We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best family vacation ever!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lone Mountain Ranch
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
West Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best family vacation ever!!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We've been home for 2 weeks and we miss LMR so much. We loved our vacation. The staff is amazing and work so hard to make it a wonderful experience. The kids program blew us away. The counselors are highly qualified and from the moment we met them, I didn't hesitate to leave my daughter with them for the day. They are so energetic and happy to spend time with the kids. My daughter fell in love with all the counselors but definitely had her favorites (Sara, Andrew and Cody). It was hard to pry her away at the end of the day! But when we did, she still had lots of time to play with her new friends outside. There is a large open grass area outside the dining hall that all the kids run and play and she loved the open space.

My daughter fell in love with "her" horse on day one and LMR did a great job of making sure she was able to ride "Eclipse" the rest of our stay. The wranglers were very knowledgable but Jennifer was so patient and after our last ride, spent almost an hour with our daughter teaching her about unsaddling a horse and caring for the horses. She was able to help Jen unsaddle 4 horses and carry the saddles to the barn. It was such a great experience for her.

It's hard to describe how awesome the food is. The menu stays the same all week but then they have specials that aren't on the menu. ORDER THE SPECIALS!! They are phenomenal! And the staff in the dining hall work so hard and are so friendly. We especially liked Annie from Maine. We really enjoyed the Friday night family style dinner too. What a great way to end the stay.

My husband and I enjoyed the saloon and Ben the bartender. He was very knowledgable and willing to make any drink for you. We sampled various drinks and I've even ordered a few bottles of liquor since we've been home that he suggested so we could recreate our drinks.

We stayed July 5-12 and the weather was perfect. Our cabin was cozy. We are a family of 3 and didn't need much space and booked probably later than we should have. We stayed in Blue Spruce and loved that it was tucked in the trees and right next to the creek. But next time, we will book earlier and reserve one of the larger cabins even though we didn't spend much time in the cabin.

We met some great families and created memories that we will cherish for a lifetime. We definitely will be back someday to LMR...we loved it so much. Worth every penny!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Billi_MW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Manager at Lone Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review of our ranch, and your recent experience with us. It is wonderful to hear of your lasting memories, as we believe that vacations should be full of unforgettable experiences. We will certainly pass along your kind thoughts to our staff so they can see the impact they had on you and your family. Enjoy the rest of your summer and we look forward to welcoming you back to the ranch again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    16
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
94
43
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

My kids both cried themselves to sleep on our last night, devastated to leave their new friends, their beloved horses, the energetic and loving counselors and wranglers, our adorable cabin, and the stunning landscape. Whoever hires the staff here does an amazing job selecting people who genuinely love the ranch and are eager to share that love with guests. The setting could not be more lovely. We were lucky to be here in July when the wildflowers were blooming. Our fly fishing trip with Wes was a highlight for sure, as were the daily horse rides. I love how families can do activities together or separately as desired.

The facilities can be slightly rough around the edges (the carpet in our cabin could be replaced, as could the couches), but I know they are working on upgrades, and I wasn't expecting the Ritz anyway. We researched a lot of ranches, and I am completely happy with our choice.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Manager at Lone Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We sincerely thank you for your recent review of the ranch, and are very appreciative of you and your family spending your vacation with us. Family time is an extremely important aspect of our program, and we love that your family made a connection to your new friends, the ranch horses, and our staff. We are glad to hear that you were able to take in the fields of wildflowers, as well as many exciting adventures, including your guided fly fishing trip.

This is a very exciting time for us, as we enhance our facilities around the ranch. We look forward to seeing you and your family again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We visited LMR from Australia for a family adventure holiday. We are a family of 3, with a 10 year old daughter. WOW what a place! We were excited as the website promised that LMR was going to be great. The reality was even better! The location is so beautiful it's difficult to believe its real. Beautiful log cabins, forest, green green grass (rare in Australia), stream, animals, mountains. So much to do, horseback riding, hiking, mountain biking, zip-line, Yellowstone tour, yoga. But best of all, and one of the main reasons for our visit was the kids program. The young counsellors that run it are fabulous, so much energy. The food was great and enjoyed sharing dinner with the other families each night. There was also outdoor BBQ dinner and breakfast not to be missed. Love the live country music. We stayed in Coyote cabin which would sleep a family of 5. We did not want to leave at the end of the week. Made some great friends. Amazing staff and amazing location. Do yourself a favour, you won't be sorry. Oh and to fellow Aussies, no need to worry about bears.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Manager at Lone Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We are so very appreciative of your family making the trip all the way from Australia to Montana! It was a pleasure to have the three of you with us for a week this summer. We feel fortunate to have the incredible scenery, and plethora of activities for guests to enjoy. The kids program allows all ages of kids to explore the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem, and we are happy that your family enjoyed it. We look forward to having everyone join us again at the ranch in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Lone Mountain was part of a three week holiday of a lifetime trip to the USA for us.
Without doubt it was the highlight of our trip. The scenery is stunning, the ranch is beautiful and the experience provided by the staff was truly outstanding. We rode horses, hiked, visited Yellowstone Park, canoed and enjoyed BBQ, live music, outdoor breakfast, excellent food and a cosy cabin with wood burning stove.
Being British we tend to be restrained in expressing our enthusiasm but Lone Mountain was a truly amazing experience

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldtrout52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul R, Manager at Lone Mountain Ranch, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your Lone Mountain Ranch experience. You certainly took advantage of the many extraordinary experiences in and around the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem. We look forward to having you join us again here in the mountains of Montana!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Our group of 15 was very active and we hurried to fill our days with assorted activites as soon as we arrived. There is so much to do and so many options. We rode horseback, fished, hiked, kayaked, zip lined, and loved the chuckwagon breakfast at the corral and children's rodeo. The children's program was outstanding and our children ages 5 - 10 were thrilled. The list of what to bring includes winter and summer activities so pack for the season. We shipped most of our things ahead of time and LMR shipped them back to us promptly after our magnificent week. My family told me constantly how much they loved LMR and were asking to come back next year within 24 hours of our arrival.

Room Tip: Our family of 15 stayed at the Lodge and in one cabin. We were very pleased with both. The lodge h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilmette
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My 14-year old nephew and I visited Lone Mountain Ranch for a week visit during the summer and loved everything about it. It's great place to have a family vacation. The ranch allows for the perfect number of guests, keeping it smaller, so it almost feels like you're at an extended family gathering. The meals in the dining hall are fun, communal experiences where you can sit with other diners if you like and share stories or sit just with your own party. The ranch offers great outdoor activities. If you like mountain biking and are fit, rent a bike from town (they'll deliver the bikes to the ranch) and ride up to Big Sky if you're up to it - it's a great ride and a fun destination. We went mountain biking two other days with two different guides from Lone Mountain and had a blast. For riders, there's some great singletrack and great sights!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueskiesallaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We came to cross country ski.perfect snow conditions with well marked trails.a very courteous,friendly, professional staff.
A first class run operation at a reasonable price.
The happy surprise was the gastronomic experience of the restaurant.
The restaurant cuisine is first class,by its menu's variety, its fares, its service. The chef Nick Steen is outstanding.
The resort as a whole is beyond expectations.
I will return in winter and I highly recommend this property to anyone wanting to spent a winter vacation in Montana.
Bravo !

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank guyjcarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
3.8 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
554 reviews
4.1 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#2 of 13 in Big Sky
696 reviews
3.8 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 13 in Big Sky
241 reviews
1.3 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 13 in Big Sky
116 reviews
3.8 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#9 of 13 in Big Sky
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Mountain Ranch

Property: Lone Mountain Ranch
Address: 750 Lone Mountain Ranch Road, Big Sky, MT 59716
Region: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lone Mountain Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lone Mountain Ranch (LMR), situated on 148 acres in beautiful Big Sky, Montana, was first homesteaded in 1915 and has long been recognized as one of the premier guest ranch resorts in the country. The property consists of 30 rooms located within 24 unique cabins as well as a restaurant and saloon, pavilion, retail shop, equestrian facilities, and meeting spaces. Listed on the National Registry of the Historic Places, a member of the Dude Rancher's Association, an Orvis Endorsed Fly Fishing Lodge, a National Geographic Unique Lodge of the World, and once voted the #1 Nordic ski area in North America, LMR offers authentic accommodations, genuine Montana cuisine, exceptional service, and a stunning array of outdoor activities. Combine these attributes with close proximity to Yellowstone National Park, Big Sky Resort, as well as Bozeman Airport, and we believe the LMR guest experience is unlike any other in the American West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Lone Mountain Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Mountain Guest Ranch Hotel Big Sky
Lone Mountain Ranch Big Sky, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing