We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service but the cost to stay is disappointing for something called a "resort"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marina Cay Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bigfork
Certificate of Excellence
Montana
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great service but the cost to stay is disappointing for something called a "resort"”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I rated this very good due to the great service provided by all resort employees we interacted with during our stay. The cost to stay leads you to believe you are staying in a plush resort and will have pampered bedding, bath, etc. but I was disappointed. I wouldn't go back unless we were given a discounted rate, which we were on this trip. The Tiki Bar and the casino have odd hours, closing early on a Friday and Saturday evening, but the employees that work there are great and take customer service seriously. The Sunday Brunch Buffet is $18, we got a discount but I would've paid full price for an excellent meal from prime rib, eggs benedict, bourbon carrots, cook to order omelets, etc. Just don't get your hopes up for anything spectacular at the resort and you will not be disappointed, just expect what you would from an almost above average hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the courtyard and having the hot tub and ice machine just across the yard was very conv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    30
    7
    10
    6
See reviews for
46
42
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I stayed at Marina Cay for 5 nights early this month. We rented a 2-bedroom suite in Hill East. The room itself was beautiful and quite comfortable, expect for the bed which appeared to be taken from a dormitory. My major gripe was that only 2 very, very thin hard pillows were provided. The "fully-stocked" kitchen had many pots and pans, but no tin foil, Tupperware, plastic bags--nothing to actually put food in after it was cooked. If my review as based solely on the room it would be a 4.5--certainly recommended.
However, the rest of the property is sub-par. There were never enough towels at the pool so you had to sit right on the chairs and air dry which is so easy to fix that I wonder why they wouldn't invest on this upgrade now. The bathrooms in the lodge are definitely outdated and had an interesting odor about them. Despite being advertised, there was no fitness center--not even a treadmill. The Sunday brunch looked and tasted cheap. The boat rentals were, at minimum, $85.00 per hour which made spending more than one afternoon on a boat unreasonable. Finally, they were generally understaffed in all areas.
With that being said, the staff they did have was FANTASTIC. Brian the GM of the bar/restaurant was great. Jess the mixologist was a gem. Every employee interaction I had was a good one. It is true when they say you are paying for the location because it is beautifully located on Big Fork Bay and a 25 minute walk to downtown Big Fork.
The staff, location, and quality of the specific room I stayed in saved the Marina Cay from a poor review and brought it to slightly above average.

Room Tip: There are stairs everywhere so if you have difficultly with stairs--make sure you mention that to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leslie_Venetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I staying two nights. Upon arrival for check-in I was booked into a room with one bed after I had reserved a room with two queen beds. Not such a big deal and could obviously forgive that the desk clerk had made an honest mistake. The room with the one queen bed was beautiful and I almost wished I could have stayed in that room. Upon entering my new room which I reserved the sight was not so pleasant. The carpet in the room was filthy and stained. The room smelled of must or possibly cigarette smoke, the wooden blinds on both windows were filthy with at least 3 inches of dust, there was garbage under the beds from the previous guest, no directory to anything that the resort offers in the room, sheets are thin and worn, beds are hard and the springs are squeaky and old, the pillows are flat and very uncomfortable, the shower head sprays all over the bathroom, and today when the housekeeping staff entered the room they gave me fresh towels, somewhat made the beds but did not empty the trash cans, provide new coffee, or do any other cleaning up what so ever. The property truly is beautiful and I wish that I had better things to say about my room because i have heard raves about Marina Cay and was very excited to finally stay but at this point I'm really just anxious to get checked out of here in the morning. I'm extremely disappointed that I spent the amount of money I spent on a room like this when I could have easily stayed somewhere else in the area for the same price or probably better and had a much nicer room. I stayed in room 137 in the courtyard.

Andrea Graves
Missoula, MT

Room Tip: Don't stay in 137 in the court yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

This is the second time my wife and I stayed at Marina Cay and if I have a chance to go to Big Fork again I am sure we will stay here again. The service is very good and the rooms are always immaculate. Last time we stayed here we stayed on the ground floor of the waterfront building and this year we stayed on the second floor of the same building. I would recommend the ground floor if you can get it because you walk right out of your room onto a beautifully kept lawn. On the second floor we had a nice balcony.

This truly is a beautiful place to stay with tons of fun things to do right here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tornane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed only one night and have done so for years. The grandkids loved the paddle boards, and we all loved the view. The price was right for this time of year. This area is very expensive and our courtyard room was so affordable and met all of our needs. The hot tub was near our room, flowers everywhere, and a great breakfast for a very reasonable price. We went to a play at the Big Fork theatre and as always it was great. We ate at the Show Thyme restaurant and it is an amazing place to eat, gourmet food at a reasonable price. This area of Montana is so beautiful, love Flathead Lake, Glacier Park, and Big Fork is like a small version of Carmel, Ca., but just as beautiful and so much less expensive. Great place to stay with a wide variety of room choices.

Room Tip: condos on the water are worth the expense, courtyard rooms less expensive but totally adequate, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank planetearthtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silver spring md
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed here only one night, but would have liked to have stayed longer. We had a huge room with a king bed, full kitchen, cow hide rug, and furnished patio overlooking the water. The room was very clean and comfortable. The front desk staff was friendly and efficient. There was a pool and hot tub. Boats, canoes, paddle boats were all available for rent. There was a Tiki bar, lounge, restaurant, and slot casino on premises. We enjoyed our stay and would love to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yodab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Met old friends for reunion. Signed up last, so had to splurge on large 2 bd room condo. Very new and nicely appointed. View of flathead lake Unit #19-perfect! Nice granite countertops, nice appliances, fireplace, living room, dining area, guest powder grill and washer/dryer! Town of big fork is lovely but don't miss...the short drive to Glacier National Park! Awesome! Boat ride on flathead lake is beautiful too. I agree Montana is LBP..
Last Best Place!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boymomsrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bigfork
7.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Flathead Lake Inn and Suites
13.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kalispell
16.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kalispell, MT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kalispell
Hampton Inn Kalispell
#3 of 20 in Kalispell
974 reviews
0.3 mi away
Timbers Motel
Timbers Motel
#2 of 2 in Bigfork
111 reviews
4.8 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 9 in Bigfork
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Cay Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Cay Resort and Conference Center

Property: Marina Cay Resort and Conference Center
Address: 180 Vista Ln, Bigfork, MT 59911-3666
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Bigfork
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bigfork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Cay Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina Cay Resort, located on Flathead Lake's Bigfork Bay, is a year-round resort with much to offer our guests beyond the natural beauty and adventure of Northwest Montana. Welcoming everyone from individual travelers to groups and families, we offer a variety of accommodations from standard Hotel-style Rooms and Suites to well-equipped 1 to 3 Bedroom Condominium Units. All guests of the Resort have access to our outdoor pools and hot tubs, BBQ and picnic areas, Marina with watercraft rental and gasoline services, Casino, Lounge and food and beverage outlets. In the summer, make sure to stop by the waterside Tiki Bar featuring Polynesian inspired food and all your favorite tropical drinks. Fall and winter mean sitting fireside in the Lounge and watching your favorite team. Whatever your mood, or attire, the Marina Cay has an option for you! Being located on Flathead Lake offers Marina Cay Resort guests the ultimate scenic summer playground with activities such as boating, water skiing and fishing right within reach. But many other year round activities can also be found in nearby Glacier National Park, the Bob Marshall and Swan Range Wilderness Areas, Blacktail Mountain and Whitefish Mountain. These areas of Northwest Montana are not only famous for their summer activities such as hiking, biking and river rafting, but also for excellent snowshoeing, snowmobiling and ice fishing during the winter months. Visiting us without a car? Not a problem. A short walk from Marina Cay is the village of Bigfork, a picturesque and charming place chosen as "One of the 50 Great Towns of the West" and designated as "One of the 100 Best Small Art Towns of the Nation." World class art galleries, fine restaurants, live theatre and unique shops can all be found within a quaint Western setting just outside the Resort entrance. The Marina Cay Resort is centrally located in Bigfork, Montana, perfect for experiencing all of the marvels of Northwest Montana. Our dedicated staff are committed to helping you make the most out of your stay while enjoying our Montana hospitality. The toughest part of your stay will be choosing what to do with your day! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marina Cay Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Cay Hotel Bigfork
Marina Cay Resort And Conference Center Montana/Bigfork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing