We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for the family to stay!”
Review of Big Horn Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Big Horn Resort
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Certificate of Excellence
Missoula, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great place for the family to stay!”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The first contact I had with the Big Horn Resort was with Jackie while making my reservations. The place was booked solid but Jackie worked hard to accommodate our room needs. We had to book two different types of rooms to get the nights we wanted. This was not ideal, but we could make it work. Jackie was not satisfied and kept working for us, she was able to call us back a few hours later with good news regarding our rooms. THANK YOU JACKIE and the entire staff!
The room was large, clean, and comfortable. What more could you ask for? The breakfast area was also large, clean, comfortable, and stocked with great food. My kids are kind of picky eaters, but they were very happy with the selections.
The water park was a great place for the kids to burn off their extra energy. They had a blast!
I would definitely recommend the Big Horn to my friends and family and we will definitely be back!
Thank you Big Horn Resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishpub1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bighornresort, General Manager at Big Horn Resort, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you so much for the great comments. Our staff do work hard to accomodate our guests and they will love to hear they have met the mark. We look forward to your next visit to Billings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    74
    28
    21
    32
See reviews for
150
52
5
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We were so very pleased with the staff, they were VERY helpfull, GLAD to help and answer all you questions what ever it was. Breakfast was OFF THE CHART!!!! The room was absolutely perfect!. I didn't want to leave. THIS IS A #10 MOTEL. Best value for a motel we have had for years.

Room Tip: I cant see where there would be a bad room at this location. I only wished that we coulod have stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bighornresort, General Manager at Big Horn Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for your compliments our staff strive hard to knock it out of the box and they will be glad to here that they have done so for you. I will share you comments with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

The staff impressed me as excellent workers who cared about their jobs. From the reception to the breakfast staff, to the grounds / garden keeper, they all showed very good work performance. Clean room, good breakfast ( scrambled eggs, sausage, bagels, yogurt and more), free fast, Wi-Fi, discounted waterpark rate. Though the waterpark closed early(7pm) the day we checked in, we were tired anyway from a whole day of driving, sight seeing coming down from Yellowstone / Beartooth Highway. My son and my husband did enjoy the water park the following morning while me and my little girl waited in the lobby and I got to observe all the more how efficient and nice the staff were. Will definitely stay here again the next time we go to Yellowstone. Very good rate at $119 for a double queen room, it was a relief from the expensive room rates inside Yellowstone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bighornresort, General Manager at Big Horn Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your compliments I will share them with our staff as they love to hear when they have hit the mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Hard to find but once we found it, we really enjoyed it! They had a really nice diverse free breakfast and the nicest breakfast attendant! She arrives there at 4am in the morning and cooks these little loaves of sweet bread with nuts or fruit or little chocolate chunks. I dont remember any hotel whereas someone comes in and actually bakes fresh for the morning for your breakfast! Place must be kinda new cos' our gps couldnt find it. Close to the highway so you hop on and hop off. Typical nice size convenient store nearby for gas or extra coffee or soda refills or styrofoam cooler and ice so you dont have to go searching for Wallymart. Rooms beautiful and super clean and comfy. And if kids are running up and down the hall on the floor above you...report it and they will get it stopped. They did it for us...kid was running around 11pmish at night and we had to get it stopped as we had a 3:15 am arise time and sleep was crucial. But you gotta let the front desk know about it. However that didnt hinder a great stay at 2 different times on this trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bighornresort, General Manager at Big Horn Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you for your glowing review. We love to hear when we are doing things right and I will share this with our staff. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

My family stayed here on our vacation through Montana. I thought it was very nice. The rooms were average size but were very clean. The staff was helpful and gave us a nice rate. The breakfast was simple but was free so how can you complain! The pool was fun and we enjoyed our stay overall. A nice hotel in Billings for sure!

Room Tip: Booked directly from their website and saved a couple bucks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bighornresort, General Manager at Big Horn Resort, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for you comments. I will pass them on to our staff. We look forward to your next visit to Montana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Allis, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The hotel was average. Doors that had security signs reading locked 24 hours for your security were never locked during our stay. The water park closed early in the evening, before our 5:00 arrival. There was a hot tub available separate from the water park. Breakfast was good, even though the room was crowded.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Busylady21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bighornresort, General Manager at Big Horn Resort, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for your candid response. I apologize if we did not meet your expectations. Our signs at the door state that the doors are locked after 10pm, not 24 hours, that would be why the doors were unlocked at 5pm. Our waterpark is open until 9pm Tue-Sat and at 7pm on Sun & Mon. The only time it would be closed earlier would be if there was a lightening storm in the area. Again I apologize if we misinformed you in any way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardiner, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I stayed here for a work trip and was happy with it overall, but probably would have been a bit less so had it been leisure stay.

The hotel itself is in good condition with clean rooms and public areas, and the location was convenient to everywhere I needed to go. The staff I spoke to was nothing exceptional, but I also did not ask anything exceptional of them - they did their jobs quickly and efficiently.

The one major drawback for me was that the attached waterpark obviously draws a lot of families, and more often than ever before this means loud and rambunctious children. I completely understand children having fun, but at all hours of the day, including early morning and close to midnight to a lesser degree, there was a seemingly constant stream of them running and yelling in the halls, a few even bouncing their pool toys off the walls. At one point there was a hotel employee in the hall when a group of 3 boys came running down yelling to each other with the parents trailing behind, and the hotel employee just walked by the parents without saying a word. I completely understand that the hotel cannot control all of the guests and that hotel such as this is truly designed with families in mind, but they are also a conference center that likely draws business travelers. On two occasions there were also groups of 4-5 children under the age of 12 who did not appear to have any adults with them. I think a clear policy requiring children to be supervised and employees who are empowered to enforce it would make this hotel a more desirable location for business and non-family guests.

The complimentary breakfast was a great addition, however only a few of the items were very satisfying. We enjoyed the pastry options (and fresh cookies in the afternoon!) but the hot food left a bit to be desired - we nibbled a bit but the opted to go out for breakfast elsewhere.

Overall this is a good hotel, but definitely not ideal for couples and unfortunately not quite so for the business travelers to the conference center.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CinnamonGirlMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bighornresort, General Manager at Big Horn Resort, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thank you for your candid review. We will definitely review your comments to assist us in bettering our business. Summer has many families traveling and unfortunately that is noisier than the rest of the year. I apologize for the inconvenience for yourself and I hope you will try our facility during the off season as it is much more business comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Billings hotels
7.7 mi away
Boothill Inn & Suites
Boothill Inn & Suites
#2 of 51 in Billings
580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Billings, MT
3.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Kelly Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites Billings
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Billings West I-90
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Billings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Horn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Horn Resort

Property: Big Horn Resort
Address: 1801 Majestic Ln, Billings, MT 59102-6728 (Formerly Wingate by Wyndham Billings)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Billings
#8 Business Hotel in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Big Horn Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Horn Resort is your vacation destination with a 35,000 sq ft Indoor Water Park, trips arranged to horseback ride, tour the Big Horn Canyon by boat or the Wild Horse Range, trips to Custer's Battlefield or Yellowstone Park. We have a great vacation just waiting for you. Start your day with our one of a kind full hot breakfast buffet and end your day with a relaxing drink at our Big Horn Lounge before climbing into our custom made beds for a restful night's sleep. Truly a Montana destination awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Big Horn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Horn Hotel Billings
Big Horn Resort Billings, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing