We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wouldn't have wanted to stay anywhere else!”
Review of Buck's T-4 Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I wouldn't have wanted to stay anywhere else!”
Reviewed 5 April 2011

I just returned from a 6 night stay at Buck's T-4 Lodge and there aren't enough good things to say about it! As always before a trip I checked Trip Advisor to get advice on where to stay near Big Sky Ski Resort and took a chance with Buck's. After being in the area for 7 days I am so glad that I decided to stay there. While it isn't right on the mountain itself it is certainly close enough (the actual ski area is only about 6 miles up the mountain) and I personally enjoyed not being so close to all the nose and action. And the hotel itself was beyond my expectations. It is clean, comfortable, affordable, and the people who work there couldn't be friendlier. The breakfast, which is included in the price, was perfect...NOT the typical cold continental breakfast but a buffet of scrambled eggs, ham, bacon, hash browns, pancakes, biscuits and gravy, cereals...etc. The main lodge itself is warm and inviting with a huge fireplace, comfortable lounge chairs, a computer that is free to use and always fresh hot coffee when you want to help yourself. My room was very spacious as was the bathroom (unheard of!) and very clean. There is a hot tub for use after a day of skiing :) which stays open until 10:30 PM so you can eat and then relax before bed. The restaurant that is there is one of the best in the area. My son and I ate in the dining room the first night and the special was beyond words it was so good! Another night we tried out the pub and it didn't disappoint either. Apparently Buck's has a reputation for some of the best dinning in the area and I agree. If I am ever in the area again I will, without a doubt, stay here. Don't think twice. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank love2travel05472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    176
    51
    18
    9
See reviews for
226
197
27
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anoka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Staff is friendly and knowledgeable. Breakfast is delicious! Rooms are clean, quiet, and relaxing! Rates are very reasonable!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara55303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

I chose Buck's T-4 Lodge based on Trip Advisor reviews and the value on a lodging/airfare package. Buck's met or exceeded my expectations on most accounts. We had a quiet room on the top (second) floor with a nice view of the mountains. The room was spacious, included an updated bathroom with granite as well as a refrigerator. My only complaint about the room was the quality of the bed (the mattress was very low to the ground and not very comfortable and the bedding included only a sheet and a duvet).

As for the rest of the property, the location was good (a five-minute drive from Big Sky Ski Resort) and it included two large outdoor hot tubs. The property included a free buffet breakfast, which was OK, and the Buck's T-4 restaurant and bar. The decor of the restaurant and bar was nice, with a cabin/lodge-type feel. The food was decent (for a ski resort), however, I was sick after eating the ribeye steak for dinner. After reading another review, it appears that I wasn't the only one who got sick.

In summary, if you're looking for a good value for a hotel near Big Sky, you can't go wrong with Buck's T-4 Lodge. As for the restaurant, you are taking a chance (although other dining options in Big Sky (other than Andiamo) are not very good).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thechitraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
docbigsky, Owner at Buck's T-4 Lodge, responded to this review, 30 March 2011
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience during your recent trip with us. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will include us in your travel plans on your next trip to Big Sky. I know that beds are one of the most important parts of a hotel stay, and their upgrade is the very next thing we plan for in our hotel.

I'm sorry you experienced an illness during your stay. I want to assure you that we take food safety very seriously, and let you know what steps we take to ensure the highest quality. Our staff is Serv-Safe certified, our inspection scores are consistently among the highest in the county and our coolers and heating equipment are constantly monitored for proper operation. Preparation dates are consistently logged and temperatures are monitored at all times. We hand-cut our steaks daily from primal cuts so we have complete control of their quality. We know our purveyors well and choose them carefully.

I have shared your comments with our staff and we again reviewed our procedures. Thanks again for staying with us, and for sharing your experiences. Without this feedback from our guests, it is that much more difficult to maintain the high standards for which we have become known.

David O'Connor
Managing Partner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, WI
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Our two nights at Buck's T-4 Lodge were very nice. Our room was very comfortable for just the two of us. There is a microwave, small refrigerator, and coffee maker in the room. Also, we had a king size bed with a sofa and chair. The room met all our needs. The morning breakfast included in the room price was outstanding! The buffet was fresh and delicious. (no plastic ware or paper plates.) We had a fantastic dinner one night in the lodge restaurant. This place is definitely not to be overlooked when planning a trip in the Big Sky area.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mor1150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Shade, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Clean, spacious, and comfortable rooms with all modern amenities. Very friendly staff, great hot breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopSkierDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Great facility, quiet and great staff. I'll stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcw0313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We stayed at Buck's T-4 Lodge while moving cross-country. The guy at the front desk upgraded us to the honeymoon suite. Pets were allowed for a 10 dollar fee. The restaurant was amazing. Our server was Karen and she was really nice. The organic trout and salmon bisque was to die for. My husband and I will definitely stay here again in the summer.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1117atg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
7.8 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 13 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
3.1 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 13 in Big Sky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
7.8 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#8 of 13 in Big Sky
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Whitewater Inn
Whitewater Inn
#13 of 13 in Big Sky
3.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buck's T-4 Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buck's T-4 Lodge

Property: Buck's T-4 Lodge
Address: 46625 Gallatin Rd, Big Sky, MT 59716
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Buck's T-4 Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm, Western accommodations in beautiful Big Sky; home of the Biggest Skiing in America and Yellowstone’s Base Camp. Located 45 minutes from Yellowstone's west entrance, in the shadow of Big Sky and Moonlight Basin ski resorts. Buck’s features a variety of guest rooms in a country décor. All rooms include a full hot breakfast. The lodge also features two oversized outdoor hot tubs, free wireless internet, two award-winning restaurants and full bar. Area activities include downhill and Nordic skiing, blue-ribbon fly fishing, hiking, rafting and mountain biking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buck's T-4 Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buck`s t-4 Hotel Big Sky
Bucks t 4 Hotel
Buck's T-4 Lodge Big Sky, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing