We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Skiing Accomodations Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Moonlight Mountain Homes
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Best Skiing Accomodations Ever!”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We've been doing our annual winter ski trip to Colorado for almost 10 years and for the first time ever, we chose Montana this winter and couldn't have been happier with our decision. The cabins at Moonlight (we stayed at #4 on Spur Rd) can comfortably host 2 couples with plenty of space, a well-equipped kitchen, and a personal hot tub sitting right on the the ski-in/ski-out porch outside the front door. Couldn't have asked for anything better! Great trip! We'll be back!

Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I would highly recommend staying this cabin for Yellowstone visitors during summer season. This place is a bit far from west gate of Yellowstone; it takes 45mins drive, but you will enjoy staying clean, quiet and fairly new cabin. 6 of us slept in one cabin which has two bedrooms and one living room. We actually saved big money instead of spending 3 bedrooms with any hotel near Yellowstone. The room was not large but they are very clean. One of rooms has bathroom inside we, all girls, were very comfortable to use bathroom. The cabin has excellent kitchen equipment, and we enjoyed cooking our meals every night and made fresh coffee every morning. There is no BBQ grill. We knew it before we went there. If they provide BBQ grill, we would love to have BBQ party. We also enjoyed using hot tub outside of balcony area every night. We saw fox there. The lobby of Check In building was beautiful. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We needed to send fax, and she was very helpful and friendly and even it was free of charge. Lovely place!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Veronica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barto, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Wow. Instead of booking a crappy, overpriced Best Western in West Yellowstone, I decided to take a gamble and book a cabin in Big Sky for a few dollars more. Despite the hour drive from West Yellowstone, my family of 4 heartily approved of this decision. Gorgeous views, wonderful accommodations - we had the resort to ourselves since it's off-season. The cabin had plenty of space for the 4 of us. We had a little black bear cross the street in front of our car one morning, but the only bear we saw at Yellowstone was a little black speck in the distance. We took a day off from Yellowstone touring to hang around at the cabin, have snowball fights, and enjoy the beautiful outdoor pool at the lodge. The kids loved swimming outside while there was snow on the ground. There's no daily housekeeping service, but they're very accommodating if you call and need something.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our stay in Cabin 25.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuitcaseAnd3Cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

The only reason I only gave it 3 stars is because it's not luxurious. That being said, it's perfect for skiing with all you could need, as well as being ski in/ski out (Gambler run). Great to have a private hot tub. Use Lodge at Moonlight for drinks and dinner - it's lovely and close. Very clean and beds very comfortable. We were in #3 and there was no W/D, but I believe that some of the cabins do have them. We could have used another tray for wet boots, but that's all. We would stay again as it seemed a better alternative than the Summit or Huntley. Plus, we enjoyed the Moonlight runs immensely.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meanwhile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

I'd like to amend what another reviewer said - this is Ski in-Ski Out. I had never skied before this trip, and even I managed to make the 2 minute trip down to the Iron Horse chair lift that is shared by Big Sky & Moonlight. The trail is right out your front door, albeit possibly behind a mound of snow (but hey, that's handy for sticking your skis into at night!). We had a group of 4, so the cabin was perfect with 2 beds/2 baths. We had breakfast and dinner in our cabin and lunch down at the mountain village. Hot tub was a treat every afternoon after skiing. Worked great for our needs!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wintertraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2011

The cabin we stayed in was clean and fairly new. It was terribly hard to find in the dark. I could have done without the dear head mounted in the living room. We had never skied Big Sky or Moonlight Basin before. We always rent ski-in/ski-out rentals. This property was not that. We and the people in the cabin next to ours walked around desperately looking for a way to get to the slopes. There was no way to put on our skis and begin skiing. We all had to get in our vehicles and drive down. When checking out, I told the manager of our disappointment. He only said, "You should have called, and we would have sent someone up to show you how to get to the slope." If someone has to come up and show us, that speaks to how ski-in/ski-out it truly is!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndyReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
livingthelife
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2009

Wish we had spent our honeymoon here. The entire setting is spectacular.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank classyandsassy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
1.2 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
546 reviews
1.3 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
8.8 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#3 of 13 in Big Sky
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 13 in Big Sky
237 reviews
1.2 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#8 of 13 in Big Sky
280 reviews
11.4 mi away
Rainbow Ranch Lodge
Rainbow Ranch Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gallatin Gateway
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonlight Mountain Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight Mountain Homes

Property: Moonlight Mountain Homes
Address: 1 Mountain Loop Road, Big Sky, MT 59716 (Formerly Cabins at Moonlight Mid-Mountain)
Region: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Moonlight Mountain Homes 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moonlight Mountain Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabins At Moonlight Mid-Mountain Hotel Big Sky
Moonlight Mountain Homes Big Sky, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing