We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but a relaxing walk.”
Review of ZooMontana

ZooMontana
Ranked #3 of 68 things to do in Billings
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: ZooMontana is a zoological and botanical garden and educational facility dedicated to the conservation of wildlife throughout Montana and the 45th parallel of earth. ZooMontana cares for over 100 animals of 51 different species, including wolves, grizzly bear, otter, eagles, and Lynx. Located in the picturesque tourist destination of Billings, MT, ZooMontana offers visitors a unique opportunity to learn about Yellowstone ecosystem fauna through direct observation, interpretive displays, and experiential educational programs. Annually, community and educational programs serve over 12,000 students and over 100,000 visitors, most of whom hail from the northern Rockies. Led by a 16 member staff, ZooMontana enjoys strong community support through volunteerism, donations, and outreach.
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Although they've made many positive changes in the past 2-3 years, it's still too limited to call it a full zoo. Depending on the season, it's a lovely walk!

1  Thank dr o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff E, Owner at ZooMontana, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thanks for coming out and giving ZooMontana another chance! We are very proud of the progress we have made over the last 2 years. Your words are great encouragement for us! We hope you will continue to visit to see the progress. Thanks again!

Jeff Ewelt
Director
ZooMontana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 201 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2013

Wonderful small family friendly zoo. Be sure and see the bear cubs. Watch a blacksmith work if you are lucky.

1  Thank ejhahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff E, Owner at ZooMontana, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thanks for coming out to ZooMontana! We are very proud of the progress we have made over the last 2 years. Your words are great encouragement for us! We hope to see you again!

Jeff Ewelt
Director
ZooMontana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Small but worthwhile. Love to take the grandkids. We visit the animals and then play at the playground.

1  Thank KathyBigSkyCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We were with our family in Billings for business and decided to take our 10 and 8 year old to there Boo at the Zoo. My kids loved it, was a beautiful fall day as we'll. Zoo staff are very helpful and informational. For sure worth the stop!!!!

2  Thank Andy Jenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff E, General Manager at ZooMontana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for the visit! We're so happy you enjoyed your time with us. What a beautiful day it was that day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I visited this zoo today. I have never been here before, but I understand they are slowly but surely making improvements. The staff was friendly. All the animals were active when I was there, so I got to see them all. I was impressed with the Grizzly Bear enclosure. This is a decent place to spend an hour or two.

1  Thank AF_Hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff E, General Manager at ZooMontana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for your visit! We are glad you had an enjoyable experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ZooMontana also viewed

 

Been to ZooMontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing