We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“volunteer”
Review of Moonlight Basin

Moonlight Basin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Moonlight Basin is a ski-in, ski-out community at the base of Lone Peak, with direct access to vast public land areas including the Lee Metcalf Wilderness. Moonlight Basin includes extensive acreage for skiing, hiking and mountain bike trails, a Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, lakeside amenities at Ulrey’s Lake, Glamping ammenites, Camp Moonlight for children during summer, and many other guided outdoor activities.
Fargo
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“volunteer”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I volunteered here for 6 years and it was fantastic. Very family oriented and the skiing is amazing! Very small lift lines and the tree runs are awesome!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    18
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sainte Genevieve
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining room.....”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stumbled across this place while staying in Big Sky and it's fabulous!!! The lodge where the dining room is located is at the top of the mountains and offers great views. The staff is exceptional and even gave me a free glass of wine since it was my birthday. Once a week there's a barbecue which was pretty tasty considering I come from the Memphis area.
We returned another night for the dining experience and it was very good. All-in-all, you should find this place and take advantage of their dining room.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank southerngalolemiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor food quality”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

since there's no spot to rate the headwaters grille, I unfortunately have to write a bad review on the moonlight page. Moonlight Basin is beautiful and the skiing is fantastic. just be warned about the food at the headwaters. every year when I come back it is like a wild card. there's zero consistency and prices keep going up while the quality goes down. I've seen Food dropped and served and workers eating while on the line. Ive eveb seen the bartender cringe when guest order slices of pizza. Save your money pack a lunch

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dennydont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Moonlight Basin, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your review with our team. We appreciate our customers feedback and take it to heart. We are sorry to hear of your experience at the Headwaters Grille. Please accept our apologies. Our team is currently in the process of making some changes to the resort and increasing our food quality and service at the Headwaters is part of that initiative. We will share your comments with our team and invite you to return later this season to give the Headwaters Grille another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What views!!!”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Rented a house in Moonlight Basin last week and it was fantastic. The clubhouse is beautiful and we enjoyed the outside pool. Can't wait to return in the winter!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Keep the trails coming”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Moonlight is the sister mountain to Big Sky and just keeps adding to the size of your skiing experience. You do need a separate or combo lift ticket when skied with Big Sky. These folks could not be friendlier. We traveled everywhere in the area by free shuttle. We stayed at Big Sky and walked or shuttled to everything in a 20 mile radius. This resort area has it all.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moonlight Basin also viewed

 

Been to Moonlight Basin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing