We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better for business travel than romance”
Review of Northern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Northern Hotel
Ranked #10 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Certificate of Excellence
Montana
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Better for business travel than romance”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I had high hopes for our stay at the Northern. It was a little bit of a disappointment. While it is the perfect location for Billings (in the heart of downtown), the room was fairly small and somewhat basic in it's appointments. The bathroom was very small. While I understand that as an older building, space is limited, however I expected a bit more plush details, especially considering the room price. It is defintely geared more toward the business traveler than a couple on holiday.

We did enjoy the restaurant very much. The food was wonderful and the service pleasant. Front desk staff was adequate, however not especially welcoming. They did not offer any helpful guidance to the hotel or its features.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelermontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern_Hotel1902, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thanks for telling us about your stay TravelerMontana. Our rooms are cozier than most in town. This is because we chose to preserve the original layout of the hotel during renovation. We do offer an assortment of room sizes and would be happy to show you some of our room options for your next stay. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your dining experience with us and look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    90
    30
    14
    13
See reviews for
68
138
20
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sidney, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This hotel was extremely over-priced. We had no choice but to stay here and pay $390/night because there were no other rooms available. Although the rooms were beautiful and quiet, the tv's barely worked correctly and took us 30 minutes to fix the remote control. There were 2 bellman and neither of them opened the door when I tried to walk in with my hands full. The front desk rep. was very friendly and helpful but that isn't worth the money. On the flip-side the gift shop was top notch and should not be missed!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holle_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern_Hotel1902, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Holle_12 we appreciate your feedback. Billings did have a very busy weekend and rooms were booked across the city! We’re happy you chose to stay with us for the evening. We encourage you to direct any complaints or problems you may have had to our hotel manager by calling us at 406-867-6767 and we’d be happy to discuss the matter further and how we might correct it for you. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed our gift shop as it is a point of pride for us to offer a wide selection of locally made product!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baker, Montana, USA
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This hotel is both historic and classic, right in the heart of downtown Billings. It was allowed to degrade over the decades until two brothers dumped a boat load of money into it. It is now tastefully renovated with very comfortable furnishings in a modern/new west theme. Traveling alone, I took a single queen room, which was right-sized for me, but surprisingly small compared to other accommodations around Billings. In fact, I thought it was about the size of a New York City hotel room. A new parking garage is being built right next door, but until it's completed, the hotel offers valet parking. I parked in a city garage one block to the east across from the Crown Plaza. All in all, it was perfect for my needs... very quiet, very comfortable, very tasteful, excellent wi-fi, and great service. I love to support entrepreneurs who take a risk renovating old hotels to keep the history and culture alive, especially when they do it right.

Room Tip: The hotel manager said that her favorite room is 1012 on the top floor because it has the best views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desp76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern_Hotel1902, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
We are also pleased with our renovation Desp76 and we’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed it too! Our rooms are a bit cozier than most in town. This is because we chose to preserve the original layout of the building in restoring it to its original glory. We do offer a range of room sizes, and we would be happy to show you some of our larger rooms next time you visit! Make sure you park with our complimentary valet service next time and your vehicle will be ready and waiting for you on the curb!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntley
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

The rooms and reception are top notch. After dining at the TEN twice now, I am not impressed with the service or food. The soup was potato lee that had the consistency of glue. The waite staff tries too hard and makes diners feel nervous for them.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern_Hotel1902, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
CindyW we’re happy to hear you chose us for your stay in Billings. We’re sorry to hear that your experience in TEN was less than satisfactory. We have passed on your feedback to our Chef and restaurant managers and appreciate your candor with us. We would love the opportunity to have you back and show you how we’ve worked to improve your experience. Please call us at 406-867-6774 to make your next reservation and we’ll be sure to show you the four star experience you and we expect!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We actually live part time in Billings and needed a hotel for a few nights during a recent move. The Northern used to be a run down historic relic. Two brothers have renovated it completely and it is now spectacular. You will think you are in a big city like Denver or Seattle. Rooms are comfortable and decorated in a cool western contemporary style. The valet service is as good as it gets anywhere in the U.S. The bar "Ten" is very modern with a nice vibe to it. Try some of the good local craft brews. The place is very upscale contemporary but without any attitude. Everyone working there was just great. If in Billings and you don't want the usual chain hotel experience, spend just a very few more dollars and treat yourself to the Northern. As a local, I want to see this place thrive because it is a great addition to downtown. So do all of us here a favor (and yourself) and stay at The Northern.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdmontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern_Hotel1902, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
We can’t wait for your next visit with us JDMontana! We’re so happy you enjoyed your stay and we welcome you back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheridan, Wyoming, United States
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We overnight in Billings several times a year and decided to give the "new" Northern a try. We were skeptical that it could deliver what it promised. We were pleasantly surprised. Our "junior suite" was very comfortable and reasonably priced. What sets the Northern apart is its service. The parking valet/bellman, front desk staff, maintenance (we had a minor problem with a TV; someone was there to fix it practically before I hung up the phone!) staff in the bar, diner, etc. -- all cheerfully went above and beyond. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern_Hotel1902, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thanks Rosemary D! We were happy to have you. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed the newest version of the Northern in Billings. We hope to see you again for your future visits. Make sure you check out our website before your next trip to book a great package and make your trip even more memorable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stopped here on our way to Canada, booking this after doing research on the road. Wow. What a hotel! From the amazing lobby to one of the best hotel rooms I have ever stayed in, this place kept on surprising me! Everything was superb! The lounge and bar food were off the charts. This place in on par with the best boutique hotels in the states and we've stayed in a few. Definitely unforgettable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern_Hotel1902, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Wow Bubink what a review! We are so pleased you loved your stay with us. We hope to see you again next time you pass through Billings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Billings hotels
0.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Billings
1.9 mi away
Boothill Inn & Suites
Boothill Inn & Suites
#2 of 51 in Billings
584 reviews
5.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Billings, MT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Billings
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Kelly Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Riversage Billings Inn
Riversage Billings Inn
#13 of 51 in Billings
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Hotel

Property: Northern Hotel
Address: 19 N 28th St, Billings, MT 59101-2354
Region: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Billings
#5 Romantic Hotel in Billings
#12 Family Hotel in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Northern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a variety of rooms available for your discriminating taste. Our Classic rooms have one king bed or one or two queen beds. Suites have one or two bedrooms and either king or queen beds. Depending on your needs or preference, we have the perfect room for your next stay.Enjoy our big city accommodations and Montana small city charms, and we believe you won’t want to stay anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Hotel Billings, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing