We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slide was a hit!”
Review of Whitewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Whitewater Inn
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Slide was a hit!”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

This was our second stay there and it was great. Grandson loved the slide and pool. The water could have been a little bit warmer. Room was clean and there was enough variety for the breakfast. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RiverRose16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    13
    11
    9
    8
See reviews for
22
11
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Checking in at the hotel was a nightmare. They couldn't find the reservation. They said they didn't have reservations, even after confirming the reservation personally. After calling the service I booked the room through, a miracle, they had a room. The girl at the counter was terrible.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Murphyb301069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Big Sky hotels

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The sheets had not been changed when we checked in. Unfortunately, it was late and I wasn't sure at first, so we slept on dirty sheets. We asked them to change the sheets the next morning, but they still didn't change the sheets! I could still see the same spots and hairs as before... I had to get one of the desk staff to come to my room the next night to change them.

Then, to top it off, we checked out one day early and they still charged me for the extra day. Even after all the trouble and unsanitary conditions. Unbelievable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snowwolf-JediMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesquite, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

If you decide to stay here, be sure to check the bedding before you do anything else. The sheets on one bed were extremely dirty and greasy. Clean pillowcases means a very lazy housekeeper (young male). Also there was a dead bug in a glass we got from the front desk because there were no glasses in the room. When I complained the next morning, the desk clerk did not seem too concerned. We did get a nice apology note from the head housekeeper, and all new clean bedding, but no offer to make it up to us.

Room Tip: Check bed linens when you first get to the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelinggrandma50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland oregon
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

After reading the reviews of the other guests I cannot believe we stayed in the same hotel I desperately wish that we had photographed the room.

We stayed in room 107, two queen sized beds, tv, small table...the window is at ground level, so the lower floor is a basement level.

We only paid $75 thank goodness.

Our beds had horrible stains running down the side. One one mattress the outside was ripping off, as in the springs and wood were showing. The comforter spelled so bad on one bed we took it off as to not let it touch the children. The pillows were stained and very dirty. We used the towels to cover the pillows to sleep. The floor was sticky, we had our children wear shoes until getting into bed.
The hallway carpet was dirty, sticky and smelly.
There was a continental breakfast as advertised. We found the fruit to be good, but the bagels were stale.
I gave this hotel one star only because the water-slide was a hit. My children went up and down the metal stairs repeatedly. The pool was dirty but swim-able, the hot tub was a brownish green and we didn't want to touch it. The area under and around the water-slide had not been cleaned in many many moons. There was a dark brown sludge all around it.
Obviously we were not impressed. We stayed because we had driven that far (45 minutes or so) from Yellowstone and it was 8:30 pm. We had a resort fee tacked onto our bill, we are disputing that as there was no resort around (the Big Sky Resort was 10 miles away. We never saw it) We are huge travelers. Usually fairly budget minded, but have never stayed anywhere this dirty and rundown. If I had to do this portion of our trip over I would have quadrupled the pay to stay anywhere else.

On a positive note, the Bugaboo restaurant a mile or so further down the road was excellent. I had a gyro, my husband had fish and chips, the kids had noodles and grilled cheese and all of us thought the food and service were excellent.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skoester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We visited Yellowstone for a two day trip and could not find any good hotels in west Yellowstone town near the main entrance . This hotel is about an hour drive away from Yellowstone west entrance but its worth the drive if you are planning a day or two day trip to the park.

Kids loved the pool and the slide . It was a big stress buster after a long day of hikes and sight seeing at Yellowstone. The free breakfast is decent and rooms are clean.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikfromseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Overall, the Whitewater is just OK for the price if you have kids who like to swim or you are skiing on the cheap. The Whitewater's best feature is its pool with a 90' waterslide - lots of kids (bring ear plugs)! The included continental breakfast was good but basic, open on time and well tended by the staff. The fitness center was a closet with an elliptical and a Smith machine (counterbalanced weight machine) that was very badly in need of maintenance. Hotel was acceptably clean. Rooms were small - just big enough for the two queen beds. The beds were sub-par with little foam pillows. Staffing at the hotel is at the absolute minimum and, although friendly, they were not effective with area suggestions or procedures. Our included ski passes were a handwritten note to the ski area, although this worked fine the next morning, it was tedious for the front desk clerk to write out the three passes. Also, three of the restaurants that the hotel staff recommended needed reservations on weekends, but this helpful fact was not relayed by the staff.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cak50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
0.6 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#2 of 13 in Big Sky
696 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
554 reviews
2.9 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 13 in Big Sky
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
7.5 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#9 of 13 in Big Sky
286 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 13 in Big Sky
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitewater Inn

Property: Whitewater Inn
Address: 47214 Gallatin Rd, Big Sky, MT 59716 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitewater Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is conveniently located on Highway 191 midway between Bozeman and West Yellowstone near the turn off to Big Sky, MT. Its family and dog friendly, with continental breakfast included. The Whitewater Inn on the banks of the Gallatin River is open year round within a few minutes' drive to local restaurants, and within 15 minutes of Big Sky Resort's Mountain Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Whitewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitewater Hotel Big Sky
Whitewater Inn Big Sky, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing