We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Anyplace Else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge at Big Sky
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2011

This is the place to stay at Big Sky. Owner Jeff Quackenbush and staff go the extra mile to make sure your stay is without a hitch., I've seen the staff use their personal car to shuttle someone to a nearby site. Off route makes no difference -- they can't do too much to help guests get about. Also, don't miss the Grilling and Chilling Buffet. Dave and Janice put on a spread you'll love, and keep it coming until you are unable to eat another bite. The Lodge is a short distance from the Huntley with shuttle service at your convenience, and at the end of the day you can sky to the beginning of the driveway to the Lodge from either Big Sky or Moonlight Basin. I've never enjoy a Lodge more.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KidBoy707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

479 - 485 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2011

My stay at the Lodge at Big Sky was excellent. The room was clean, spacious, and comfortable. The staff were courteous, and very helpful. The hotel has ample amount of conference rooms, an excellent breakfast bar, and a comfortable great room. Jeff and his staff were great. He really made our stay comfortable and he worked tirelessly to meet all of our needs. I highly recommend staying at the Lodge at Big Sky.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pete89_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

A warm, congenial, and accomodating staff added to a terrific experience. It was a wonderful place to relax, spend time with friends and meet new people. Great lounge, and extras that we never expected. Excellent location near shops and slopes. Can't rave enough!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judifree2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

The Lodge at Big Sky was great! We loved skiing at Big Sky and loved our 6 night stay at the Lodge. The Lodge probably had one of the friendliest staff and best service of any hotel I have stayed at. Everyone was very helpful and personable. Service from the front desk staff to the breakfast staff to the shuttle drivers and even the owner was great.

The room was very spacious with 2 comfortable queen beds and big closet. The bathroom was large and clean. Shower was nice. They provided a nice dorm fridge and wet bar sink. The room was clean and quiet. We didn't pay for the mountain view, but our view of the parking lot still looked over a portion of the ski resort and was nice. The heat was very easy to control and quick to respond. The room had a warm home-like over all feel.

We used the 3 outdoor hot tubs everyday after skiing and enjoyed the view. The tubs were nice and warm and never had a problem with too many people. In fact, we had a hot tub to ourselves all days except one. One drawback is the provided pool towels are very small. I didn't use the pool, but it seemed nice and clean.

Breakfast was included and consisted of bagels, muffins, cereals, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, some fruit and frozen omlettes and sausage. I didn't try the microwave yourself "entrees" but I did enjoy the other items evey morning and was pleased to have a free filling breakfast to keep me going until lunch.

We utilized the free shuttle to the lifts every morning and either skied back to the parking lot afterwards or took the shuttle back when I bought beer or snacks at the base grocery store. You could keep your skis in the ski locker for free by the shuttle every night. The staff would shuttle you to the base area if you wanted to go to dinner also and pick you up too. Very easy and very accomodating.

Overall, the stay was great, the value was excellent and I'd go again in a heartbeat. Big Sky itself is an incredible place to ski. It has awesome terrain with something for everyone and the place is huge and has no lift lines at all. You also don't get a overly-corporate vibe at this place. No Chevy Truck or Budweiser advertisements all over. Locals were great and friendly. Plenty of good local microbrewed beer at all of the resort restaurants for reasonable prices. Restaurants aren't the greatest in the base area, but it does the job. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kemosabe41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Very good location for skiing, very warm and personalised service by all staff including and especially by Jeff the owner/manager. Much effort to please all guests and make the stay enjoyable and memorable.
Rooms are clean and facilities such as swimming pool and hot tubs all maintained well to add to pleasure of staying at this Lodge all for very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philmarkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We stayed at The Lodge for a week in Jan 2011. We found it to be an excellent place to stay. We were visiting the area mostly to participate in skiing, so the very close location to the base area was excellent. We chose to walk to the base each morning (about 3 min walk), but for those with uncomfortable boots you could get a lift in the Lodges shuttle bus which runs very regularly in the morning.

The rooms were large and well appointed, as were the bathrooms. The staff, and particularly cleaning staff were very welcoming and friendly.

Other plus factors include - three outdoor heated hot tubs, an indoor pool and hot tub, all day free tea, coffee and hot chocolate, lovely lounge area to play games or relax.

The only negative, and this is perhaps me just being a bit picky, was the frozen goods served for breaky. But, that said, there were other options of cereal, toast and bagles which were not frozen and were very nice.

I would recommend the lodge for singles, couples and families. It is a well managed, well located and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillyMolly6101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2011

This is the third time I have stayed here and each time gets better. For the area this is a good value. The rooms and lobby are very comfortable, inviting, and clean. The mountain view from the lobby is spectacular. To say the least this is a very cozy
hotel with a staff that goes over and above. The owner is present during evening hours making sure everyone is having an enjoyable time. Some nights he is playing as a DJ with music and cooking for the guests. Do not miss their evening meals if available as the price is very competitive and delicious.
You are next door to the Huntley and a five minute walk to the slopes. For those needing transportation they have a van.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
0.1 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
7.8 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#1 of 9 in Big Sky
741 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 9 in Big Sky
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#7 of 9 in Big Sky
296 reviews
4.7 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#6 of 9 in Big Sky
123 reviews
7.3 mi away
Alpenglow Condominiums
Alpenglow Condominiums
#8 of 9 in Big Sky
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Big Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Big Sky

Address: 75 Sitting Bull Road, Big Sky, MT 59716 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Mountain Inn Big Sky)
Region: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range: £120 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Big Sky 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located minutes from the Base Village area yet quiet and private, The Lodge at Big Sky is Big Sky's only independent lodging located slope side in Big Sky Montana. We are the best value on the mountain. Come visit us and see what sets us apart from the others:) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lodge at Big Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Big Sky Hotel Big Sky
Hotel Big Sky
The Lodge At Big Sky Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing