We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Subpar room”
Review of Whitewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Whitewater Inn
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Hamilton, Montana
1 review
“Subpar room”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

First of all, after turning the TV on I found there were only about 15 or so channels. I haven't been in a hotel room in the last 15 years that did not have cable with dozens of channels. Seriously? And they were channels that were not interesting. Also, many channels had bad reception, one didn't have sound and there were some duplicate channels.
Although the bed was relatively comfortable, the sheet under the duvet was very stiff and uncomfortable. It was also much shorter than the duvet, so I had to untuck it at the foot of the bed and pull it up.
Not done yet. The shower head did not spray the water out well, making for a terrible shower; and the water pressure was low.
Good location for access to Big Sky resort, but I later heard of lodging nearby at better rates and will book there next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigSkyResort001, Manager at Whitewater Inn, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that your stay was disappointing. Please know that we are addressing the issues you outlined above and really hope that you return to the Whitewater in the future.

Sincerely

Tommy Robinson
Manager
Whitewater Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    13
    13
    9
    9
See reviews for
23
11
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The place offers a reasonable priced Big-Sky-affiliated lodging in the midst of the higher-priced Big Sky Lodging closer to the slopes. In-room phone service never worked. Dry cereal for breakfast was all kiddie-stuff--sugar frosted flakes, Fruit Loops, stuff like that, but otherwise OK. Staff was friendly and helpful. Parking lot was an icy mess--other winter motels are able to plow out the parking lot, why not whitewater?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skier42635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Whitewater Inn, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your Whitewater experience with us. We really appreciate you feedback. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences these issues may have caused. We will share your comments with our team and use them to make your next stay with us more enjoyable. Thanks again for your time. If you have any additional suggestions or concerns please contact us at info@bigskyresort.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of September for $89/night, 4 people in 2 queen beds. As a base for Yellowstone visits it's not ideal (~40 min. to west entrance), but the price was right. Cleanliness and general condition of the room were fine, and the free breakfast and fast wireless internet were much appreciated. A nice soak in the hot tub at the end of a long day of touring was definitely a highlight, and I imagine the pool and waterslide would be great fun for a family with young children.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We paid $87/nt. And for that price,it was well worth it!the 2 queen beds were very comfortable. Breakfast selection was very decent,staff was very helpful. there is a coin laundry insite.Would definitely recommend this place. Its roughly a 45 minute drive to West Yellowstone towne centre. And maybe an hour and a half away from the Yellowstone National park itself.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alko1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford City, North Dakota, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Our room was dusty, had dead flies on the floor in the bathroom, had old food on the floors around the furniture. The coffee pot filter had mold growing in it. The indoor pool was cold and the water slide was not working. On a more positive note, the hot tub was great, the kids enjoyed the breakfast. The staff was friendly and we were given free entrance to another resort hotel to use their outdoor pool and free tickets for a scenic ski lift ride.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Big Sky hotels

Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We would not stay at this property again. We arrived late (11:30 p.m.) and with no elevator had to haul our luggage (3 bags) plus other items down a flight of stairs. The night clerk did assist but this person was new and uncertain about how to use the computer so could not tell us for sure whether or not there were any rooms on the main floor. When we walked in the room the window was wide open and the temp in the room was probably in the 40's. My husband was bothered by the lack of cleanliness (primarily the carpet) in our room and the hotel generally. I was totally put off by the condition of the breakfast area. Much of the food was gone and there was a general lack of cleanliness. We were told that staff was being trained but that did not overcome the fact that I felt like I was staying in a guys' college dorm. I rarely rate a lodging property this poorly but Whitewater Inn needs a major infusion of training and oversight.

Room Tip: Do NOT choose a lower level. Insist on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retired06x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Wife described Whitewater Inn as the "best" on a trip that included 6 different lodging experiences, all of which where excellent - and I agree with her opinion. The arrangements were made thru Big Sky Reservations taking advantage of a promotional rate that proved to be a great value. Traveling with 2 other adults and their 2 1/2 year old we had requested a 3-bed accommodation - we were provided with 2 queens in one room and 1 queen in an adjoining room, 2 TVs, very clean, very comfortable, table & 2 chairs, refrigerator, very good breakfast selection with fruit and bakery muffins and bagels, and excellent coffee. The swimming pool with slide and hot tub were nice amenities - clean towels also provided. We arrived before 11:00 am, on our way to Yellowstone, and they provided baggage storage and parking of one car. Desk staff, breakfast service staff and cleaning staff were all helpful and exceptionally courteous. Help was provided on local eateries and food store. A salute to Mgr Tommy Robinson for running a good ship. We were even provided with coupons to encourage use of Big Sky Activities. Yes, we highly recommend Whitewater Inn and will stay there again when in Big Sky area. We stayed 2 nights.

Room Tip: South side rooms have good view of mountains to the east of Gallatin River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
7.5 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
558 reviews
0.6 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#2 of 13 in Big Sky
708 reviews
2.9 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#9 of 13 in Big Sky
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
7.5 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 13 in Big Sky
244 reviews
7.5 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#8 of 13 in Big Sky
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitewater Inn

Property: Whitewater Inn
Address: 47214 Gallatin Rd, Big Sky, MT 59716 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Whitewater Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is conveniently located on Highway 191 midway between Bozeman and West Yellowstone near the turn off to Big Sky, MT. Its family and dog friendly, with continental breakfast included. The Whitewater Inn on the banks of the Gallatin River is open year round within a few minutes' drive to local restaurants, and within 15 minutes of Big Sky Resort's Mountain Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Whitewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitewater Hotel Big Sky
Whitewater Inn Big Sky, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing