We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service a little forgetful”
Review of River Rock Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River Rock Lodge
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Checked in about 2pm, had a room ready, or so they thought.
The previous occupants flooded the bathroom and adjoining carpet , so housekeeping set up a fan to dry the carpet. They came back to check on the progress once, and never came back. I had to take the fan downstairs to the front desk around 7 pm... No elevator on the property. Didn't leave spare toilet paper..almost ran out..ok cold continental breakfast. Walking distance to many restaurants..try Choppers, 4 min walk, great Bison burger.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

My son and I stayed here as it is close to the best whitewater rafting in the country, and fly fishing, ziplining, and horseback riding; all right there in Big Sky, Montana. It is about 40 minutes to Yellowstone, and so much nicer than the lodging in West Yellowstone. We enjoyed the little town in the meadow of Long Mountain, in which River Rock Lodge is located. The ride up to Big Sky Resort is gorgeous; we saw bears each time we drove up. The town has a nice movie theater, game center, and restaurants. There are many nice hiking and biking trails on the way to Yellowstone. This is a great place to stage your trip to Yellowstone.

Room Tip: We stayed in June, and our timing turned out perfect for the weather and the crowd (lack thereof).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PitLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel delivered in a pinch, but it wasn't anything special, especially for the price. Light continental breakfast is served. Hotel has an outdoor hot tub. Room was roomy, but bedding is worn (top,sheet had visible tear), pillows were blah.

We arrived in Big Sky late (damn Siri who told us to hike in the rest of the way!). We'd decided to golf first thing the next morning so stopped by the course to try and make a tee time and to get recommendations for lodging. Like most winter resort towns, Big Sky is making quite a business out of the off season. We were warned that rooms would be expensive and were directed to River Rock Lodge for its central location.

Chase, at the desk was lovely. He made check-in a breeze and suggested some dinner options. We dumped our bags in the room and did the opposite, oops ;). What can I say? When given the option of fine dining or hanging with the locals, snowboarders and wing nuts - I'm going for the latter. I love dinner theater :)

Back "home" for the night the little revelry we enjoyed over our large room was soon squelched by the fact that we could hear everything, I mean, everything from the room above us. I don't think these were unusually loud guests, I think the insulation between floors/rooms is nil. No worries, I flicked on the A/C which fixed the problem, in fact, I could no longer hear my husband next to me! It was a short night and after a quick piece of toast and more average coffee we checked out on our way to golf.

Room Tip: Don't take a lower floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly_Golightly_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

For an introduction to Big Sky, a resort and residential community built around impressive ski slopes, the River Rock Lodge is well situated (not on a river) within walking distance a variety of restaurants, shops and movie theatre. We think the Montana (western) decor tasteful and rooms large and well equipped. The only issue we have is the beds are surpassed in this time with better mattresses (memory foam) in today's five star rated hotels.

Impressed with the overall standard of residential area, a golf course, and six miles up the scenic valley, hotels, accommodations and ski facilities of the best to be found anywhere, we will likely stay here on a ski vacation in due course. Were it not that I own an apartment in Connemara, Ireland I would seriously contemplate a place here.

Were it not for plans to again visit Yellowstone, conveniently about an hours drive to west entrance gate, we would have happily stayed several more nights.

Rod Patteson
North Carolina

Room Tip: We rented rooms 205 and 208, whilst no great mountain views, the excellent tree plantings offer a fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rod P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My bad, but I thought the River Rock Lodge would be on the river. Knowing the Gallatin River flows near Big Sky I made the assumption we would be staying on the river. That disappointment aside, we were very pleased with this property. The Montana decor is perfect and the staff was quite accommodating re turning on fire places and keeping the ambiance going - particularly since it was in the 30'a in the mornings - and this was mid-June! The Continental breakfast was just adequate ... really nothing but carbs - all varieties of toast, bagels, donuts, etc. No protein and only some tired fruit. Rooms were lovely, spacious and a second luggage rack was brought on request. Location is good for walking to just about anything in Town Center ... and really not that far from the Meadow area, if the weather had been a little warmer.

Room Tip: Be prepared to schlep your bags upstairs, as no elevator service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I agree with the "average" reviews. This is a low-end, but adequate hotel. But, beware: there is negligible shuttle service to the mountain village. The small "Skyline" buses have room for two dozen riders, and service only runs once an hour! (So, late afternoon transport back from the mountain is like winning a lottery; if there's no more room, you have to wait another hour!) Since taxis are very rare, it is absolutely essential to rent a vehicle (nearest in Bozeman).

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank matt c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Wonderfully comfortable, all the way from the check-in, personnel on staff, and the room itself. Very clean, well-kept property, with easy access to golf, mountainside, or the "center" of Big Sky. Excellent advice given by an number of different people at the front desk area (over a period of four days here). I would have no reservations about heartily recommending this Lodge for your stay in the area.

Room Tip: Some look towards an infrequently used parking lot -- no problem for us, however.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fuzzytop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RPMBigsky, Manager at River Rock Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I hope we get to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
4.7 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#3 of 9 in Big Sky
580 reviews
3.1 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#1 of 9 in Big Sky
763 reviews
4.7 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 9 in Big Sky
263 reviews
4.7 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#6 of 9 in Big Sky
307 reviews
2.9 mi away
Whitewater Inn
Whitewater Inn
#8 of 9 in Big Sky
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Rock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Rock Lodge

Address: 88 Big Pine Drive, P.O. Box 160700, Big Sky, MT 59716
Region: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range: £144 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Rock Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Rock Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Rock Hotel Big Sky
River Rock Lodge Big Sky, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing