We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and terrible quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Chet's Bar & Grill

Chet's Bar & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Chet's Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 71 Restaurants in Big Sky
Price range: US$4 - US$29
Cuisines: American, Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Chet's Bar & Grill is currently closed for the off-season. Enjoy a sumptuous breakfast to kick-start your day or unwind with a handcrafted Montana micro-brew before sitting down to a salad and steak for dinner. Chet's Bar and Grill is located in the Huntley Lodge within Big Sky Resort's Mountain Village. Just off the sunken lobby on the 1st floor of the Huntley Hotel.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced and terrible quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

The only good thing about this place is the beer list. Don't go here for breakfast, lunch or dinner (I had all three) just come for beer and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HartyTKelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Chet's Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your Chet's experience with us. We are sorry to hear you were so disappointed with your meals. Your description of our food and service does not match that of what our team strives for. Please accept our apologies. Our team will be contacting you directly to look into this matter further. Thanks again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    49
    23
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth a return trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We were there in Big Sky for only one night and wanted a restaurant close to our hotel. After checking out a number of choices, we settled on Chet's. We wanted a place with great craft beer and a reasonably priced menu. We were not disappointed. Both my wife and I chose the Grilled Asparagus Prima Vera with Gnrilled Chicken and loved it! We liked it so much that we asked for the recipe and the chef came out and described how it was made. Now that was service. So when we make it at home, we remember our wonderful timel at Chet's.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ebojoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Chet's Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
That is exactly what we like to hear! Thank you for sharing your review with us. Please come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, MA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent dining experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Chet's is in the The Huntley Lodge at Big Sky. The room could use some updating. Good service from friendly staff, nice selection of apps, salads, entrees sandwiches, decently prepared, but nothing that really knocked your socks off-- fairly average.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cusevisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Chet's Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Average is not what our team is shooting for. You and our staff should expect more. We will take your comments back to our team and use them to better hit the mark for your next visit. If you have any suggestions as to what we could do with our menu to "knock your socks off" please share them with us at info@bigskyresort.com. Thanks for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slingerlands, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Suprisingly good value for Hotel Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Chet's is one restaurant in the Huntley Lodge at Big Sky Resort. Visited one evening for dinner with 3 other couples after full-day of skiiing woods. Service was attentive even with this size group. Fairly broad dinner selections in both price & number of items. Waitress and chef even added huge double portions of veges to our plates at our request for extra veges with no upcharge!

A band played for an hour and half before our dinner .... midweek no less! A nice bonus.

All friends were very happy with their dinners and thought prices were reasonable (not overly expensive or cheap) with very good quality food. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacques R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Chet's Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you! Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and your meal with us. Please stop in and join us again after your next Big Sky ski adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun, relaxed and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

French dip was good. The Elk and Bison Shepherd's pie for St Patty's was great. They had a fun little band and the staff was friendly and attentive. I left my camera when we left, but the staff found it and cared for it until my panicked return in the morning.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank HLJKDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Chet's Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Happy to hear that you enjoyed the shepherd's pie and french dip. Both favorites of our team and really hit the spot after a long day on the hill. We invite you to come back and visit us again for some après music and dinner on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chet's Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Chet's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing