We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Summit At Big Sky
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
188 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Spent the past week here over Xmas. Staff couldn't be nicer and more accommodating. Big Sky is a great resort that feels down to earth and all about the skiing. Our 1 bedroom condo is overlooking the gondolas and the views are spectacular. The room is very clean and has everything you need: full kitchen, dining table, big televisions, comfy couches. The bathrooms are pretty simple -- nothing luxurious but Big Sky doesn't seem to do the luxurious thing anyway. The complimentary breakfast is awesome and I am so appreciative of all the gluten free alternatives they have.

My two big cons: ski locker should be on second floor (not ground floor) so you don't have to walk down stairs to put your skis away. Huge inconvenience and a big drag. The last day here though it seems they started an outside ski concierge which is great. They should advertise it since the locker room situation isn't great. Second con is the hot tub/pool situation. It's just not hot enough to be relaxing and management said they can't make it hotter? Big bummer.

Room Tip: We are facing the mountain and views are amazing. BUT you hear the groomers all night long. Have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreamingmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    79
    34
    8
    2
See reviews for
78
49
9
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Summit is right next door to Huntley - I found it to be prettier and more romantic - I stayed in a 'Spa Room', with a big snuggly bed, gas fire and spa bath in the bedroom.

I can't recommend this room highly enough for couples. It was beautiful, with a fantastic view - so romantic.

If I were being picky - I found the room service reasonably upsetting, with a clear focus on quantity over quality.... retrospectively I feel I may simply not have been prepared for American food. I would however like to commend the staff on being particularly accommodating of me with my late night arrival and empty stomach.

I liked Summit best for quality and value of all the properties I saw in Big Sky.

Room Tip: If you're travelling alone, don't stay at Summit - you will spend the whole trip planning to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielleKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We have stayed at the Summit a couple times and it has always been excellent. We usually get a 1 Bedroom Suite with a King Bed, which also has a murphy bed and sofa bed in the other room. That way each of our kids get their own bed, and we get our own bedroom with a king bed. The king bed units are also quite a bit larger than the others which is nice.

Breakfast buffet in the morning is always great. Can't beat the location, the lift is literally right outside the door. We all love the indoor/outdoor hot tub after a long day on the slopes, too. Kids have enjoyed the games and stories that they have in the evenings also.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom suite with king bed, sleeps 6 and has lots of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brock W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
503 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

This hotel is in Big Sky, right at the base of the ski lifts...ski in, ski out. I was there in the fall, and the hotel and the resort were pretty empty, and no matter how hard people try to make these places into 4 season resorts, a ski resort in the fall is not the most attractive place in the world, particularly when not much is open, a lot of construction is going on as they get ready for the ski season, etc. That being said, the Summit is pretty nice. The hotel itself is very big, and not surprisingly, feels and looks a lot like a ski lodge. My room was very large...lots of room for ski equipment, etc. The staff was great...very friendly, very welcoming, and very helpful.I was there for business meetings, and the only meals I had (one group dinner and one breakfast on my own) were fine, but I suspect that when the hotel is full, it will be difficult to get into the restaurant.

The hotel worked well for our group, and if I were to come back for skiing, i would probably vote to stay here, if for no other reason than the proximity to the ski slopes...which look pretty interesting.

Room Tip: Get a slope side room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrinceConsort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Big Sky is absolutely beautiful and there is plenty to do any time of the year. Summit at Big Sky is in a perfect location to take advantage of all Montana has to offer. The reception staff is excellent.

However, the walls are paper thin. You can clearly hear your neighbors' conversations. Also, the room service leaves a lot to be desired. The service is good, but the food is not-so-good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TWAM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

True Ski in Ski Out accommodation .We stayed with our 3 adult children.The rooms and beds were comfortable.The indoor/outdoor pool was just perfect after a long day skiing followed by fireside in the living area.Very convenient location as we could walk to most restaurants and there was ski check on the slope side.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ptripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great summer time activities. The Adventure Zip Line was a blast. The Summit has great rooms, with impeccable service and views. We were here for a wedding and stayed 7 days. There was so much to do, all of the guides through Base Camp were a lot of fun.

Room Tip: We were here for a wedding and stayed in a 3 bedroom suite. I saw double queen rooms, king rooms, 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#2 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
7.7 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#8 of 13 in Big Sky
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
4.6 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 13 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
3.3 mi away
Alpenglow Condominiums
Alpenglow Condominiums
#11 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit At Big Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit At Big Sky

Property: The Summit At Big Sky
Address: 50 Big Sky Resort Road, Big Sky Resort, Big Sky, MT 59716
Region: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Summit At Big Sky 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Euro-Western Summit at Big Sky has been the vacation choice of both President Obama and Vice President Biden. The Summit is one of the finest slopeside properties in the Rockies with primary high-capacity lifts only 100 yards away. The Summit combines luxury appointments with a prime location in the heart of the Mountain Village Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Summit At Big Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summit At Big Sky Hotel Big Sky
Summit Hotel Big Sky
Summit Big Sky
Big Sky Summit
The Summit At Big Sky Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing