We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat Visit”
Review of The First Place PUB - CLOSED

The First Place PUB
Price range: US$8 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Big Sky's Best ValueOver 50 Bottled BeersRevolving Menu ItemsDirectly Across From Golf Course and Community Park
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Repeat Visit”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We went to The First Place last fall and decided to return on this visit to Big Sky. We like the food and this place is small with a casual atmosphere that we enjoy. We rode our bikes from our condo in the village since the Montana daylight stays on until late. The food was just as good as we remembered and we sat on the deck again. Nice variety in the menu with some stand-bys (burgers and fries) but some eclectic appetizers like the lettuce wraps and cheesy couscous. You should go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Betsydoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    12
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The First Place Pub is one of the best places is Big Sky to eat in my opinion. The food is very creative and always delicious. The menu is diverse and they pay attention to flavor and quality with their dishes. The service is great too. Waitstaff is very attentive and quick. It is kind of hidden and looks like an Irish pub, but it isn't Irish at all...except for they have fish and chips, which are the best is Big Sky. The falafel burger is amazing too! Don't over look the First Place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank rcrgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cool Little Bar”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

A nice hole in the wall. It was hard to find. Recommended by our horse guide. Nice Bartender. Like the fireplace and art.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Sky, Montana
Level Contributor
213 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great Food & Great Prices”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This place always has great food & unique dishes that are priced right. The Fish & Chips are some of the best I have ever had. Service is always prompt & friendly, I highly recommend dinning here while in Big Sky!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank buffaloMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
237 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great event space, food and service”
Reviewed 17 January 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed attending a recent event here-my first visit to the First Place Pub. Sampled some light fare, local brew and kind service. I look forward to returning and selecting something tasty from the full menu. Cheers!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank reppop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The First Place PUB also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing