We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price is Right”
Review of Whitewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Whitewater Inn
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Big Sky
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of September for $89/night, 4 people in 2 queen beds. As a base for Yellowstone visits it's not ideal (~40 min. to west entrance), but the price was right. Cleanliness and general condition of the room were fine, and the free breakfast and fast wireless internet were much appreciated. A nice soak in the hot tub at the end of a long day of touring was definitely a highlight, and I imagine the pool and waterslide would be great fun for a family with young children.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We paid $87/nt. And for that price,it was well worth it!the 2 queen beds were very comfortable. Breakfast selection was very decent,staff was very helpful. there is a coin laundry insite.Would definitely recommend this place. Its roughly a 45 minute drive to West Yellowstone towne centre. And maybe an hour and a half away from the Yellowstone National park itself.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alko1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Our room was dusty, had dead flies on the floor in the bathroom, had old food on the floors around the furniture. The coffee pot filter had mold growing in it. The indoor pool was cold and the water slide was not working. On a more positive note, the hot tub was great, the kids enjoyed the breakfast. The staff was friendly and we were given free entrance to another resort hotel to use their outdoor pool and free tickets for a scenic ski lift ride.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We would not stay at this property again. We arrived late (11:30 p.m.) and with no elevator had to haul our luggage (3 bags) plus other items down a flight of stairs. The night clerk did assist but this person was new and uncertain about how to use the computer so could not tell us for sure whether or not there were any rooms on the main floor. When we walked in the room the window was wide open and the temp in the room was probably in the 40's. My husband was bothered by the lack of cleanliness (primarily the carpet) in our room and the hotel generally. I was totally put off by the condition of the breakfast area. Much of the food was gone and there was a general lack of cleanliness. We were told that staff was being trained but that did not overcome the fact that I felt like I was staying in a guys' college dorm. I rarely rate a lodging property this poorly but Whitewater Inn needs a major infusion of training and oversight.

Room Tip: Do NOT choose a lower level. Insist on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Retired06x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Wife described Whitewater Inn as the "best" on a trip that included 6 different lodging experiences, all of which where excellent - and I agree with her opinion. The arrangements were made thru Big Sky Reservations taking advantage of a promotional rate that proved to be a great value. Traveling with 2 other adults and their 2 1/2 year old we had requested a 3-bed accommodation - we were provided with 2 queens in one room and 1 queen in an adjoining room, 2 TVs, very clean, very comfortable, table & 2 chairs, refrigerator, very good breakfast selection with fruit and bakery muffins and bagels, and excellent coffee. The swimming pool with slide and hot tub were nice amenities - clean towels also provided. We arrived before 11:00 am, on our way to Yellowstone, and they provided baggage storage and parking of one car. Desk staff, breakfast service staff and cleaning staff were all helpful and exceptionally courteous. Help was provided on local eateries and food store. A salute to Mgr Tommy Robinson for running a good ship. We were even provided with coupons to encourage use of Big Sky Activities. Yes, we highly recommend Whitewater Inn and will stay there again when in Big Sky area. We stayed 2 nights.

Room Tip: South side rooms have good view of mountains to the east of Gallatin River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

After a long road trip, we pulled into the Whitewater Inn, just N of Yellowstone. Our reservation was made weeks earlier, no problems, we were already completely in the system. Mgr. Tommy Robinson was very helpful in coordinating a very comfortable room for us, along with the heads-up on the local dining...later he assisted us with a comprehensive approach to the visit to Yellowstone, as I had not been there for over 40-yrs & my wife never...very early the next AM, Quinn @ the Front Desk was very accommodating and assisted with our coffees+ before we hit the road - we will ALWAYS return here when in the area!

Room Tip: Reserve & confirm before travel - there are no other lodgings in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

After a long day at Yellowstone park, returned to a room that was not cleaned and no clean towels and a shower drain that was plugged. Complained to the desk, was told problems with cleaning staff. Was told room rate would be refunded for that day. Upon checkout, was told could not be done because of being booked through expedia and only a discount for next visit. Will not go back. Walls were peeling, dirty carpets and overflowing garbage. You felt you would fall through the bathtub. I paid too much for this kind of service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
0.5 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#1 of 9 in Big Sky
762 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#3 of 9 in Big Sky
580 reviews
2.9 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 9 in Big Sky
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 9 in Big Sky
262 reviews
7.5 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
7.5 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#6 of 9 in Big Sky
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitewater Inn

Address: 47214 Gallatin Rd, Big Sky, MT 59716 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range: £104 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitewater Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is conveniently located on Highway 191 midway between Bozeman and West Yellowstone near the turn off to Big Sky, MT. Its family and dog friendly, with continental breakfast included. The Whitewater Inn on the banks of the Gallatin River is open year round within a few minutes' drive to local restaurants, and within 15 minutes of Big Sky Resort's Mountain Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Whitewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitewater Hotel Big Sky
Whitewater Inn Big Sky, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing