We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kehoe's is a gem”
Review of Kehoe's Agate Shop

Kehoe's Agate Shop
Ranked #1 of 8 Shopping in Bigfork
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Camano Island, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kehoe's is a gem”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

You might think this is rock shop and it is but it is much more! My mother bought agate rings for my sister and myself over 50 years ago from Mr. Kehoe. This store is a Montana treasure and many native Montanans include a trip to Kehoe's when visiting the Flathead valley. You will find gemstones from around the world, Montana agates, sapphires mined in Montana, earrings, necklaces, bracelets, rings and fine jewelry too. It is a store you really have to see when in the area. Call ahead to confirm they are open but in general, the only day they may be closed is Sunday. Leslie Kehoe the daughter is now the owner with in-depth knowledge. It must have been an off day if the prior reviewer did not have a positive experience. I highly recommend stopping by if looking for a gift for yourself or something to take home from Montana.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    4
    0
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Incosiderate”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We saw signs for Kehoe's in Kalispell, so we drove an extra 25 miles (2 gallons of gas) only to find out they were closed on Sundays. There was no mention of their hours or being closed on Sundays on any of their signs, not even the one out at the end of their road. There was only a sign on the door of their shop. We never expected that on a July Sunday, at the height of tourist season, any shop in a tourist town would be closed.
Shame on you. Inform your customers instead of costing them money and time for nothing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank OregonTraveltoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Need to work on Customer service”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stopped by and we were not greeted with a hello by anyone in the store and as we looked in the cases we were watched by a teenage girl but she never asked if we wanted to look at anything. One lady did say thanks for stopping in although she was with a customer. Very Disappointing

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitefish, Montana
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Jewelry - Unique and Unbeatable Personal Service”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

My wife and I visited Kehoe's Agate Shop in June 2011 in search of the perfect wedding ring. Hidden on a back road in Bigfork, MT, with a name that implies more rocks than rings, Kehoe's is a hidden gem for amazing, one of a kind jewelry. My wife and I were introduced to Leslie, the second generation owner, who quickly wowed us with her knowledge of gems, jewelry and all the other unique minerals and items in Kehoe's.

What made us choose Kehoe's over other shops in the Flathead Valley was Leslie's personal service and her ability to customize and create exactly what wer were after, for WAY less than other stores.

Kehoe's is hard to find, but I assure you it is worth the trip.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank WileyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turlock, California
Level Contributor
289 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“A store and natural history museum in one location.”
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Kehoe's is a wonderful place that has something for everyone. The jewelry is pricey, but you can find quality pieces at a reasonable price if you look carefully. There is a small, but significant assort of gems, minerals and fossils that are on display. A variety of rock materials; such as, rough rock, slabs and finished pieces can be purchased. There selection is moderate, but geodes and Montana Agates are well represented. A couple of excellent pieces of rock art was for sale. They were tables tops that had a variety of cut and polished rocks carefully set to look like a chess board or star design.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank rocklvr03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kehoe's Agate Shop also viewed

 

Been to Kehoe's Agate Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing