We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low Class Holiday Inn Express”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Stillwater, OK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Low Class Holiday Inn Express”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2009

I travel extensively and have been a fan of Holiday Inn Express's throughout the country, however this hotel is very overpriced and has the worst staff I have ever encountered in my years of travel. Hotel was relatively clean with the exception of the elevator which had a very strong/bad oder. The hotel facilities and rooms should put this hotel in the $60 price range for the area. The hotel staff were some of the most unprofessional, unhelpful and rude I have ever encountered in all of my travels. Please do youself a favor and stay away from this hotel.

  • Liked — Good location for travelers just passing through town.
  • Disliked — Definately the staff. They were rude and very unprofessional.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ctldr81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    37
    18
    8
    9
See reviews for
34
32
3
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2009

Our air conditioner did not work. When we asked the front desk for a portable fan, they acted as if that was an extremely inappropriate request. Then, they rudely stated that none were available and that we would just have to live with the a/c being broken, and maybe we should try cracking the window. (Which I did try and then discovered that the window didn't even lock, at which point I felt extremely unsafe.)

The following morning I spoke to a different employee. The moment I politely stated that we had had a problem with the a/c last night, she started literally yelling at me to leave. Apparently her coworker had told her to watch out for the crazy guests who expected their $115 room to have ventilation.

The manager was not as rude, but equally unsympathetic to our problem and did not apologize for her staff or offer any help. The worst part was not that the air conditioner did not work, it was that the staff all acted like we were crazy to expect one.

The smell in the only elevator was strong enough to make me pass out if I had to stay on it for more than 3 floors.

The hotel was under construction - it had huge black tarps blocking the sitting area of the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SnorkelFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2008

The Hotel looks modern. But it was built with cheap materials. The tub in my room was extremely slippery with no non skid in the tub what so ever. Serious injury occured and the hotel staff did not know how to respond. They simply did not know how to respond to a medical emergency. I will not stay in a Holiday Inn Express again. Other hotels I have stayed in have a rough surface in the base of thier showers.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelingthru87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2008

Room was clean. The air conditioner was horrible!! Breakfast was good - expended continental breakfast. The hotel itself could use some good cleaning. The carpets were dirty and worn. Same with the elevator. Was disappointed there was no guest laundry. Staff was helpful. Probably would look for another hotel next stay. Stayed at another Holiday Inn express in Casper which was very nice.

  • Liked — breakfast and pool
  • Disliked — room air conditioner, not enough attention to detail
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickytraveler03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alarmin99
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2007

I flew into Billings on business trip that would take me from Billings to Helena and finally to Spokane. I stayed at Holiday Inn Express at all those locations and found this to be the best out the three. The defining difference for me was having an actual easy chair with foot stool to sit back and relax in. (The rooms I stay in are always standard with King Size bed or two doubles.) Plus out the three it was the quietest when it came to not hearing other guests and or traffic noise. Other than that all else was positively equal in the way of clean rooms, internet access, free morning breakfast and friendly staffs. I also do not want to leave out the free morning newspaper available at all locations, even though I didn't have time to read them.

  • Liked — Quiet, Easy Chair with foot stool
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank alarmin99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cass Lake, MN
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2002

The room itsel was very nice and the price was right, but there was a big-time problem with cigarette smoke. The lobby was absolutely foggy with smoke (desk clerks smoking constantly). We could have lived with that, but smoke kept getting in our "non-smoking" room on a "non-smoking" floor. At first we thought someone on our floor must have been smoking, but later discovered that the smoke was coming up the stairwell. It poured in under the door and there wasn't a thing we could do about it. We slept with the window open (Nov. 5, 2002) and froze our butts off. The hotel is near an oil refinery, so the smell coming in the window wasn't much better. It was one of the most miserable nights we have ever spent in a hotel.

Helpful?
15 Thank fifigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Billings hotels
10.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
7.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Billings
Comfort Suites Billings
#25 of 51 in Billings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
3.4 mi away
Boothill Inn & Suites
Boothill Inn & Suites
#2 of 51 in Billings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Billings
8.5 mi away
Kelly Inn Billings
Kelly Inn Billings
#27 of 51 in Billings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
8.7 mi away
Quality Inn Homestead Park
Quality Inn Homestead Park
#21 of 51 in Billings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Property: Holiday Inn Express
Address: 430 Cole St, Billings, MT 59101-6821
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Billings Hotel is a beautiful hotel located on the east side of Billings, MT. Easy access from I-90, take exit 455. We are located just West of the I-90, I94 junction.Looking to travel scenic Montana? We are an ideal stay over point to take day trips to see Yellowstone National Park, Beartooth Pass, Little Bighorn and Pompey's Pillar We have a complimentary breakfast bar, business center with high speed Internet.We are just 3 miles from the Metra Park. Forty-five minutes from Little Big Horn Battlefield, thirty minutes from Pompey's Pillar and one hour from Red Lodge ski resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Billings
Holiday Inn Billings
Billings Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Billings, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing