We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a spectacular location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Summit At Big Sky
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a spectacular location”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is a really nice hotel in a spectacular location. It's very new and clean, and the rooms are spacious and quiet. Nice bar on the second floor with excellent food. Huge indoor/outdoor hot tub. Lots of restaurants nearby and lots to do in the beautiful mountains. I recommend in particular the Nature Zipline (esp if you're new to ziplining). Nice and close to Yellowstone, too. Not cheap, but I'd say worth it.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong, but upper floors are good. Being on the ski hill side might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuzzieFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    79
    35
    8
    2
See reviews for
78
50
9
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Just breathtaking! Lots of great activities to do (check out base camp). Kids club is a safe, fun environment fir the kids! Friendly staff, clean facility, and great location! Adequate fitness room with a steam room!! :) Outdoor heated pool is more like a giant hot tub (3 ft. deep) with panoramic views of the mountains! Wildlife abounds...saw a coyote walking by outside while we dined. A quaint village that is just perfect!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Off2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We got lucky on the weather I guess. It hit almost 70 degrees every day. The resort just opened so the staff was getting everything back in order but we had a wonderful stay. This was my first time in big sky. Way more low key than vail or aspen. This is a positive if you are looking for a more laid back quieter place. Staff was fantastic. Rooms were great. Big sky is amazing. Went fly fishing, hiking, yellowstone. The restaurants mountainside were great. If you are looking for a bar pass the broken spoke (which IS fun on karaoke night) and head for the Riverside Grille.

I will be heading back for ski season.

Room Tip: If the corner suites are available for not too much more GO FOR IT. They are big and have amazing v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at The Summit and since our Spring Break was late it was practically like having a top notch mountain resort all to ourselves. The service was impeccable and the location was incredibly convenient for everything, especially the skiing. The rooms were nice but not luxurious. We had a full kitchen and living room which was great to just eat in and hang out after a long day of skiing. The huge outdoor hot tub with drink service was fantastic and I would highly recommend it (certainly with a chocolate milkshake served to you :) The breakfast buffet and both restaurants had very good food. Overall it was a fun family vacation at Big Sky.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaiette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at The Summit At Big Sky, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
April is a great time to ski Big Sky. Good snow, long days and short lines. Certainly one of our favorite times of the year. Great to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us over your Spring Break. We will pass along your comments to our team. Please come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed in my favorite hotel in Big Sky again. Again took the corner unit facing Lone Peak. If you can afford it, this is the place to stay in Big Sky. Service level is improved even from prior visit. we were greeted with a stack of huge baked cookies and a four pack of ski DVDs on arrival. Front desk phoned up shortly after check in to see if accomodations were all OK. Bell staff (cowboys) were waiting when we pulled up to check in and they brought our bags and week's worth of groceries and Costco items up to the room quickly. Free valet parking -- indoor garage in sublevels of the hotel--nice when you call for your car it is nice and warm and no snow to sweep off.
I first got around to skiing Big Sky at Christmas 2004. I have skied no where else since. This is the best ski area for me--awesome mountain with challenges for every level skier ( I survived the Big Couloir) and never a lift line (except the tram on sunny days--they let sight seers up so they fill the line--30-40 minutes on those days). I have previously skied many areas out west and in Canada (Snowbird, Jackson Hole, Whistler, Vail, Beavercreek, Steamboat, Alta, Canyons, Deer Valley, Park City, Taos, Sunshine, Big White, Whitefish, Revelstoke, etc) so I can compare.
The Summit is a Condohotel so as such it is a combination. You have the benefits of a hotel (spa, pool, service, twice daily maid service,ski valet*) and the condo aspect of a kitchen and in room dining area.
*Ski valet--this is new this season. The hotel is right next to the two main highspeed lifts (Ramcharger and Swiftie) and your skis are kept oon th patio right next to the lift. They check them in and out for you, they have carried my wife's skis over to the lift for her and when you ski up at day's end they pick them up and put them in the racks for you. Last time anyone did that for me was in Courchevel 1800--Hotel de Niege.
Also, be aware the Summit is the only accomodation that is right at the lifts. Huntley Hotel and the Shoshone have a lift out front of them but it is the Explorer beginner's double chair. If you stay there just be aware there is a 100 yard hike to the main lifts in the morning (you can manage to ski back to those accomodations though--so they are Ski-in but not ski-out.
If you stay and get the breakfast plan included be aware that that is the Peaks restaurant in the hotel which is good, but also you can take a short walk over to the Huntley breakfast buffet which is a feast and is included as option (double check that they don't change that).
TIPS FOR TRAVEL: Bozeman (BZN) is the closest airport (~ 1 hr drive), options of Helena, Billings, and Butte are going to add a lot of road travel. You actually land in Belgrade when going to BZN. There are several good Grocery chains in Bozeman (Smith's, Superwalmart, Target, and also a Costco)--all on the Belgrade side of town just go East on I-90 one exit. Rental cars are plentiful and if booked well in advance will run you $300-400 a week for standard SUV (Hotwire can be good or directly with Alamo or Hertz). Please note all rental car companies are on airport except Avis (shuttle).

Room Tip: This is a multistory hotel in an L shaped layout. the two best sides--onne side faces Lone peak, one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bigsky3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at The Summit At Big Sky, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you so much for your loyalty to Big Sky and the Summit. We really appreciate your business and taking the time to share your review with us. We will gladly share your kind words and feedback with our team. If there is anything we can do to make your next visit with us more enjoyable just let us know. We look forward to seeing and skiing with you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The Summit is a great property. Awesome skiing. Amazing views. Very convenient. The folks serving in the restaurants was very friendly, very attentive. The same can not be said for concierge and housekeeping. Both were very erratic. Not consistent with prices for the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at The Summit At Big Sky, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for responding to our team's inquiry with further information about your experience. We really appreciate your time. Our team is actively using your feedback to improve our Summit Housekeeping and Concierge teams, and we expect that you'll notice a marked improvement upon your next stay with us. As always, please don't hesitate to contact us directly at info@bigskyresort or through our prior correspondence if there is anything we can do to make your next Big Sky stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The Summit is decorated beautifully. We had a package that included breakfast. Breakfast was awesome and the Manager was charming. He made us feel right at home from day one. We booked a Studio because it had a full kitchen. Our first room was a Mountain View/Fireplace. Room was nice enough except there was NOWHERE to put your belongings. The bathroom had one small stand. We called to see if a chest of drawers could be brought in. The next morning the manager called and moved us to Room to 314. Wow! What a difference! It was much larger, had plenty of counter space in the bathroom along with a spa tub that my husband and I could both fit into. Even the kitchen was larger and the Murphy Bed could have stayed down all day.

Ski in and Ski out could not be any more convenient. You walk out of the magnificent hotel lobby with your ski boots on, the ski valet hands you your skis (convenient and secure ski storage is included with your room) and you walk 5 yards and you are at the lift. At the end of the day, you ski directly to the hotel, ski valet takes care of your skis until the next time you need your skis. We will be back again next year.

Room Tip: The view from 721 was excellent. It is a small studio best for one person that travels light. Gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heartwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at The Summit At Big Sky, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words and wonderful review of the Summit and our staff. We will pass them along to our team. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and visit us again next time you are in Big Sky.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
7.7 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#2 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#8 of 13 in Big Sky
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
4.6 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 13 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
3.3 mi away
Alpenglow Condominiums
Alpenglow Condominiums
#10 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit At Big Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit At Big Sky

Property: The Summit At Big Sky
Address: 50 Big Sky Resort Road, Big Sky Resort, Big Sky, MT 59716
Region: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Summit At Big Sky 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Euro-Western Summit at Big Sky has been the vacation choice of both President Obama and Vice President Biden. The Summit is one of the finest slopeside properties in the Rockies with primary high-capacity lifts only 100 yards away. The Summit combines luxury appointments with a prime location in the heart of the Mountain Village Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Summit At Big Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summit At Big Sky Hotel Big Sky
Summit Hotel Big Sky
Summit Big Sky
Big Sky Summit
The Summit At Big Sky Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing