We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff, great state.”
Review of Huntley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Huntley Lodge
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff, great state.”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Stayed here for a business meeting. The resort overall is great - the skiing looks like it would be fantastic and there were a wide array of seasonal activities available including ziplining and river rafting that I would have loved to have tried. Staff were friendly and helpful. Lobby spaces and other public spaces were very nice. The room I was in was a bit run down and could use a facelift, and the heater in the room (yes I needed a heater in June) was creaky and loud and made it a bit hard to sleep. Would love to come back sometime with the kids and do a family vacation, and maybe request a renovated room.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerinva801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    112
    79
    38
    14
See reviews for
66
46
10
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Very close to skiing/village, nice pool, nice fireplace in lobby, and good free breakfasts were the pros.

But on the flip side...

Room was dirty. Carpet looked like it had not been cleaned in some time.

Hotel is noisy. Floors squeak, irritating at night. Plus you could hear neighbors.

Furniture is old.

No ski lockers, just a high-traffic storage room for equipment that did not seem safe. Attendant not really supervising it.

Parking is a bit of a walk in public lots for the ski hills.

Would not recommend this hotel. It is dingy. Spend a little more and stay elsewhere in the ski village if you want to ski Big Sky and thoroughly enjoy the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkgoblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Big Sky hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Big Timber, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2011

Beautiful common areas and reception, however room was lacking. Room was below expectations...electric baseboard heat was touchy, walls were thin heard snoring in next room, paint chipping, and bed had stains on duvet (wine) and dust ruffle (blood). Location is excellent, easy walking distance to restaurants and ski hill.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at end of hallways, loud access doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbacklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

With a group of 40+ for a week of skiing in Big Sky. Huntley is not ski in/ski out but a short walk to lifts. The large rooms are clean with comfortable beds and bedding. Refrigerator, fans, iron, ironing board - even a humidifier if needed. As stated in a previous review, there's a convenient wet bar just outside the bathroom. Windows that can be opened to let fresh air in and thermostats that work. Hot water for showers always plentiful. Speaking of showers - you can hear the shower running when neighboring room uses theirs so it's a little annoying if someone's taking a shower and you're not ready to awaken.

Included breakfast is bountiful but never seemed hot - just warm - unless you go to the omelet station where they'll prepare a delicious omelet of your choosing. Loads of fresh fruit. Chet's Bar is the in-house restaurant where they have a steak special for $12 on Mondays and Wednesdays. (I'm not a meat eater but I didn't hear many complaints.) Other entrees were in the $20+ range.

There are three seating areas with well-attended fireplaces and comfortable chairs and sofas. One area has a Starbuck's concession in a corner and has games/tables in case you're stuck indoors.

No in-house computers to use but there was a place in Mountain Mall where you can pay $5 to use the computers for 1/2 hour.

The staff - from reception to concierge to wait staff to cleaning staff - always anxious to please.

Nearby restaurants I'd recommend: The Cabin (pricey but wonderful food and cozy atmosphere), Andiamo (Italian, yummy, prices are up there), Peak (at Summit Hotel next door - again wonderful but pricey). Also found a yurt on the mountain where we had lunch one day. Cozy wood stove. Good food. Outhouse - brrrr. The burger shack at the base of the two main lifts is run by a Polish couple who actually make perogi and kielbasa - outstanding!

Spa located in hotel (you pay) used by a couple of us - nice massages. There is a pool and hot tub (not just outside the door) for use by guests.

Grocery store located in Mountain Mall with a wine section (cheaper to buy before heading up to Big Sky if you can). A couple of places to purchase souvenirs - and a silver/turquoise jewelry shop to die for! Fur store, too.

Skiing - lots of it!!! Even if you don't ski it, take the tram to the top to see the view. When we left on Saturday it was snowing. They need snow. It isn't that there are bare spots but there have been weather changes affecting what is on the ground. Some of it really not skiable - or at least not what you go to Montana to ski.

Would also recommend skiing over to Moonlight Basin. The hotel there is fabulous with a deli where you can order food to carry into their pub or seating area before the most fabulous fireplace you've ever seen! (Used their computer at no charge. It's tucked in a corner of one of the seating areas.)

If you haven't seen Yellowstone, a snow coach tour is a must-do.

Have been there before; will go again. Will stay at Huntley again.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Great location to skiing - 1 min. walk from lower level ski storage to slope base. The lodge has 3 wonderful sitting areas with well maintained fireplaces, sofas and chairs for relaxing. The one pictured is next to a friendly coffee bar that also serves tasty tea.
Rooms were well used but clean, carpeting and walls updated. Beds wonderful with European style quilts. Room also included a small 'fridge and sink outside the bathroom.
Outdoor hot tub is a little far from the door, so a quick dash is required to get to it. Also had to walk over snow to turn on the jets, brrr. 2 large hot tubs that were very nice once in.
2 stores in house, one woman's fashion and the other general merchandise, well equipped.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jastarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

the hotel is situated in big sky which is a ski resort. the hotel is quite less expensive than the hotels in the vicinity. I stayed in a fairly clean room with all amenities available for making a comfortable stay here. However, they charge you like hell. The charges are based on number of hours stay and this has to be thought about. Otherwise a nice hotel for all purposes - business or leisure.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellboy_20_10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

This place could be great. When we were there in August though, it was like a ghost town, which is to say that we might not be the first ones to fall less than in love. First off, we stay at the "resort" becuase they say there is lots of activities. And there are, except that they are not all running. The bungee trampoline was never open, the putting golf was never open and no one was (literally no one) around and the paintball was shut down becuase they used paintball pellets that attract Bears. What?! So they basically had ziplining - which cannot accomdate younger kids (I was traveling with a 16 year old and a 6 year old). We were only saved because we had arranged for off-resort activities for one day (down at Geyser Whitewater, which was AWESOME) and horseback riding (also super fun for all of us). And thank goodness we also drove an hour into Yellowstone for a day and a half, otherwise the trip, had it just been for the resort, would have been a total bust.

Restaurants around there are not great, or various in any way shape or form and they tell you there is shopping but there isn't really except for this outdated small "mall" that has about 10 shops (one if which is a place to buy furs??) - and none of which were actually open while I was there (not that I need a fur coat).

More details:
1) the pool was dirty
2) the drains in our bathroom smelled and when you ran water in the sink or shower it smelled of mildew
3) there was NO AIR-CONDITIONING and it was hot
4) they would not ok an hour later check-out (their check out was 10am) even though there was literally not a soul in site the entire 4 days we were there. I think we saw maybe 10 other people in the resort in total (and literally no one in the hotel at any time).

We were really disappointed and had we to do it over again, we would have saved some money and lodged at the bottom of the hill at Buck's T-4 which was a pretty cute and cozy lodge with a restaurant to DIE for. Or, we would have stayed closer to West Yellowstone and saved ourselves some discontent and windshield time.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S3H1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
0.0 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
554 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 13 in Big Sky
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#2 of 13 in Big Sky
697 reviews
4.7 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 13 in Big Sky
116 reviews
7.5 mi away
Whitewater Inn
Whitewater Inn
#13 of 13 in Big Sky
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntley Lodge

Property: Huntley Lodge
Address: 50 Big Sky Resort Rd., Big Sky, MT 59716
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Huntley Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Big Sky's Mountain Village, this three-story hotel was part of the late NBC News broadcaster Chet Huntley's original vision for Big Sky Resort. It is as tasteful as it is convenient: the Explorer Lift is just out the back door. Under the same roof are concierge, dining, shopping, ski storage, meeting rooms, and spa. The Huntley Lodge features Boyne Beds and flat panel televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Huntley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntley Hotel Big Sky
Huntley Lodge Big Sky, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing