We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The First Place PUB - CLOSED

The First Place PUB
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Seafood, International, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Description: Big Sky's Best ValueOver 50 Bottled BeersRevolving Menu ItemsDirectly Across From Golf Course and Community Park
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous dinner”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The mussels were delicious . Hidden away sadly we found it on our last night . Service was also great

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Amandahromadka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    12
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Big Sky, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Locals spot, kind of hard to find. Great staff and the food is always delicious. Tuna tacos are delicious

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AltmanScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cudjoe Key, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great huckleberry martini”
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Didn't try the food, came for drinks... Outstanding , nice bartender good ambiance. Would come back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Repeat Visit”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We went to The First Place last fall and decided to return on this visit to Big Sky. We like the food and this place is small with a casual atmosphere that we enjoy. We rode our bikes from our condo in the village since the Montana daylight stays on until late. The food was just as good as we remembered and we sat on the deck again. Nice variety in the menu with some stand-bys (burgers and fries) but some eclectic appetizers like the lettuce wraps and cheesy couscous. You should go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Betsydoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The First Place Pub is one of the best places is Big Sky to eat in my opinion. The food is very creative and always delicious. The menu is diverse and they pay attention to flavor and quality with their dishes. The service is great too. Waitstaff is very attentive and quick. It is kind of hidden and looks like an Irish pub, but it isn't Irish at all...except for they have fish and chips, which are the best is Big Sky. The falafel burger is amazing too! Don't over look the First Place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank rcrgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing