We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“anniversary trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bigfork
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bigfork Mountain Lake Lodge
Ranked #4 of 9 Bigfork B&B and Inns
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
148 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“anniversary trip”
Reviewed 6 May 2009

--very low season so we were one of only a few guests. originally given room w/ jacuzzi tub on first floor with no view-decided i'd rather have view than tub so were moved into bldg.one--there is a constant buzz from cooling units of gas station next door so we asked to be moved after one night into bldg two. absolutely beautiful room w/ separate king bedroom, fireplace deck from which to view lake.
--if you are looking for spot on views or a place on the water this is not it. the view is obstructed by trees or orientation of buildings (only 2 bldgs 2nd floor rooms have view) and you have quite a hike to actually get to the water.
--the staff when we checked in did not have a single clue about the area or things to do or suggestions on places to eat--a bit of even minor orientation is warranted by management
--both restaurants on site were good and staff very friendly

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelgalAvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rdominick, Front Office & Events Manager at Bigfork Mountain Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 7 May 2009
We would first like to thank "travelgalAvon 22" for writing a review on TripAdvisor. Reviews always help inform our future guests about our property!
There are a couple things we would like to correct with your recent review though.
First, we do have views from almost all of our rooms, not just second floor units or just two buildings. We have five buildings of rooms in a U shape with three floors of rooms in four of those buildings. The room we had upgraded you to was a Ponderosa Suite on the third floor in our third building, not the second floor, though it is only one floor up from the parking lot level. We do not advertise our hotel as being located on the water. The closest convenient lake access is Wayfarer's State Park only four miles north of our property. We appologize for the misunderstanding and any inconveniences.
As for providing information about local places to eat, it is very difficult to keep track of other restaurant's hours of operation. Some restaurants are even closed during the winter and most vary their hours depending on how busy they are. All of Bigfork's restaurant's have different hours because of the season too. We would have been more than happy to have contacted any restaurant that you may have been interested in and even made a reservation for you. As for things to do in the area, most attractions are closed until May 31st which makes attractions fairly limited during March. Again, we appologize for any inconveniences.
We hope this clarifies a few points about our property and area. Thank you again "travelgalAvon 22" for writing a review and we appreciate your compliments about our property! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    33
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
28
67
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2009

My husband and I love staying here. The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly, and the area is beautiful. The courtyard is a nice place to go for a short walk in the morning and they are pet friendly. It makes for a nice getaway that is close to home. The on-site sports pub and restaurant are convenient and have wonderful food and drinks.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhitefishMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlee, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2009

This was our second stay. We stayed last year around this time of year when they have they're winter getaway deals. This year we took along our best friend and his girlfriend for his birthday. We had adjoining rooms. We gave them the separate bedroom suite and took the smaller one to be nice. We were pleasently surprised to find a beautiful room with a king size bed. It was just as fabulous as the other room. The dinner that was included in the room price was above average. Great steaks, and the garlic mashed potatoes were the best, even the sliced carrots were great. Soup was wonderful.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mitzinmontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2009

This place has been advertising in our area a package of one night and dinner at their "Terra Steakhouse" for $145.00. We had never stayed there before and decided to give it a try. We were very pleased and impressed. Our room was spotless, had a fireplace and a jacuzzi and a beautiful view. The dinner was excellent. Their steaks are as good as I've ever had and the resturant has a fabulous view great wine and equally great atmosphere. There is also a fun sports bar and pub on the ground level. The view is over the beautiful Flathead Lake. The lodge doesn't own lake frontage aparently, which in the winter doesn't matter of course, but in the summer you would probably want to identify whatever Woods Bay had to offer and how you could also enjoy the lake. I'm quite sure the lodge could help with that too. Once we figured in that we got about $70.00 worth of dinner included in the price it really makes for a bargain at a top notch place.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtoutdoorsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2009

We were satisfied with the room. Love the jacuzzi for two. Our view was impeded by a maintenance truck the entire time. It was our first time to this location and we probably will not be back. The room was homey and with the dining package was great.
Disappointed to see the 17% gratuity added to the bill, even though we did select the dining package would have liked to make our own tip. The wait staff in the Terra steakhouse was very eager too help, took some of our food away before we were finished.

We decided to go to Riley's after dinner. Sat for 10 minutes the staff looked at us but never approached us. Very disappointing! My boyfriend will not take me to this location again because of these issues! sad!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zootowngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
my97offroad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2009

Absolutely great night for me and my wife. We stayed on a saturday night as a getaway from the kids for an evening and had a great time!

We got a value package which included a suite with jacuzzi tub and dinner for two at the Terra steakhouse located there onsite. Room was great, relaxing and quite. Dinner was excellent and the atmosphere was very relaxing and romantic.

Will deffinately stay again!

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank my97offroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2009

Spent one night for a romantic getaway. Food was excellent with a great staff. Room was very nice and the fireplace cozy. Everything was clean and well taken care of. Bed was fine. Did not use the swimming pool (winter) or exercise room. Sunday Brunch also was excellent. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank logbuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bigfork
4.1 mi away
Marina Cay Resort and Conference Center
10.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Flathead Lake Inn and Suites
0.7 mi away
Islander Inn
Islander Inn
#3 of 9 in Bigfork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Timbers Motel
Timbers Motel
#2 of 2 in Bigfork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flathead Lake Resort
Flathead Lake Resort
#6 of 9 in Bigfork
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
11.3 mi away
Coyote Bluff Estate
Coyote Bluff Estate
#1 of 2 in Somers
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bigfork Mountain Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bigfork Mountain Lake Lodge

Property: Bigfork Mountain Lake Lodge
Address: 14735 Sylvan Dr, Bigfork, MT 59911-8422
Region: United States > Montana > Bigfork
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bigfork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Lake Lodge offers 30 fireplace suites with spectacular views of Flathead Lake. Located 5 miles south of Bigfork, MT. Outdoor infinity pool and hot tub. Terra Steakhouse for breakfast, dinner, and Sunday prime rib brunch. Riley's Pub and Sports Bar - wood-fired pizza, burgers, sandwiches and microbrews. Group Events - function space available! Special winter getaway packages - available October 1st - May 31st. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bigfork Mountain Lake Hotel Bigfork
Bigfork Mountain Lake Lodge Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing