We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Experience!”
Review of Whitewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Whitewater Inn
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Richardson, Texas
1 review
“Awesome Experience!”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Whitewater inn definitely exceeded my expectation. The hotel is around 45 miles from yellowstone but the drive is beautiful and scenic and didn;t feel bad at all. The hotel room had a microwave, mini refrigerator, iron stand and iron. It also had a flat screen TV. The beds were comfortable and the staff were just great. They are very courteous and were helpful. The breakfast is not the best but definitely helps having something which is better than nothing. They have Coffee, Juice, Bagel and cream cheese, Muffin, Hard boiled eggs, Cereals and Milk. I was glad I selected this hotel and would not hesitate to stay again.

Arvind

Room Tip: Ask for Room 300 ( King size room) and you will be surprised how big the room is:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    13
    10
    9
    8
See reviews for
22
10
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at the Whitewater Inn for our family reunion last month. It was a great base for all of the reunion activities from a tour of Yellowstone to meals at the Huntley. The kids loved the pool and slide at the end of the day. What made our visit so memorable was the staff and their first-rate service. We needed help with some paperwork for a business transaction that came up unexceptionally. Tom at the front desk was phenomenal and always willing to help. The guys in the breakfast room and cleaning rooms were equally helpful. The beds were super comfortable. The exterior will fool you and being next to an equipment rental yard may put you off, but don't pass up this oasis for great service.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nsnac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
176 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We were driving from Glacier to Yellowstone and everything closer to the park was booked up so I took a chance (based on TripAdvisor reviews) and it was a great pick! My kids loved the heated pool & water slide and I loved the cozy hot tub! We drove up the mountain (Big Sky & Moonlight Basin ski resorts) to look around and eat then had a very pleasant night stay in our huge room- we had booked a 2 queen room and the manager upgraded us to a 2 queen room! Very nice- I would stay here again. We are here in the summer but this would be a really great budget choice for ski season too!

Room Tip: For a quieter room, ask for one away from the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romyzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula
Level Contributor
162 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

The hot tub had the best jets I have experienced. Really like getting a massage after a hard day skiing. Water slide is also really fun.

We had a very large room with two queens on the ground floor. Beds were extremely comfortable and had great comforters.

One complaint was the maintenance guy who runs around barefoot and in shorts (it was snowing) and looks like someone you would not meet in an alley at night. I complained about a guy who was passed out half in and half out of the hot tub, and he said its ok, he is just a little drunk. Next thing you know he got in with us! I thought he was a little creepy and it was definitely not professional. The gal who checked us in also liked to hang out in the breakfast area and watch tv at full volume. When I had breakfast she went to front desk so I muted the tv, she promptly came back and turned up the volume again.

I did not get the impression that the customer was important or valued.

Room Tip: Mention frequent skier card and get a substantial discount on room price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fearlessmsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My husband and I found ourselves booked at this hotel by our clients that were booked up the hill at the more expensive lodges. Our first thought was great, they get the ritz, we get the crap. Not the case at all! The staff is wonderful, from the front desk to housekeeping the employees are professional, polite and very accommodating! The room was clean and the beds super comfortable. We loved the pool it was warm and the hot tub was hot. The water slide was a plus as it created a current we could swim against, much better than doing laps. If I could find one thing to change I would add a fruit selection to the breakfast. All in all a great experience!

Room Tip: Try not to stay next to the staircase, lots of activity on the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank royaltycoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We met up with a couple of friends (and their families) and we all really enjoyed this hotel. The front desk (Phenn especially) made sure all of our needs were met and did everything she could to make sure we were happy. The housekeeping team was nice and professional and took pride in their work. The pool was nice and the slide was a lot of fun. The hot tub was great for soaking after a long day on the mountain. We brought our dogs, and there was a great spot for them just to the side of the hotel. We were all happy, and felt like it was a great price for what we got. Thanks!

Room Tip: Room 208 was a little larger then some of the other rooms, which was great for our two large dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miciamso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
115 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

My friends and I booked this hotel because of its proximity to Big Sky-- the price was reasonable, but there was nothing "great" about the hotel. It had a cool pool with a water side, which I guess is good for kids, but we enjoyed the hot tub. The hotel was clean, safe, and offered a free (minimal) breakfast til 10am. For budget hotel, it did the job.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahJean22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
0.6 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#3 of 13 in Big Sky
680 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
546 reviews
7.5 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 13 in Big Sky
115 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 13 in Big Sky
237 reviews
7.5 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#8 of 13 in Big Sky
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitewater Inn

Property: Whitewater Inn
Address: 47214 Gallatin Rd, Big Sky, MT 59716 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitewater Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is conveniently located on Highway 191 midway between Bozeman and West Yellowstone near the turn off to Big Sky, MT. Its family and dog friendly, with continental breakfast included. The Whitewater Inn on the banks of the Gallatin River is open year round within a few minutes' drive to local restaurants, and within 15 minutes of Big Sky Resort's Mountain Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Whitewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitewater Hotel Big Sky
Whitewater Inn Big Sky, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing