We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Summit At Big Sky
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
Red Deer
Level Contributor
167 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great location and rooms”
Reviewed 28 January 2010

This hotel is located right at the base of the two main ski lifts for Big Sky. You can't get a better location. The view even from the parking lot side rooms is excellent. They provide you with mountain side ski storage free of charge. No lugging skis here. The Peaks restaurant is excellent value and food for lunch. Its just okay for dinner. The town shuttle comes to the door to take you to the lower town and quite a few more restaurant choices. The rooms are large and ours had a large hot tub. My only complaint. The concierge is completely clued out and useless. We had to figure this place out on our own through trial and error.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    79
    35
    8
    2
See reviews for
78
50
9
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Capistrano, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2010

Great location to skiing! Very friendly staff. Private Ski instructor are excellent. Restaurants have a good food.

Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SandraH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2010

bellman too few upon arrival, so no help with bulky luggage and ski gear. front counter help good. pull our sofa unmade. when room cleaned it was done late and lazily.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duckmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2009

The Summit is beautiful from the outside and is in a great location but the rest of the experience was a let down. Service was just OK, the room was just OK and DON'T eat at the hotel...there are much better places to dine.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lberenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2009

This beautiful condo style hotel at the base of the ski resort was the perfect location for my 2 sisters and I for a week-long getaway. We were in a one bedroom condo (Rooms 805 and 806), but with the Murphy bed in the living room and 2 queen size beds in the bedroom, as well as 2 bathrooms, it was spacious and comfortable. We loved the fireplace and watching for deer on the mountainside at dusk. Having the kitchen was great for breakfast, as well as preparing lunch to take on our hikes. The beautiful pool and hot tub were a delight after those hikes to relieve the sore muscles. All of the staff were outgoing and quick to respond to any requests. I have skied at Big Sky many times and think it is the best, but it was a delight to see it with flowers in bloom and the aspen beginning to turn.

Dinner at the Carabiner was a pleasant surprise after reading some of the negative reviews. Our service was friendly, the food was very good and they offer a nice selection of wines by the glass or bottle. It was certainly convenient and the view was lovely.

Other great restaurants in the area are Rainbow Ranch, Buck's T4, the Timbers at Moonlight Basin, and The Cabin (within walking distance of The Summit). For more casual dining, try Huckleberry Cafe and Bugaboo Cafe. The deli counter in the Hungry Moose is a great place to pick up sandwiches, quiche or other take-out options.

There are beautiful hikes in the area, both easy and challenging. For an adrenaline rush, check out the zipline!! Yellowstone National Park is only about an hour away and it is a beautiful drive. There is so much to see there, you will want to go again and again. Be sure to take your camera!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Austintraveler51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birchrunville, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2009

I dont understand why there are so many blatantly false reviews on this site. The Summit is a world class condo style hotel built less than 9 years ago. There is no noise that comes from other rooms. The fitness room is nice, the condo kitchens come fully equipped, there are local grocery stores, bars, restaurants, and shops. The staff is VERY nice and accomodated all of our requests. The hotel restaurant and bar are a bit pricey and the food only average, but this is easily solved by walking around the village to other places. The skiing is WORLD CLASS with no lift lines and few people. The hot tub is great and the outdoor heated pool awesome.

  • Liked — Slopeside location
  • Disliked — Pricey restaurant with average food
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank chris19421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2008

Last week we went to the Summit for a fine dining experience. I have had better tasting food at Sonny's Barbeque....I was so excited as we sat at the bar and heard of the chef from Rome, I ordered the peppercorn encrusted elk loin, first off it was not a loin, it was not pepper encrusted and it was terribly cooked, whatever it was. My wife and another friend had the buffalo, which was as tough as leather and rare, when they had ordered it medium, our other friend ordered pork with collards, the worst collards I ever tasted! My wife never wanted to try buffalo again. Luckily I knew better because I have had elk, buffalo, venison, prepared by great chefs. Get rid of your chef! He obviuosly does not inspect the food, or know what the heck he is doing. I expect when I go to a restaurant that has a school trained chef that the food be perfect. The chef is to inspect all food coming in, hand pick ingredients and oversee quality. I have had some of the finest foods in the world, this experience did not meet expectation. We ate at the 320 ranch, your chef needs to take lessons from the 320!

Bill,
Tallahassee, FL

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank TallahasseeZoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
0.3 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
7.7 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#2 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#8 of 13 in Big Sky
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
4.6 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 13 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
3.3 mi away
Alpenglow Condominiums
Alpenglow Condominiums
#10 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit At Big Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit At Big Sky

Property: The Summit At Big Sky
Address: 50 Big Sky Resort Road, Big Sky Resort, Big Sky, MT 59716
Region: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Summit At Big Sky 3.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Euro-Western Summit at Big Sky has been the vacation choice of both President Obama and Vice President Biden. The Summit is one of the finest slopeside properties in the Rockies with primary high-capacity lifts only 100 yards away. The Summit combines luxury appointments with a prime location in the heart of the Mountain Village Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Summit At Big Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summit At Big Sky Hotel Big Sky
Summit Hotel Big Sky
Summit Big Sky
Big Sky Summit
The Summit At Big Sky Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing