We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trail ride” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bitter Creek Outfitters

Bitter Creek Outfitters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Bitter Creek Outfitters is a family-operated business providing scenic, guided horseback trail rides on the outskirts of Billings, Montana. We'll treat you to a leisurely trek through the Montana countryside - atop the area's distinctive rimrocks, through ponderosa pines and fields full of wildflowers, mule deer and wild turkeys. We'll show you spectacular views of five different mountain ranges and a unique perspective of the city. AGE, HEIGHT/WEIGHT RESTRICTIONS APPLY. PLEASE SEE WEBSITE FOR DETAILS. We are a full-time ranch, part-time trail riding outfit so advanced reservations are required. We do not keep our horses saddled in the corral & ready to go! If we don't answer the phone, we may be out on a ride or working so please leave a message. Season runs late April thru October, weather permitting. We schedule our starting at either 8 or 9am, 7 days/week, and avoid afternoon rides during peak summer heat but we can be flexible with your travel plans. Let us know what works best & we'll do our best to fit you in!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trail ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

This review is long overdue, but better late then never!

My friend and I made a cross country trip from the west coast to the east coast in the fall of 2012 (I selected July 2013 because that was as far back as the options were). We wanted to experience what this beautiful country had to offer.

While we were in Billings we decided to go for a trail ride. I probably found Bitter Creek Outiftters through Google and I am very happy that I did. Because we were traveling in early November there many other tourists roaming around. Out 2hr trail ride was just myself, my friend, and our guide. From the beginning I liked the guide; especially because she gave us cowgirl hats so we really felt right at home. The horses also great, though mine had a mind of his own. The horses were gorgeous and very clean. Our guide was wonderful and really knew the land. She didn't seem to mind that we kept asking her to take pictures of us. On the way back to the ranch we went a different route and we saw one of their dogs chasing a rabbit (I think it was) and that was oddly enjoyable to see some of the wildlife. The last thing we did was ride through the fenced in area where the cows were eating. It sounds simple but it was great.

Aside from the allergy attack I had the entire ride from the horses, it was a blast. She even hooked me up with some Benadryl when we got back.

My friend and I both had such a great time and I recommend this place if you're in the market for a ride on a ranch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    0
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best day out ever - thanks Therasia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

I arrived in Billings and found out that "Custer's Last Stand Re-enactment" was to take place on Friday giving me an extra day in Billings. I searched trip adviser and found Bitter Creek Outfitters. I just drove a few miles out of town to the ranch and was on a horse within minutes, without a booking. It turned out to be the best thing I have ever done - thank you Theresa.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kevxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First rate experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I arrived Billings Sunday night and sent an email to Bitter Creek Outfitters that evening asking if we could ride the next day, within 30 min. Teresa (owner of Bitter Creek) was in touch with us. Everything was ready to go for our ride the next day at 9 AM. Teresa made the ride worth ever penny. We certainly felt the service/adventure provided was well worth our time & money. Great horses were picked for us, (we are novice riders and 50ish), the views amazing, and Teresa's help and expertise a true joy. The experience of riding in the company of a young, personable, and enthusiastic cowgirl was the perfect combination. If you want to see a slice of Montana, ride with an authentic cowgirl, mount well cared for ranch horses, have the ranch dog run along the trail with you, and learn about a family cattle & horse ranch, .... Well, this is your chance.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Extremely poor customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I called on 4 different occasions over a month and left messages about booking a horseback riding party and no one ever returned my call. They last time I called, I requested a simple response of yes or no, so that I wasn't wasting my or their time. I also emailed twice and did not receive any response. Horrible customer service that makes me wonder what kind of business owners they could possibly be.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Seriously56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theresa K, Owner at Bitter Creek Outfitters, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
We sincerely apologize for not getting back to you. I'm not sure what happened but obviously we dropped the ball. As was noted in our description, we were closed for the season, but now that we are open (and the weather much more pleasant) you are more than welcome to come out to see what we are all about!

Sincerely,

Theresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Outing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Who doesn't want to go horseback riding when they are in Montana?! We found Bitter Creek Outfitters and couldn't be happier. We were able to spend an hour on the trail learning about the ranch and the local area with a great tour guide, Theresa. This was a definite highlight of the trip to Billings and I highly recommend this to anyone who is visiting town and for those who live there. The horses were all well behaved and made us feel comfortable and Theresa was engaging, interesting, friendly, and answered all of our questions. What a great experience!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 162traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bitter Creek Outfitters also viewed

 

Been to Bitter Creek Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing