We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save your money and go elsewhere!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Billings
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Save your money and go elsewhere!”
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

I read some reviews before booking and I should have listened to my gut. The water slide is the only reason worth staying here if you have children. We were charged $1.50 per person extra yet there were people inside the pool area who used the slide without paying, no wristbands. No one was monitoring who paid and/or used the slide either. The front desk staff did very little and lacked guidance from management. One was new and called the manager when a problem with the dryer arose and the manager ignored the calls. The 2nd shift front desk lady was too busy with her boyfriend to clean the pool area of the mound of dirty towels and provide clean ones. The room was falling apart....carpet frayed, bugs flying around the sink, and a toilet that rocked from side to side when you sat down. There was a spit out piece of gum at the entrance to our building that remained evem after housekeeping left.
DON'T STAY HERE!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler8901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    204
    199
    218
    309
See reviews for
520
175
82
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bismark, North Dakota
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This hotel has a really fun waterslide and really nice courteous people. Their service is good and we had a nice restful visit. It is really convenient because it is right along highway 94 so that is good. This is right along our path on our way to Minnesota. I had oatmeal and the kids enjoyed the waffle makers for breakfast. All in all a nice stay for the night.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cchamp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheridan Wy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Our family stayed here for 2 nights. Customer service is not a strong point here. We requested a roll away in our reservation and upon arrival was told it would be an additional $20 per night, and that the slide costs $1.50 per person per day to use as well. The room was dirty, found dirty socks and flip flops near the bed, holes in the bathroom door, and the AC sounded like it was on its last leg. Our roll away was so old and wore out, that many springs were just hanging off it. The kids did have fun on the slide, which was the one thing that kept us there, though I won't stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave82801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori N, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Billings, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Guest,

I apologize that your stay with us was not pleasant. We do try to please all of our guests. I thank you for posting your comment on trip advisor so we can make some adjustments to improve to be better for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Billings hotels

1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Upon checking in the hotel the front desk matched the price from hotels . com. The beds were comfortable. The room was fairly clean but smelled like it used to be a smoking room. The kids had fun swimming with the exception of the hotel wanted to charge $1.50 for the use of the slide. We found that was a little strange to be charged extra. The breakfast was the typical continental breakfast with donuts, cereal and waffles.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori N, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Billings, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Howard Johnson. We appreciate your comment and hope the next time your in the Billings area you will come stay with us again at the Howard Johnson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We arrived after check in at two. I am 8 months pregnant and just wanted to to relax after a long drive. We got our key and went to our room to find it was not even cleaned. We walked back over to get a different room and the front desk lady acted like she wasn't concerned. We got to our second room which also was not cleaned and waited in the hallway for about 15 minutes until it was. The housekeeper and his supervisor were very nice and apologetic. While we were waiting in the hallway another guest had to inform the housekeeper that there was a leak in the ceilling of their room and they had to be moved. Our room was very small for the price we paid, but it was clean and decorated nicely. We won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsayolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori N, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Billings, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Guest,

I apologize that your stay with us was not to your expectations. I have talked to the GM regarding your issues and we have made some changes to reinsure we please our guests more often. Thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Billings hotels
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Billings
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#35 of 51 in Billings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelly Inn Billings
Kelly Inn Billings
#25 of 51 in Billings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Billings
Radisson Hotel Billings
#43 of 51 in Billings
2.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center Billings
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Homestead Park
Quality Inn Homestead Park
#23 of 51 in Billings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Billings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Billings

Property: Howard Johnson Billings
Address: 1345 Mullowney Lane, Billings, MT 59101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Billings 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to Big Sky country at our Howard Johnson Billings hotel. Conveniently located off Interstate 90, our pet-friendly Billings, MT, hotel near Billings Logan International Airport puts outdoor adventure, vibrant night life and family fun at your doorstep. Start your day off smiling with free Rise & Dine breakfast, and use free Wi-Fi Internet access to plan your trip. Unwind after a busy day in one of our hot tubs, and let loose on the wild waterslide into our heated indoor pool. If you want to stay active, get a workout in our fitness center. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Billings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Billings
Ramada Hotel Billings
Ramada Hotel Limited
Howard Johnson Billings Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing