We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another return visit-Skiing still great...hotel getting less so”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Summit At Big Sky
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
Lutherville Timonium, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Another return visit-Skiing still great...hotel getting less so”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We have been back to Big Sky many times now. The skiing is really terrific and the lift lines nearly non-existent even on President's weekend.
Pros: The Summit is the most convenient hotel to the lifts. Peaks restaurant for breakfast and lunch is great and the servers are very nice. The ski valet guys and the bellman all friendly and extremely helpful. Hot tub is nice but crowded with a lot of wild kids in the afternoon.
Cons: The Summit hotel is showing its age. The furniture and beds are getting run down and the lighting in the rooms is really atrocious. Maid service is prompt but the quality of the cleaning is lacking. We had some trouble with our return flight because of weather and asked to stay another day. They had to move our room but did accommodate our request. They did not however, honor my early booking rate and charged me the rack rate for the last night. I guess they could technically do that, but it seemed like they took advantage of a very good return customer in a difficult situation.
We love Big Sky for the skiing and have been returning for many years. However, on this last visit the accommodations at the Summit, some of the service personnel and and the variety of dining are really not keeping pace with the pricing, and we'll probably try a different ski resort next year. Big Sky is hard to get to from many cities and they need to keep making it worth the trip.

Room Tip: Slopside is best facing the ski runs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DocRMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at The Summit At Big Sky, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for writing a review and sharing your Big Sky experience with us. We appreciate your business and love to hear from our guests. Great to hear you enjoyed some terrific skiing and our friendly Peaks staff. Thank you for sharing your observations about your accommodations and service. We will share them with our team to help make improvements and better serve you in the future. As for your issue with your extended stay and your dissatisfaction with the value of our services, we would like to hear more. A member of our team will contact you shortly for additional information. Thanks again for your business and sharing your input with us. We will do everything we can to address your concerns and help keep you part of our Big Sky family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    81
    35
    9
    2
See reviews for
79
55
9
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This was our third visit to The Summit at Big Sky. We have been spoiled by Big Sky. We've tried many of the other resorts in Utah, Wyoming, Montana and the East Coast but I still like Big Sky the best. This year their terrain was expanded significantly when they purchased the Moonlight Basin resort that shared Lone Peak and also added the private adjoining ski resort known as Spanish Peaks. Your ski pass gives you access to all this terrain and all the lifts. You can ski all day and not cover the same trail or slope twice. If you like groomed trails, the grooming is well done and if you prefer a more "wild" experience that can also be found at this resort.

I was disappointed that the Pinnacle Restaurant at the top of Andesite Mountain was not open, but a knowledgeable local employee told me that that restaurant was tied up in the bankruptcy proceeding of the neighboring Spanish Peaks development but that Boyne Resorts, the parent company of Big Sky, was working hard to get that unwound and take over and re-open the mountain top restaurant. In a past trip, it was a favorite stop. Non-skiers could also dine there, making a round trip on the Ramcharger chairlift.

The resort employees are friendly and very helpful. They act like they appreciate you being there and want to help you have a great experience. Even local skiers are friendly and willingly share their favorite spots with visitors.

Our package included ski passes and breakfast daily. Be careful, their breakfast is so good you might be tempted to linger a little and miss the first runs on the slopes. The hotel itself is well-maintained. My wife noticed that one of the chairs in our room was wobbly and mentioned it to the bellman when he was delivering our luggage. In 10 minutes two maintenance people showed up at the door, took the chair away and returned with the repaired chair about 20 minutes later.

One day while at the hotel, the outside temperature dropped down below zero (actually -20). For those that found that too cold to ski, the resort ran continuous movies all day in the amphitheater as one of the activities to keep sidelined skiers occupied. The resort has a full schedule of activities for those that want to take a day off from skiing.

I like the studio rooms at the Summit hotel, but central reservations can provide anything from queen hotel rooms, through 1 or 2 bedroom suites, full condo and cabin rentals, or full luxury homes. I found central reservations very helpful and easy to work with. Simply explain what you want and they will put together a package for you.

Try this resort, I don't think you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NHDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at The Summit At Big Sky, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thanks for the rave review. We love to hear from our guests and really appreciate your business. Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was friendly and attentive. We will pass along your comments to our team. Please come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

During January, we decided to stay at The Summit as it is ski in and out. The front desk was very nice and welcoming.

We really appreciated the little amenities such as a fruit when we checked it, flavored water downstairs, and a person to hold onto our skis overnight.

The morning breakfast was terrific and varied. I really enjoyed the chocolate chip pancakes, croissants, yogurts, available chef to cook omellates for you, and the smoked salmon with capers and onions was awesome. Salmon was NOT available on Sunday and I missed it!

We also enjoyed the Carabiner Bar, ( Huckelberry Martinis were terrific), good and varied beers, and the live music is a nice touch.

The room was tight, but well appointed with a nice kitchen and fireplace. Our bed was made up in the morning and turned down in the evening.

This hotel is pricey, but is very nice and very well situated.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshmallowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at The Summit At Big Sky, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Great to hear that your first visit to The Summit was a good one. We aim to please! Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We appreciate your comments and your business. We hope this is the first of many fun filled stays with our team here in Big Sky.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This was our first trip to Big Sky and I must say I was very impressed with the whole resort.

First off, we arrived at 3pm, which is before scheduled check in. When I made our reservation I informed them that we would arrive early and asked if our room could be ready sooner than 5pm. Indeed it was. Our room was everything we expected. We stayed in room 415, a studio unit. It was clean, comfortable and spacious for two people. The full size kitchen is stocked with almost every utensil you need to prepare a meal. The one thing we would of liked would of been a slow cooker for soup, but we managed just fine with the stove. Also stocked in kitchen is aluminium foil, dish detergent for dishes and dish washer, salt, pepper, Starbucks regular and decaf coffee, tea, powered creamer, & sugars.

In the living room area, the windows cranked open, in case it gets a little warm in your room. The room is heated when you insert your room key into a device by the door. When you insert your room key, you can then control the heat in your room by a few degrees up or down from 68 degrees. When you remove the room key to leave, the heat shuts down to conserve energy. We found that through out the day the temperature didn't fluctuate that much and i was very comfortable. Actually at night I had to crack the window. I would suppose it matters if you have neighbors with their heat on as well. There are no rooms with patios and their are no grills provide in this building to grill out on (which was a bummer for us)....We had a room facing the mountain, and at night the cats operate after skiing, after 8 pm, I never heard them. Also, we were right by the elevator, I would hear an occasional ding, but that was always after 6 am. The Summit seems to go to sleep after 9pm, I think everyone is pooped from skiing.

The bathroom has a large jacuzzi tub and a very large shower area. I didn't use the tub in the room, because the super large soaking/hot tub on off the 2nd floor was AWESOME! This outdoor/indoor hot tub can hold 30 ppl comfortably, probably more. They provide drink service in the afternoon to this area and it's WELL utilized. I did not use any spa services, but the steam room and fitness center located in this area are very nice as well. The outside patio area features tables, patio furniture and gas firepits to warm up by.

Breakfast and lift tickets were included with the room package we chose, and it was well worth it! The have a very nice buffet, from an egg station, to pancakes, bacon, sausage, etc. It changes daily. Their scones are to die for! You are allowed to get to go containers and pack them up to bring to your room if you chose not to eat in the dining facility, which is what we did every morning.

Now let me get to service. This place is over the top friendly. Im from the midwest and we are considered friendly people, but this was waaay friendly!! If there is something you need they certainly will try to accomodate. Im not sure why some ppl write anything different. I clean at a resort and time is required to clean, maintain and inspect units, so I don't think that check-in/check out times are bad. Also, I certainly thought they were well staffed in all areas of the resort.

The bell hops are excited to open doors and want to help you with anything they can, housekeeping checks in on you around 8pm to see if you need anything or if you would like turn down service. I liked their ski valet service out outside by the pool. At night they lock up your skis, and in the morning or if you go inside from skiing, they are prompt with getting your skis or returning your ski's to you so you can go back and hit the slopes. The Summit Building is a ski-in/ski-out facility from the 2nd level. There are no individual ski in / ski out rooms in this building.

The moutain! OMG. How impressive. If you are a beginner or intermediate skiing, this is the place for you! And if you are an advance skier, take the tram to 11,000 and ski incredible black and double black diamonds. You can also take the tram to look around, take photos at the scenic overlook platform, then hop back on to go down to around 10,000'. With 5,000 acres of skiing, there is place for you on this mountain! I've been to Jackson Hole, Alta, Snowbird, Whitefish and now Big Sky, this was my favorite mountain to ski.

Let me continue with we did get a rental car from the airport and shopped at grocery story on the way to the resort. The nearest full size grocery is located about 5 miles from Big Sky Resort. Although they do have a nice size store at the resort (a little bigger than a convience store), I felt it was overpriced. but if you forget something, you most likely can find it there.

Valet service is provided for a charge of $15.00 / day. But there is FREE parking outside as well. From Summit it's probably about an 5-8 minute walk, just a FYI. The whole village is designed and set up nicely. There is something for everyone here, shopping for the ladies, bars for apri ski, yoga, movies at night, and fitness classes most mornings and evenings. Lots of employees on the mountain giving lessons as well, there is no shortage of anything here.

And one last thing, while we were cooking dinner and enjoying the evening in our room, two cats park outside in the evening and load up to around 40 ppl. It's for dinner in a yurt. For $85per person, you get the cat ride to the yurt, a very nice dinner, and games for everyone. If we would of know about this we may have signed up (they do sell out). The resort claimed they didn't know anything about this, but you can look it up on line and all the details pop up. I think they just don't want to advertise it, due to the fact it's a seperate business.

So there you have it, I hope this review helps and if you choose to go to Big Sky, ENJOY!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at The Summit At Big Sky, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Wow! That was quite a thorough review. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our other guests and our team. We really appreciate it and will pass along your comments to our staff. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more enjoyable please just let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Carlos, SP
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2014

That was one of my most enjoyable experiences in hotels ever. Welcoming hotel with an awesome view of Gallatin Mts from the window. Built right by the Big Sky center. Awesome infra-structure for skiing. Also, it provides one with everything that is needed for business travelers.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafael_Coronel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at The Summit At Big Sky, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
That is great to hear! Our team will be most pleased when we share your comments with them. Please come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

just returned from 5 nights at Summit. Hats off to everyone who works there. what a great group of people. every single employee had a smile on his/her face no matter how cold/icy/snowy/early/late it was.

special thanks to Ricardo at Peaks who made our early morning trip to Old Faithful perfect by providing us with everything we needed to enjoy a super breakfast on the way to Yellowstone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjmnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at The Summit At Big Sky, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for your time and writing such a rave review. We will pass your comments along to Ricardo. Please come and see us again. If there is anything our team can do to make your next stay more enjoyable just let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I just read these reviews and it's right on. Check in is at 5pm check out is 10am. That's 7 hours to clean the rooms... That should pretty much tell you right there how understaffed they are. Horrid service in all the restaurants, I could go on..

Amazing sking but a monkey could run this place better.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vrbophiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
0.2 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#8 of 13 in Big Sky
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#2 of 13 in Big Sky
711 reviews
4.6 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#9 of 13 in Big Sky
118 reviews
7.5 mi away
Whitewater Inn
Whitewater Inn
#13 of 13 in Big Sky
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit At Big Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit At Big Sky

Property: The Summit At Big Sky
Address: 50 Big Sky Resort Road, Big Sky Resort, Big Sky, MT 59716
Region: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Summit At Big Sky 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Euro-Western Summit at Big Sky has been the vacation choice of both President Obama and Vice President Biden. The Summit is one of the finest slopeside properties in the Rockies with primary high-capacity lifts only 100 yards away. The Summit combines luxury appointments with a prime location in the heart of the Mountain Village Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Summit At Big Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summit At Big Sky Hotel Big Sky
Summit Hotel Big Sky
Summit Big Sky
Big Sky Summit
The Summit At Big Sky Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing