We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A worthwhile stop in Billings”

Western Heritage Center
Ranked #16 of 63 things to do in Billings
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Connect with your family as you share quality time exploring the many interactive exhibits at the Western Heritage Center - all year long! The many exhibits at the museum include both permanent and regularly changing galleries, and will allow for hours of educational fun for all ages. The Western Heritage Center is a regional museum whose collections, exhibits and programs tell the stories of life in the Yellowstone River Valley. Located in historic downtown Billings, the building that houses the Western Heritage Center is the former Parmly Billings Memorial Library, a Richardsonian Romanesque structure listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Accredited by the American Association of Museums and an Affiliate of the Smithsonian Institution, the Western Heritage Center provides both long term and changing exhibits with interactive components, as well as educational programs for visitors of all ages. The museum cares for over 16,000 artifacts and an extensive collection that illustrates and documents the history of the Yellowstone River Valley.
Chicago
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A worthwhile stop in Billings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We were fortunate enough to have a private dinner in the museum so we got to spend the evening with the staff and linger over the exhibits. It perfectly captures the feel and texture of eastern Montana. This part of the west evokes so many imaginings about its past and the people who came through or settled here. The museum has creative and substantive exhibits that satisfy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank aulocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    23
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntley, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

If you want a glimpse of the area and its history this is the place to go. Great staff who will bend over backwards to help you with answers to questions about their facility or recommend and direct you to other area attractions. Nothing like local people to let you know where all the little known treasures are. Something for every age group from the little ones to the seniors. They encourage your exploration with most of the exhibits being "hands-on" much to the delight of my grandkids and photography is welcomed. The building itself is wonderful - an old early 1900's sandstone "castle" type construction with the interior restored with all its wonderful architectural detail. The building is even suppose to be the "most haunted in Montana". Great time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Indigenous gap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

I finished my Native American tour and had a day left in Billings, so I thought the museum would feature Native American culture and I had heard it had a very nice portion on Cheyennes. It was not there and I was so disappointed. I'll be back late this summer and I hope the exhibit is back by then

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BoboNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cheyenne history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We went to see the Cheyenne exhibition we had heard about and it was gone which was disappointing since it was so much reviewd as if it was a permanent thing. But what they had was interesting, even though it wasn't Cheyenne. It seems like whenever there is a heritage museum or center in this area it only means white heritage, not first nations.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JamLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
300 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Not very big, but quit an interesting place at that.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

The Heritage Center is located in downtown Billings in the original library. A beautiful old sandstone building. It has a lot of Yellowstone history, their displays are small and very family friendly, we even sat in the Dude Ranch Lobby downstairs and play a couple games of checkers. There are a lot of interactive exhibits that you can sit and listen to the stories of the Yellowstone River Valley and Northern High Plains. There is a display based on Montana women at work called "A Mile in Her Shoes" this was very interesting. There are plenty of stuff on loan and donated to the center for everyone to get a little excited. Exhibit on how Billings was shaped by the railroads and also information on the Crow Indians. Go have a good time and enjoy yourself.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Western Heritage Center also viewed

 

Been to Western Heritage Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing