We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soothing spa”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Sky
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moonlight Basin Resort
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Big Sky, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Soothing spa”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I added the lavender calendula salt scrub to my massage, feeling like my skin had been a little overexposed this summer. It was the perfect choice- gently exfoliating my skin with a calming, but not overpowering scent. It relaxed me prior to the massage even a little more than the serenity room typically does. I've never done a scrub prior to a massage and was surprised at how much more the oils seemed to nourish my skin throughout the treatment. Definitely going to be a consistent addition for me.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    15
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
7
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed in "3A" luxury suite for 5 nights. Drive is scenic and beautiful. Area has shopping and groceries on the resort. Views are breathtaking. Our condo was absolutely spectacular. Moonlight makes it feel as though your private home is a hotel room. The clerk at the check-in/concierge desk told us we had to pay for wifi (contrary to the ad), which was corrected a few days later. Besides that, the stay was amazing. Caution to those who don't enjoy mountain drives.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus. Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We went to Moonlight Basin for my daugther's wedding and it was one of the most beautiful places I have ever been. We stayed at one of the cabins and had a snag the first night but it we were taken care of the next day with a free upgrade to a beautiful condo. Michelle at the lodge was so kind and helpful. Tom was also kind and caring and provided my family with wine the first night, 3 bottles ;) I would suggest going to Yellowstone and going early to avoid lines to get in park. Buy groceries in Bozeman because they are expensive in Big Sky. Bozeman is a little over an hour away, I suggest spending one day there to visit the historic downtown area, with shopping and restaurants. The Moonlight Lodge only provides service from 9 am to 7pm, so no going to gym early or calling for towels or soap,early or late.The cabins do have washers/dryers. I was in three of the cabins at Moonlight, all beautiful, all had breathtaking views. Our family saw a bear, a moose,and deer from our cabin! Love this place, hope to visit again someday! Horseback riding at lodge was wonderful, also!

Room Tip: If you go in the summer, know there is no airconditioning but the nights are very cool and the cabin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NMgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2013

This is my first year having a season pass at Moonlight Basin and I LOVE it! The skiing is amazing, and there is something for all ability levels. The Headwaters have some of the burliest, most extreme terrain I have ever ridden, and definitely the craziest terrain I have ever found in-bounds. The terrain parks are some of the best in Montana, and have a bunch of progressive features that can help you get comfortable riding rails before hitting big stuff. The snow always stays really good, there are hardly ever lift lines, and the groomed runs are long, fun, and great for taking mom/kids out. The Moonlight Lodge is beyond beautiful, the service is terrific, and the warm outdoor pool and hot tub is the perfect spot to enjoy a drink after a long day skiing!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridgette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2013

What a beautiful place to stay! I can not believe there is a place like this in the world! no lines, friendly people, great service. We've been coming up here for years and love staying up here! Food at the Madison seems to have gone down hill but the lodge is great! We didn't have WiFi, at first we were upset but we had booked through a different agency then moonlight (thank you front desk for being so friendly and bending over backwards to help us) once it was explained to us it turned out to be a blessing because we were able to focus on our family and vacation rather then being hooked in to the digital world! If we really needed something the lodge had WiFi for us to come use. We had ski in ski out access, although we couldn't jump off the deck and ski we only had to walk a whole 100 feet to be right on the slopes less then walking from the parking lot to the runs at the bottom.
Bottom line if you hate having a great time, having beautiful views, being able to reconnect with your family, meet great people, have good food, have to be on your phone or commuter all the time then this is not the place for you!
As for us we will be back!

Room Tip: Book through moonlight directly, they have knowledge on what you can or can not get
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We bought season passes at Moonlight this year (we live about 2 hours away) and spent every weekend at Moonlight. There are enough trails for every level - and the price is right. (We found Big Sky way to expensive, they raised their prices this year.)

The lodge is beautiful & comfortable. There are always enough seats for apres ski - the menu is great with drinks and snacks (although truffle fries would be great).

The best thing is the staff. Evryone seems to love working there and it shows. Super friendly staff everywhere - from the snow plowers to lodge staff to the lift attendants.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PattersonBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Combine Montana's warmth and hospitality with first-class accommodations, and you end up with a great time. I've skied all over the world and will come back to Big Sky/Moonlight again and again. The lodge is great - very relaxing and chilled out in the afternoon. Food is superb. Spa is top notch and very good value for the price. I loved being able to ski to the lodge for a 3* lunch, then head up the mountain for some of the best gnar in N. America.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makalu55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
1.4 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
1.4 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
554 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 13 in Big Sky
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#2 of 13 in Big Sky
696 reviews
6.1 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 13 in Big Sky
116 reviews
1.4 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#9 of 13 in Big Sky
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonlight Basin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonlight Basin Resort

Property: Moonlight Basin Resort
Address: 66 Mountain Loop Road, Big Sky, MT 59716
Region: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of Big Sky Resort, Moonlight Lodging in Big Sky is the ultimate host for your dream Montana vacation. With our spacious Big Sky vacation rentals you can experience a taste of life in the West, unparalleled mountain views, the comforts of luxury mountain living, and a gateway to Yellowstone National Park. Tucked away in an alpine setting are charming cabins, casual condominium units, magnificent mountain homes, elegant townhouses, and other Big Sky lodging options, offering winter ski-in/ski-out access to all of Big Sky Resort, and summer access to all Big Sky area and Yellowstone National Park adventures. Start your Montana vacation right here and now by checking out and booking the best in Big Sky lodging with Moonlight Lodging. Make sure to check our Big Sky vacation packages and specials before reserving your getaway.We can’t wait to welcome you to Big Sky and the Montana way of life! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Moonlight Basin Hotel Big Sky
Moonlight Basin Big Sky
Moonlight Basin Resort Big Sky, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing