We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to take a break!”
Review of Whitewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Whitewater Inn
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Big Sky
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We were driving from Glacier to Yellowstone and everything closer to the park was booked up so I took a chance (based on TripAdvisor reviews) and it was a great pick! My kids loved the heated pool & water slide and I loved the cozy hot tub! We drove up the mountain (Big Sky & Moonlight Basin ski resorts) to look around and eat then had a very pleasant night stay in our huge room- we had booked a 2 queen room and the manager upgraded us to a 2 queen room! Very nice- I would stay here again. We are here in the summer but this would be a really great budget choice for ski season too!

Room Tip: For a quieter room, ask for one away from the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romyzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2013

The hot tub had the best jets I have experienced. Really like getting a massage after a hard day skiing. Water slide is also really fun.

We had a very large room with two queens on the ground floor. Beds were extremely comfortable and had great comforters.

One complaint was the maintenance guy who runs around barefoot and in shorts (it was snowing) and looks like someone you would not meet in an alley at night. I complained about a guy who was passed out half in and half out of the hot tub, and he said its ok, he is just a little drunk. Next thing you know he got in with us! I thought he was a little creepy and it was definitely not professional. The gal who checked us in also liked to hang out in the breakfast area and watch tv at full volume. When I had breakfast she went to front desk so I muted the tv, she promptly came back and turned up the volume again.

I did not get the impression that the customer was important or valued.

Room Tip: Mention frequent skier card and get a substantial discount on room price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fearlessmsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My husband and I found ourselves booked at this hotel by our clients that were booked up the hill at the more expensive lodges. Our first thought was great, they get the ritz, we get the crap. Not the case at all! The staff is wonderful, from the front desk to housekeeping the employees are professional, polite and very accommodating! The room was clean and the beds super comfortable. We loved the pool it was warm and the hot tub was hot. The water slide was a plus as it created a current we could swim against, much better than doing laps. If I could find one thing to change I would add a fruit selection to the breakfast. All in all a great experience!

Room Tip: Try not to stay next to the staircase, lots of activity on the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank royaltycoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We met up with a couple of friends (and their families) and we all really enjoyed this hotel. The front desk (Phenn especially) made sure all of our needs were met and did everything she could to make sure we were happy. The housekeeping team was nice and professional and took pride in their work. The pool was nice and the slide was a lot of fun. The hot tub was great for soaking after a long day on the mountain. We brought our dogs, and there was a great spot for them just to the side of the hotel. We were all happy, and felt like it was a great price for what we got. Thanks!

Room Tip: Room 208 was a little larger then some of the other rooms, which was great for our two large dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miciamso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

My friends and I booked this hotel because of its proximity to Big Sky-- the price was reasonable, but there was nothing "great" about the hotel. It had a cool pool with a water side, which I guess is good for kids, but we enjoyed the hot tub. The hotel was clean, safe, and offered a free (minimal) breakfast til 10am. For budget hotel, it did the job.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahJean22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I stayed here a couple of years ago (August 2010) while I was taking my niece to visit Yellowstone. It's a hotel room, much like any other, nothing spectacular, but comfortable enough. Our room had a view of the parking lot, but at least I could keep an eye on our rental car and there was a side entrance that was more convenient than using the main entrance at times. The staff was friendly. We stayed during the summer hours, which is off-season for this snow sport based resort town, so our rates were pretty cheap (through Hot Wire). It is about an hour from the entrance to Yellowstone Park, so be prepared for that, but it is a beautiful drive at least! At the time I was there, I found the selection in the Continental breakfast to be sadly lacking. There were some muffins, but lacking in flavor and seemed purchased in bulk from a box store or something. But if you're reallly there to see the park like I was, these are but small details. I'm sort of a traveler of low standards. I prefer to save money on the room (as long as it's clean with a bed and hot water, I'm happy) and spend my money doing things instead. So, as I said, it met our needs just fine.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Great hotel! We had a 3 queen room and loved it! Very large with lots of room to move around. The room had 2 air conditioners which was a good thing because the public areas of the hotel were quite warm. Great western decor, comfortable lobby and rooms. Kids loved the pool and slide. The housekeeping leaves a bit to be desired. Upon returning to our room after our first night, we had to ask for towels as housekeeping did not do our room. They did the next day. If you're in the area to visit Yellowstone, I'd think twice. While it's less than 50 miles to the west entrance of the park, it's a long drive, especially at night. We would stay here again if there weren't closer options.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
0.5 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#1 of 9 in Big Sky
762 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#3 of 9 in Big Sky
580 reviews
2.9 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 9 in Big Sky
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 9 in Big Sky
263 reviews
7.5 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
7.5 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#6 of 9 in Big Sky
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitewater Inn

Address: 47214 Gallatin Rd, Big Sky, MT 59716 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range: £104 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitewater Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is conveniently located on Highway 191 midway between Bozeman and West Yellowstone near the turn off to Big Sky, MT. Its family and dog friendly, with continental breakfast included. The Whitewater Inn on the banks of the Gallatin River is open year round within a few minutes' drive to local restaurants, and within 15 minutes of Big Sky Resort's Mountain Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Whitewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitewater Hotel Big Sky
Whitewater Inn Big Sky, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing