We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Remodel”
Review of Northern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Northern Hotel
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I have actually stayed at the Northern several times over a few years. The Northern is an historic building with a great story. It has been "through the ringer", but was recently completely remodeled and reopened after several years of being closed. The remodeling results are quite sensational, and the tone of the design is consistent with a different Billings than you might be used to.

The pluses:
The lobby is nearly spectacular. Completely modern, well lit and very functional. A huge, gas fireplace with in front seating is wonderful.
There is a restaurant and bar right off the lobby (so you don't have to go outside when it is -27 degrees). It is a high quality place, well appointed, but a tiny bit pricey.
Besides the hotel restaurant, there are two topflight restaurants in the same block, both highly recommended.
The hotel location couldn't be better.

The minuses:
The rooms are nicely redone but a bit small. Not terribly comfortable to sit in.
There is no in-room coffee (in the lobby, but not in room). Definitely selling room service.
The parking is impossible unless you use valet. Getting your car takes 10 or more minutes (when the garage is done, that should change).

If you want a bit of luxury and a new opinion of what downtown Billings, MT is all about, the Northern is worth a try.

Room Tip: West side rooms higher up give you nice view of the area and great sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern_Hotel1902, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thanks mikey9 for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoy the Northern’s renovation. The room sizes were not changed during the renovation, because we chose to preserve the historic layout of the building, which is why our hotel rooms are smaller than some other hotel’s. The hotel’s parking garage should be complete this summer. Until then we encourage our hotel and restaurant guests to utilize our free valet service. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

I've stayed at the Northern regularly for the last 9 months, at first because I simply out of a desire to support a local renovation project. I stayed again last week and I really do appreciate the great service and attention of the staff, from the valets to the front desk to the cleaning staff. The beds are comfortable and the valet parking is free and low-stress. My choice of hotel when in Billings.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goncaptive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern_Hotel1902, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Goncaptive, thank you for your kind comments! We are very grateful that you have chosen to stay with us on multiple occasions! We will continue to provide great service in all aspects of our hotel, and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The Northern Hotel rivals that of any upscale hotel in a major metropolitan city. The hotel and rooms are well appointed and the service was one that went above and beyond. I wish I could’ve stayed there my entire trip. The Ten restaurant located in the Hotel is a rising star in Billings. Food and service was exceptional.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hraich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern_Hotel1902, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Hraich, thank you for your compliments! We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We also wish you could have stayed with us during your entire trip. We hope to see you during your next visit to Billings and can't wait for you to see what new menu TEN will have in store for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is a gorgeous hotel! The lobby is beautiful, staff excellent - especially Andrea who took excellent care of our group. The rooms are on the small side, but luxurious to a T. The bed was glorious, big comfortable pillows, flat screen television, lovely bathroom. Spotlessly clean. Right in the heart of Billings with access to all the towns amenities from the Alberta Bair Theater to pubs and restaurants. Fantastic diner with class food right in the hotel, and lovely bar that our group was attentively taken care of by Nicholas. You couldn't go wrong staying in this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pearllodea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern_Hotel1902, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Pearllodea we're thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to your next visit. Next time you stay with us, let us know you'd like a different view of the city and we'll find a room with another amazing view of beautiful Billings! We want each experience to be better than the last. Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The lobby is beautiful. However, restored hotel has smaller rooms. We should have been prepared for that. Not as luxurious as I wanted/expected for a "night in the big city". Close to downtown theater, can walk to Montana Ave historical district for great dinning. The bar was beautiful, good bar menu. Loved Bernie's Diner!! for breakfast.

Room Tip: Suites are not as big as you would expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank overnightadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern_Hotel1902, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us Overnightadventure! We’re glad you chose to stay with us during your time in Billings. Our rooms are a bit more cozy than other modern hotels. This is because we chose to preserve the historic layout of the building. We do offer larger suites and would be happy to show them to you the next time you’re in town. Stop by anytime and ask for a tour. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed at the Northern for two nights, and we were very impressed with the entire experience. We were there on an especially frigid and snowy weekend, and the valets were professional, welcoming, and unfazed by the horrendous weather conditions. The lobby and decor are beautiful, and we also enjoyed spending time in the bar/lounge after dinner. We are frequent travelers, and we strongly feel that the Northern is as nice as anything that we've experienced in larger cities (Boston, Denver, San Francisco, etc.). I don't think you'll find anything quite like this in Montana. It is very nice to be right downtown within walking distance of so many things, and it is in a good central location. The breakfast at Bernie's was also excellent. The standard Queen or King room is well-decorated and nicely appointed, and the designers have made very good use of the space (you will notice and appreciate this if you are accustomed to staying in classic, old city hotels). Our room was very quiet, and the bed was extremely comfortable. We loved our weekend here and will DEFINITELY return, and we will also highly recommend it to our friends and family. We found it to be an excellent choice for a cozy and romantic weekend away. Also, some very reasonable rates are available, so be sure to call and ask about specials, etc.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 7th floor facing West, and if had been clear, we would have had a beautiful view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4thofJuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern_Hotel1902, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Hey 4thofJuly we’re so happy to hear from you! We’re thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us even though the weather Billings had to offer during your stay was less than hospitable. We look forward to your return and invite you to check out another room for another spectacular view of Billings! We will be sure to pass your compliments on to our dedicated valet staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I had high hopes for our stay at the Northern. It was a little bit of a disappointment. While it is the perfect location for Billings (in the heart of downtown), the room was fairly small and somewhat basic in it's appointments. The bathroom was very small. While I understand that as an older building, space is limited, however I expected a bit more plush details, especially considering the room price. It is defintely geared more toward the business traveler than a couple on holiday.

We did enjoy the restaurant very much. The food was wonderful and the service pleasant. Front desk staff was adequate, however not especially welcoming. They did not offer any helpful guidance to the hotel or its features.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelermontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern_Hotel1902, Manager at Northern Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thanks for telling us about your stay TravelerMontana. Our rooms are cozier than most in town. This is because we chose to preserve the original layout of the hotel during renovation. We do offer an assortment of room sizes and would be happy to show you some of our room options for your next stay. We’re happy to hear you enjoyed your dining experience with us and look forward to having you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Billings hotels
1.9 mi away
Boothill Inn & Suites
Boothill Inn & Suites
#2 of 51 in Billings
609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Billings
5.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Billings, MT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
#6 of 51 in Billings
237 reviews
2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Billings, MT
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Billings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Hotel

Address: 19 N 28th St, Billings, MT 59101-2354
Region: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Billings
#5 Romantic Hotel in Billings
Price Range: £78 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Northern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a variety of rooms available for your discriminating taste. Our Classic rooms have one king bed or one or two queen beds. Suites have one or two bedrooms and either king or queen beds. Depending on your needs or preference, we have the perfect room for your next stay.Enjoy our big city accommodations and Montana small city charms, and we believe you won’t want to stay anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Hotel Billings, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing