We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice condo accomodations with a few areas in need of improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shoshone Condominium at Big Sky Resort
La Canada Flintridge, CA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Nice condo accomodations with a few areas in need of improvement”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Our family stayed in a one bedroom and loft corner condo unit on the top floor during the week following New Years Day. I was generally pleased with the accomodations based on the discounted package I was able to book, which included daily breakfast and lift tickets for all four of us.

Positive things:
1. Gorgeous view of the slopes, particularly in the morning. The view of Lone Peak is nice especially when the sun comes out.
2. Unit is well maintained and spacious. Decorated in a tasteful western/ranch theme, with little wood indians. Furniture, carpets, paint and flat screen televisions all look relatively new.
3. Front lobby bell staff and the ski storage room staff are both friendly and helpful. I used the overnight wax service provided by the nice gentleman who operates the basement storage area (which is complimentary to the guests) and he did a nice job on my skis.
4. Buffet breakfast in the Huntley Dining Room (which is connected to the Shoshone by a short walk down a hallway) was better than most hotel buffets.
5. Housekeeping service was thorough.
6. Wifi signal was strong to our condo unit.
7. There is a nice coffee bar in the lobby area.

Negative things:
1. The check-in waiting time (at 8 pm) was atrocious, at least 20 minutes standing in a slow-moving line. To check in you must go to the Huntley Lodge front desk, and they are understaffed. Not a great first impression when you get to the hotel. Lots of other employees standing around watching the line, but nobody helping to facilitate the check-in line.
2. The hot water took a ridiculous amount of time to get to the unit - you have to run the shower for something like 5-8 minutes before you get hot water. This is at any time of the day or night. The building obviously has uninsulated hot water pipes that are located far away from the 7th floor. This is not just inconvenient, it is very wasteful of the water.
3. The kitchen stove, dishwasher, microwave and refrigerator look like they are from the 1970's - seriously. They all worked fine, but the really old age of the appliances particularly stand out compared to the rest of the unit.
4. The laundry room is difficult to find (many of the staff do not know where it is), and the machines are old and inefficient. It took 3 drying cycles to dry one smaller-than-average load of laundry, meaning it cost about $6 in quarters and four hours to do one load of laundry.

Suggestions if you are staying there:
1. Although there is free ski storage provided in the basement of the hotel, it is still somewhat of a hike, uphill, to get to the lifts, particularly if you have children with you. After the first two days, we rented ski lockers at the Snowcrest Building which is directly across from the lifts, which cost $9 per day but was worth it.
2. The Peaks at the Summit Hotel is a great place for a ski-in lunch. The Summit looked nice, we may try staying there next time we visit Big Sky.
3. Get your groceries at the Albertson's or Lee and Dad's near the airport in Belgrade before heading to Big Sky. Prices there are reasonable and comparable to a grocery store in Los Angeles, and you won't pay the "resort tax" imposed in Big Sky. There is a small grocery store in the Mountain Mall building next to the Shoshone, but it is very expensive, as one would expect for the only grocery store located in a resort area. One gallon of milk costs $8.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mike-lcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    33
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
43
10
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Small, luxurious apartment. It has a full kitchen, full size refrigerator, full size oven, stove, sink, dishwasher and coffee pot. I enjoyed the two full baths. One has a bathtub which I like and the other bathroom has a big shower which my husband likes. We had our own bathroom which was great. Cooking was easy since the kitchen was wide open. The fireplace although hard to start worked great to make it cozy in the room. There is a lot of room in each of the rooms and dressers for all your clothes, hang up closets, ironing board and even drawers in the living room.The staff is very quick to help and the spa is on the first floor as are a few little shops. The hot tub is more like a pool it is so big. Entrance to the hot tub is from an indoor locker room so there is no brrrrr in the winter. If you get there around 3:30 or 4, you will have the whole pool and hot tub to yourself and you can watch people ski down the mountain.

Room Tip: If you get a room on the first floor you wont have to wait on the elevator. If you get a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snnoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed at a friend's condo for 8 nights - we weren't prepared to be pampered as if we were in a hotel...daily housekeeping service. We were on the 7th floor, facing Lone Mountain - what a view this must be in winter with snow and skiers. Our condo had the master bedroom on the first level with two full baths, and a loft bedroom upstairs with it's own bath. The living room also had a murphy bed. It was just the two of us so we had tons of extra room. There were lots of restaurants (kind of pricey) and a small mall-like area with shops and restaurants. Tons of stuff to do, even in the summer. Labor Day weekend offered live music outside and lots of food vendors. We used the condo mainly as a basecamp as we were exploring Yellowstone, which is just an hour's drive away to the West entrance. The town of Bozeman was also fun. Back to the condo - the workout area was awesome with an entrance to the heated pool, which was great to get in and out of in a heated room, but the lap pool was outside, attached. Difficult to explain, but very convenient. Service was excellent, we didn't have anything to complain about and the grounds were kept very clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed here for a ski holiday in January. The condo was very large, comfortable and clean. Some of the reviews say it could do with some updating - I would agree that it wasn't particularly modern, but it had a lot of character and I would describe it more as "traditional" than "dated".

The service was really good - on our first day one of the staff took us on a walk around the resort to show us where everything was and it was really easy to book a trip to Yellowstone Park - they gave us leaflets for all the companies and once we picked the one we wanted they did the rest of the work for us. The trip to Yellowstone was well worth it and we would do it again. We went in the winter when it is much quieter and you can only enter the park with a guide.

There is a gym and spa (with outdoor heated pool). I didn't use the gym (the skiing was enough exercise for me!), but the pool was a fantastic way to unwind.

The condos are well located and the ski lockers are a couple of minutes' walk to the lifts/slopes.

Not the easiest place to get to from the UK, but we knew that before we went and it's the price you have to pay to get lovely quiet slopes all to yourself.

Unfortunately I sprained my ankle while we were there, so we are planning to go back and will be staying in the Shoshone again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Beautiful vista looking at Lone Mountain from bedroom. Lots of activities. 1.5 hr to Yellowstone

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djc51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Our experience at the Big Sky resort in Montana was an absolute success. We had never been on a very outdoorsy vacation before, and the service at Big Sky was very helpful in planning things like, ziplining, whitewater rafting, fly fishing, and Yellowstone, as well as hiking Beehive Basin, all of which we had never experienced before. The view surrounding Big Sky is like nothing any of us had ever seen. You're surrounded by absolute beauty everywhere you go. Our room was beautiful, and very well cleaned each day. My mom, brother and I all got massages at the resorts spa, which was amazing and I very highly recommend it. All of the staff at Big Sky is very helpful and very accommodating. I would love to return to Big Sky in Montana very soon, it was such a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Musique_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

We stayed in a 1 bed condo (1937) for 11 nights during January. This was our first trip to Big Sky and we loved the mountain. The condo was spacious and clean. The staff were generally very helpful.

My only negative comments would be that the appliances in the condo (coffee maker/microwave/dishwasher) looked as if they had not been replaced since the condo was built some time in the early 1980s. This was not an issue as they all worked fine and were clean. The kitchen equipment was also pretty dated - all the knives were blunt, there was no vegetable peeler etc.

\n addition, the daily cleaning of the rooms also caused us a problem on a couple of days as when we returned from a day on the mountain at 4.30pm our room was either still being cleaned or had not yet been done, which seemed rather late, especially since January seems a very quiet time.

The facilities at the Shoshone were very good though with a decent gym and pool and also a good coffee bar,

I would definitely recommend this place and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrieocfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Big Sky hotels
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Big Sky
The Lodge at Big Sky
#1 of 13 in Big Sky
538 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Summit At Big Sky
The Summit At Big Sky
#4 of 13 in Big Sky
234 reviews
0.0 mi away
Big Sky Resort Village Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Huntley Lodge
Huntley Lodge
#8 of 13 in Big Sky
277 reviews
7.8 mi away
Buck's T-4 Lodge
Buck's T-4 Lodge
#2 of 13 in Big Sky
671 reviews
4.7 mi away
River Rock Lodge
River Rock Lodge
#7 of 13 in Big Sky
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoshone Condominium at Big Sky Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoshone Condominium at Big Sky Resort

Property: Shoshone Condominium at Big Sky Resort
Address: Big Sky Resort, One Lone Mountain Trail, Big Sky, MT 59716
Region: United States > Montana > Big Sky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Big Sky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shoshone Condominium at Big Sky Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shoshone Condominium Hotel combines the service of a hotel with the comfort of a condominium. This seven story landmark is attached to the Yellowstone Conference Center and Huntley Lodge. Dining and shopping are right out the doors in the heart of Big Sky's Mountain Village. Rooms feature full kitchens, living areas, balconies, scenic views and Boyne Beds. Select rates include breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Shoshone Condominium at Big Sky Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoshone Condominium At Big Sky Hotel Big Sky
Shoshone Condominium At Big Sky Resort Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing