We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could have been better”

Big Timber River Valley Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Timber River Valley Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Big Timber
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Room was very large and spacious enough to sleep as many as 7 people, and for a very reasonable rate, however, the beds were SO uncomfortable! I could've probably slept on the sidewalk and it would've been more cozy. They should definitely invest in new mattresses. Otherwise was a decent stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank xQueeniexBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    8
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
8
11
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

The River Valley Inn was adequate, barely. It was clean and the front desk people were nice. The beds were comfortable, except for the thin pillows. That's about my list of good things. The first problem was that they had lost my reservation. I had talked to them by phone twice, but they had no record of my reservation. They had low occupancy that night so we got a room anyway. There were no toiletries provided and no hair dryer. The free continental breakfast was the sparsest such breakfast I have ever encountered. Two kinds of dry cereal, oatmeal mix, a bag of sandwich bread (yes, a bag -- reach in and get your slices!), and small rolls. For a one-queen-bed room, we were charged $78. That was way overpriced for what we got.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 21135Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minot, North Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Skip the Super 8 directly off the highway, drive about a half mile down the road and stay here instead. I stayed there with my 8 year old daughter. Very clean rooms and very nice owners. I liked the view of the Rockies in the far distance. I will stay here again the next time I travel through Montana. Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marklorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

This is a very nice small motel. The room was large, immaculately clean and nicely decorated. The lighting over the beds was bright enough to read by which is uncommon these days with the low wattage bulbs now used everywhere. The motel owner checked us in and was very friendly. The WiFi was fast and there were lots of TV channels. The breakfast was adequate. I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patandjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillette, WY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We had a fair-sized trek from Oregon to Wyoming to relocate! The River Valley Inn was the cleanest, homiest, most reasonably priced place we stayed in. In fact, we have traveled across the U.S. twice this year and stayed in many places. River Valley Inn the was best all-around. There are fancier places to be sure, but you pay the price. They are off the road a bit so don't miss them.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

Usually wary of small hotels but this one was nice. Clean rooms, our cats were okay to stay. Even had frig in room. Tv had cable services, directly across from gas station. Comfortable and clean bed. Better than Days inn we stayed at during our trip. Customer service was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

The people at Big Timber River Valley Inn were great.
We checked in and asked about a place to eat and they recomended a few places. The one we ate at was great, just like they said it would be.
The room was clean.
The continental breakfast was good. It was better than some at the big chain hotels.
It was an all around good stay. I would recomend it to anyone looking for a clean freindly place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeraldW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Big Timber River Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Timber River Valley Inn

Property: Big Timber River Valley Inn
Address: 600 W 2nd Ave, Big Timber, MT 59011-7988
Region: United States > Montana > Big Timber
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Big Timber
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Big Timber River Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Timber River Valley Inn Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing