We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Location, Incredible Views, Incredible Staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Summit At Big Sky
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
West Michigan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Incredible Location, Incredible Views, Incredible Staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

We spent two separate weeks in Big Sky this year, and stayed at the Summit both times. The truly ski in, ski out location is by far the best on the mountain. The staff is beyond pleasant, and responded happily to every inquiry or request. They always go out of their way to make guests comfortable and happy.
The included breakfast at the Huntley is awesome and worth the short walk. The bfast at The Peaks = OK. The staff at The Peaks isn't nearly as good as at the Huntley.
The Murphy bed is great: very easy to operate, comfortable, excellent quality sheets, down comforter and down pillows.
Cons: the furniture in the rooms is too big and heavy for the rooms. And it's getting pretty beat up. Time for a refresh.
Not really a con for us, but might be for some: the night life at the base isn't great. The restaurants are over-priced and not all that great. Eat at the Lotus Pad in BS Town Center for the best food and value. It's a locals favorite, and crazy good fresh Thai food.
Also - buy alcohol in Bozeman, and grocery shop at the Hungry Moose in BS Town Center. Excellent selection of local meats etc.

The short hike to Ousel Falls is worth doing.

We've skied all over the world, and we've fallen in love with Big Sky. It'll be hard to enjoy skiing anywhere else now that Big Sky has spoiled us with excellent accommodations, the friendliest staff, and a mountain seemingly to ourselves.

Room Tip: Ask for the mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trixien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    79
    34
    8
    2
See reviews for
78
49
9
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
136 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

This was our first time in Big Sky, Montana and it was absolutely breath-taking. We got a mountain view suite and the view was amazing. The room was pretty good, a bit dated, but we had a small kitchen, couch, and pull-down bed. All and all it was decent and did the job. There is free parking but you have to walk about 5 minutes. Keep this in mind since it literally snowed almost 5 feet while we were there! You cannot beat the location of the Summit being that it is slope-side and they store your skis next to the lifts for you at night. You literally walk out of the lobby and there are the lifts, it was so convenient! We skied for 3 days and the mountain was perfect! Best sking of my life! Perfect for all skiers and zero wait at the lifts. I would definitely go back for the sking!

We did a 1 day trip to Yellowstone and were disappointed to find out the snowcoach tours (what we were excited to do) were closed for the season beginning on 3/15. Bad timing on our part. So we opted to do the wildlife tour which consists of being in a van for nearly 9 hours. You get to walk around Yellowstone a bit and look at geysers, waterfalls, and animals but for $95 a person I don't think it was worth it. So plan ahead if you are thinking of going to Yellowstone. They close the park certain times in the spring to clear the roads.

Finally, do not go to Big Sky if you are looking for night life. There isn't any. Zero! My boyfriend and I couldn't believe how early everything closes. We went to dinner at 8pm one night and were literally the last table in the restaurant. There are probably 2 good bars in the area, Whiskey Jacks and Carabiner. Though service in these places is questionable. The bartenders are pretty awful and charge whatever they like for drinks. We got the same drink 3 nights in a row and were charged 3 different prices. Service is definitely lacking in all of the restaurants/bars in the ski area. But we went to Bucks T4 Lodge for dinner and the Lone Ranch and both were great! I definitely advise to get out of the ski area at least once for a nice dinner. You will not find great food in the hotel or surrounding hotels. We had bison, elk, duck, and antelope all at Bucks and it was great.
Overall I would for sure go back to Big Sky. But next time with a big group of friends and family. You have to make your own party there since everything closes really early. There are places to hang out at night and drink so that is what we plan on doing next time. Considering that prices are very high (probably higher then Chicago prices) at the restaurants and bars. So make sure you plan on the fact this won't be a cheap trip!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlsacco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

We stayed in the 4 bedroom penthouse suite. The view was fantastic, the service was excellent and the location was tops. They have complimentary ski check in the hotel. Breakfast was included - fresh made omelets! The staff seemed very happy and were so accommodating. We want to go back next year! The mountain had something for everyone in our family.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jstarkey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2011

We love skiing as a family vacation and decided to try Big Sky. The Mountain is amazing, plenty of terrain for all types of skiers. The Summit is Boyne's attempt at a quality resort at the base of Big Sky. We stayed in what is called a tri-hull (essentially three hotel rooms that connect via doors), it was a glorified hotel room and not a quality one. The rooms are dated I assume unchanged from there original design when the hotel opened. The furniture is heavy woods and heavy sofa's. They have one flat panel tv in the living room otherwise the tv's are old clunky units. Several times during our stay we found stacks of dirty laundry laying outside of rooms. The hotel has a full service restaurant but the menu is trying to be more than it should many elk, bison dishes. Great idea but it would be better to have a menu of fare that skiers want after a day of skiing. It also has a bar/lounge which was ok. The workout facilities were subpar for this day and age. The pool was nice with a nice view of the mountain peak. The hotel has free internet which when it worked was very slow and is most likely very undersized for the amount of guests using it. All in All a great location but total miss when it comes to service. It would be great if a quality organization like RItz or Four Seasons could take this property over, it is very clear that Boyne does not have the expertise to run a high end hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingman1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

We've been coming to Big Sky for more than 10 years now. This is the first time we've stayed at the summit and I must say is the best located place in Big Sky. You literally walk out the door of the hotel and you're on the slopes. Plus, you store your skiis right next to the ski lift so you don't have to carry your equipment anywhere!

The rooms were nice and clean. The best part was the floor to ceiling windows with wraparound views of the ski slopes/Lone mountain peak to one side and the surrounding mountain ranges to the other. Can't be beat.

The slopeside swimming pool is heated better than any other heated pool I've been in at Big Sky and you get poolside drink service that can't be beat. The breakfast that is included are delicious and have something for everyone. Valet parking is also nice so you don't have to brave walking through icy parking lots to get to your car.

Overall, I'm glad our other favorite Big Sky hotel was booked so we could try this place. The amenities and location can't be beat. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJackson_MEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, WA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

We have stayed at multiple locations in Big Sky. This was our first time at the Summit. We had a studio, parking lot view.
Highs: LOCATION - ski in and out the front door. Bell staff was great. Well-furnished, complete kitchen (that we never used). Nice bedding, comforter and pillows. Gas fireplace.
Lows: Very noisy refrigerator, noisy and variable heating/ventilation system. VERY cold by the windows. Murphy bed just OK.
Caution: Be aware that if any of you have a problem staying at this altitude, and need to move down to the Meadow Villiage, there are no refunds if you check out early. (And we had to.)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c7999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
161 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

This was my 1st ski trip and 1st stay in a lodge so I was expecting a very elegant and up-scale hotel. Even though it was not elegant or fancy, it was nice, the staff was very friendly, and the location in proximity to base camp was perfect.
Our room was small, faced the driveway (although there is a mountain in the distance), had a murphy bed to sleep in (that was a surprise), but did have a furnished kitchen.
It appears these are time shares becuase there was a locked closet. Although the housekeeping was adequate (2x/day) it was nothing special.
The Carabiners Lounge was fun with live music daily. And the breakfast buffet in Peaks was very good with a wide variety.
The hot tub was wonderful, with an amazing view and even bar service. We had to ask for robes to be sent up to our room prior though.
I would consider staying here in the future, but would also look to the Huntley--it was in a similar area with a similar look to it.
A humidifier was in our closet and while though a nice touch, not sure it helped becuase we couldn't close in the room.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#2 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
7.7 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#8 of 13 in Big Sky
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
4.6 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 13 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
3.3 mi away
Alpenglow Condominiums
Alpenglow Condominiums
#11 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit At Big Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit At Big Sky

Property: The Summit At Big Sky
Address: 50 Big Sky Resort Road, Big Sky Resort, Big Sky, MT 59716
Region: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Summit At Big Sky 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Euro-Western Summit at Big Sky has been the vacation choice of both President Obama and Vice President Biden. The Summit is one of the finest slopeside properties in the Rockies with primary high-capacity lifts only 100 yards away. The Summit combines luxury appointments with a prime location in the heart of the Mountain Village Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Summit At Big Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summit At Big Sky Hotel Big Sky
Summit Hotel Big Sky
Summit Big Sky
Big Sky Summit
The Summit At Big Sky Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing