Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lone Mountain Ranch (LMR), situated on 148 acres in beautiful Big Sky, Montana, was first homesteaded in 1915 and has long been recognized as one of the premier guest ranch resorts in the country. The property consists of 30 rooms located within 24 unique cabins as well as a restaurant and saloon, pavilion, retail shop, equestrian facilities, and meeting spaces. Listed on the National Registry of the Historic Places, a member of the Dude Rancher's Association, an Orvis Endorsed Fly Fishing Lodge, a National Geographic Unique Lodge of the World, and once voted the #1 Nordic ski area in North America, LMR offers authentic accommodations, genuine Montana cuisine, exceptional service, and a stunning array of outdoor activities. Combine these attributes with close proximity to Yellowstone National Park, Big Sky Resort, as well as Bozeman Airport, and we believe the LMR guest experience is unlike any other in the American West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lone Mountain Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Mountain Guest Ranch Hotel Big Sky
Lone Mountain Ranch Big Sky, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing