We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski right to your lodge from the slopes!”
Review of Huntley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Huntley Lodge
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Big Sky
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This was our second stay at the Huntley. As usual, a good value and we love the convenience of skiing from the bottom of the slopes to the lodge. Pools are very nice, room was clean, beds were comfy & staff was cheerful and helpful.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank denver60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Huntley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Always great to hear from our Huntley fans... and Bronco fans! Please come back and see us again soon. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more enjoyable you have but to ask. Thanks again for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

All in all we were happy with our stay at the Huntley Lodge in January. Our room was clean, the beds are comfy, the furniture was in good shape, clear HDTV, fast WiFi. The breakfast buffet was excellent, and any staff member that we interacted with was friendly and helpful.

Now for the "but": This is an old property built with wood frame construction and little regard for noise suppression. The upper floors often creak loudly when people are walking around, and ski boots in the hallways can sound like thunder. If anyone around you is making noise you *will* hear it, even if they just creep into the bathroom at 5am -- the running water is even loud. Fortunately for us, there was an "over 70" crowd in the hotel while we were there and everyone was quiet and courteous, but you might not be so lucky, so be forewarned.

Another nit: the carpet in the hallways is hideously ugly. Not a big deal to me, but it definitely cheapens what is otherwise an attractive property.

When we were there the jets in the hot tubs did not work, so it was just that, a "hot tub" where you could soak your bones and chit-chat with other guests. The bright side of that is you don't have to shout to be heard by others in the tub. I suppose the downside is everyone in the tub can hear what you are saying. :-)

Given the price of this lodge versus others in the area I would probably stay there again, but if we were to be unlucky and get noisy neighbors I could see regretting that decision.

Room Tip: As others have said, a top-floor room is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Huntley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your review and experience with us. We love to hear from our guests and are very pleased to know that the service and accommodations were to your liking. Your comments about the noise in the lodge and the hot tub will be passed along to our team. If there is anything else we can do to make your next stay with us more enjoyable please just let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The Huntley Lodge is like a Howard Johnsons from the 1960s, in desperate need of an upgrade. The rooms are dark, dated, walls paper thin and baseboard electric heat that barely gets the space warm. Housekeeping does not clean, they merely straighten up. If you stay here, insist on a third floor room. If not, you will never get any sleep. On the plus side, the staff was very friendly, the breakfast is killer and the location is good.

Room Tip: Insist on a third floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KAS267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Huntley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate it and will share your comments with our team to make your next visit more enjoyable. It sounds like you may enjoy one of our newer accommodations better. For your next stay may we suggest looking into the Summit Hotel, Village Center or one of our many ski in/ ski out properties. We think you will find the quality, service and value you are looking for. Please feel free to contact us directly at info@bigskyresort.com for additional info. Thanks again for your time. Please come back and visit us again here in Big Sky.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We have stayed at this complex for several years. We often rented the newer and larger Shoshone Condos. They are nice. This latest trip was 12/26-12/31 2013. We stayed at the Huntley. It was reasonably nice and clean. A little dated. One treat is the pool. The Shoshone has a fancy indoor/outdoor hot tub and pool. It often doesn't stay warm. The Huntley has two hot tubs and both are very warm.

As usual skiing at Big Sky was fantastic. If you are sick of lines and crowds at Whistler and Aspen, try Big Sky.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seattle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigSkyResort001, Public Relations Manager at Huntley Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for your great review and loyalty to Big Sky. We appreciate your time and your business. If there is anything we can do during your next stay to make you more comfortable please just let us know. We invite you to come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at the Huntley Lodge for a week over Christmas for a family ski vacation. We were quite happy with our choice, as it was very convenient to the slopes, and our package included the terrific breakfast buffet. We skied all day every day, heading out to the lifts just before their 9:00 opening, skiing back to the Huntley (right up to the door!) for lunch in our room (we were on a budget, and really appreciated the mini-fridge), and then heading out to hit the slopes again for the rest of the afternoon. The Lodge was also very conveniently located in the heart of the Mountain Village at Big Sky. Overall, it was very good.

But the next time they re-do the carpet, they need to make sure to properly screw the subfloors down to the floor joists because they are quite noisy -- the reason you want to get a third-floor room (probably when the Lodge was first built, construction adhesive and ring-shank nails were not yet in wide-spread use for nailing down sub-floors). The bathrooms could benefit from active ventilation fans, rather than the passive vents. The showers were hot and had good pressure, though, which is what really matters after a long day of hard skiing!

Make sure to get to the breakfast buffet early, it starts to get busy around 7:30 or so, especially after Christmas (or during other holiday periods).

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor, and an end room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This place is great! you get a stellar breakfast, Super staff, great rooms. sure you can save a few bucks staying in the canyon but then you have to drive in the morning and after your done skiing. It's way less hassle to just stay at this great place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bikeguy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I stayed in 2 different twin rooms in Huntley - both were spacious, cosy and quite quaint. I was impressed with the homely style of the room, and lucky enough to have gorgeous views.

The pool and hot tub are pleasant and the spa is lovely. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.

Huntley is right next door to Summit, where I spent the first half of the trip. I would recommend Huntley as a cosy, rustic stay for families and friends, and Summit as more a romantic and luxurious option for couples.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielleKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 9 in Big Sky
571 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 9 in Big Sky
252 reviews
0 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#2 of 9 in Big Sky
742 reviews
4.7 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#6 of 9 in Big Sky
123 reviews
7.3 mi away
Alpenglow Condominiums
Alpenglow Condominiums
#8 of 9 in Big Sky
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntley Lodge

Address: 50 Big Sky Resort Rd., Big Sky, MT 59716
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Big Sky
Price Range: £152 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Huntley Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Big Sky's Mountain Village, this three-story hotel was part of the late NBC News broadcaster Chet Huntley's original vision for Big Sky Resort. It is as tasteful as it is convenient: the Explorer Lift is just out the back door. Under the same roof are concierge, dining, shopping, ski storage, meeting rooms, and spa. The Huntley Lodge features Boyne Beds and flat panel televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Huntley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntley Hotel Big Sky
Huntley Lodge Big Sky, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing