We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center Billings
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Kent, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Great Deal”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My wife and I recently stayed two nights at the Billings Hotel and Convention Center. Everything about our experience was positive. Clean, comfortable and spacious room, friendly and helpful staff at all hours. The pool was a nice bonus, we especially loved the waterslides, something we have never seen or expected in a hotel pool.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor so no problem, others on this site have complained about no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregp52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLS7777, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center Billings, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Dear GregP52
Thank you fro taking the time to express your comments about our hotel. We do appreciate the kind words. They will be shared with the entire staff.
We hope to see you again on your next trip to Billings.
Thanks Again
Ron Spence GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    37
    21
    20
    19
See reviews for
39
21
5
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This where we stayed when we left the Lupine Inn, in Red Lodge, which was awful. We stayed in a double queen as they were sold out of standard Kings. Room was good, had a TV, refrigerator, decent bathroom. Nothing fancy, just average. Decent place to stay if you are staying overnight, and moving on the next day. Just needed a place to lay our head.

One drawback, is someone was cooking something in one of the suites and it smelled up the entire main floor.

Other things to note:
Wifi wasn't reliable
Two story motel - NO elevator! Be sure to ask for a first floor room if you have a lot of luggage.

Room Tip: Two story motel - NO elevator! Be sure to ask for a first floor room if you have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sniemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLS7777, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center Billings, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Dear Sniemi
I am sorry about the concern you had with the cooking smell during your stay. At times guests do bring food into the hotel and cook in the microwaves we have and it can cause a smell. We do all we can asking these guests to open the windows in their rooms and offer a fan to move the air out instead of in. Sometimes we cant catch all of these occurrences.
Also, we do have 24 HR bellman who are always willing to assist with taking luggage up and down the stairs.
Since your stay we have installed numerous new wifi access points within the hotel. We hope this will provide excellent internet to all guests.
Thank you again for taking the time to write this review.
Ron Spence GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheridan, Wyoming
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

In short you get what you pay for, if you want to bring your house with you when you travel, then by all means do so, this hotel for the price and the amenities, location, service, cleanliness, quietness, staff, you just can.t beat it. restaurant prices are reasonable to a bit high, but that seems to be the norm for the area, the bar is large with flat screens placed through out, easy to view. On site laundry very handy and reasonable. Yes, it's short coming is no elevator service two seconded floor, when making a reservation or checking in (ask for a 1st floor if needed) the front desk staff will do everything they can to accommodate. I have stayed at other hotels in the area, this property for the price is an excellent deal. P.S this is a large property some walking evolved. hear the pool, hot tub, water slide are great. casino too. full service gas station with in walking distance.( no repairs). my stay was for three nights, and during a wedding, no lack of great service, and oh yes, room service too. To the staff, it is hard to do what you do on a day to day bases, GREAT JOB. TO THE ROOM ATTENDENT, THANK YOU FOR ADVISEING ME OF ARTICLES I LEFT BEHIND. Not many hotels provided that level of service these day's.
my job, I travel for a living.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anchordrilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLS7777, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center Billings, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Thank you so much for the kind words. I will be sure to share your review with the staff, especially the housekeeping department.
We do hope to see you here on your next trip to Billings.
Thanks again!
Ron Spence GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls, Montana
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed there 2 nights and am disappointed. No elevators at this hotel so pack light if you get a room on the 2nd floor as you will have to carry your luggage up the stairs. And good luck finding your way around. I tried to find my way from my room to the lobby and before I know it I'm walking through the exercise "room"..or hallway and led outside to the pool area. You have to go through the pool room to get to another hallway to get to the lobby.
It's very confusing.
After a day out and ready for bed we found blood stained bedding on one and the other bed with stains on the blanket. We called the front desk and were given another room and later told the bedding hadn't been washed. Gross. While we were given the night free it was still a hassle and was as disgusting as breakfast. The food was cold, the bacon had obviously been reheated in the microwave and overall was just poor. What a waste of money.
This hotel has a bad layout and lacks in cleanliness and service.
Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlynn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLS7777, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center Billings, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Jlynn2014
I am sorry for the bad experience you had at our hotel. There is no excuse for the issues you had with the cleanliness of your room. I know you spoke to our Executive Housekeeper about the issue. She will be addressing the problem here.
Again, I am very sorry for the poor service we provided. It is not indicative of how we do business. I know your were given your room for free the first night. I do hope that you would consider giving our hotel another chance on your next trip to Billings. We will be better.
Again, my apologies.
Ron Spence GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Billings hotels

Montana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The hotel seemed clean and there were signs around asking a pardon for current renovations, so I was willing to overlook certain things. The gals at the front desk were helpful, courteous, and seemed genuinely happy to help. However, the matresses were broken down and in DIRE need of being turned. The pillows were in similar condition and didn't really even serve their purpose.

While I appreciate a clean hotel and friendly staff, it seems like the Billings Hotel is trying to keep up with newer area hotels in price alone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLS7777, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center Billings, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Dear AM.
Thank you for the review. I am sorry the mattress in your room was not up to par while you stayed with us. We are in the final stages of replacing all of our beds. I hope on your next trip top Billings you will give us another chance and have a good nights sleep.
Thanks again for the review.
Ron Spence GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I was at this hotel for 7 nights as part of a convention of about 800 women who were staying here and at Holiday Inn beside this hotel. I think that the biggest issue was that this hotel has 2 floors with no elevator. I came in a couple of days ahead of the convention start, so I had first floor room, but many who arrived a day or two later who have mobility issues were stuck with . 2nd floor rooms and that was an issue for them. Our room was clean and some updates have been made, but they need to have grab bars in the bathrooms. Also, what they did not tell us was that you needed to have the light switches on that are just inside the door if you wanted power from the electrical outlets. It took me a couple of days to discover they were associated. They did have refrigerators and microwaves in each room, which the Holiday Inn did not have, and since I was there for a week, having a refrigerator was important for me. The beds were comfortable with nice bedding. There is a small restaurant just off the lobby area and another full service restaurant on the premises as well. The staff of the hotel was somewhat overwhelmed by the number of us staying there and were easily confused, and some new employees were brought in the week that we were there. We hit the dining room and restaurant in big waves, but tried their best to seat us and get us our meals as quickly as they could. Jason in the dining area did a great job of maintaining his humor with us in spite of having to really hustle at meal times. There are 2 water slides and it looks a little dingy, due simply to the fact that it's low ceiling room with very little natural light. There's also the swimming pool and hot tub. Was too busy to check those out, but those who were in it were having fun. It's not the greatest place to stay, but not too bad either.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, be sure to ask for 1st floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Checklist3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLS7777, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center Billings, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Checklist3
Thank you for your review of our hotel after your stay with the National Catholic Daughters Convention. Your group was a wonderful assembly of ladies from around the country.
I am sorry about the confusion with the lighting. We are in the process now of installing new lighting in all guest rooms that will be less confusing. The new lamps will also allow guests to plug multiple cell phones or laptops into them to re-charge.
Our restaurant was a bit overwhelmed with the 800 ladies attending the convention. Our staff did its best to accommodate every one the best we could. We learned a lot from your group and will be ready for you should you ever elect to return to Billings in the coming years.
Thank you again for taking the time to write about your stay.
Ron Spence GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, KY
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Came to Billings with my wife for a convention of around 6-800 women. That is another whole story. The lobby and public areas are fantastic. The room we were in seemed a little "old" in that there were no readily electrical outlets that worked. The two sets of outlets in the bathroom and just outside the bathroom would shut off after a little while of use in charging our phones and had to be reset. If you didn't keep an eye on them, you wouldn't be charging. I showed this to a housekeeping supervisor and was told that all I had to do was press reset.

The most expeditious route from our first floor room to the lobby was down the hall, through the exercise area, outside to the central garden, inside through the pool and Jacuzzi area and into the lobby.

The pool had a pair of water slides available for $3/day/person. And, there were ducks in a pond in the central garden area who had no fear whatsoever of humans. While we were there 8-9 eggs hatched and we got to see the babies follow their mother all around the area.

The staff was courteous and friendly. The one breakfast we ate there left something to be desired.

The parking was fantastic. The entire hotel is surrounded by parking lot.

Overall though, we enjoyed our six night stay and would probably book again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room close to a parking lot entrance and on the first floor because there is not eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppopsilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLS7777, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center Billings, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Poppopsilver
Thanks for taking the time to write about your stay at the Billings Hotel and Convention Center. We certainly enjoyed being the host hotel for the National Catholic Daughters Convention that your wife attended.
I am very sorry your had some issues with you electrical outlets. We are in the process of installing new lamps that are equipped with multiple outlets for cell phone charging and laptop use on all the tables or desks in each room.
Our hotel is 235 rooms and it is spread out in such a way that we have a lovely courtyard with a pond and such. Being large as we are allows us to have such an ample amount of parking for everyone.
I am glad you had an opportunity to see one of the ducks that return every year hatch her ducklings. We have 5-6 such occurrences every summer.
Again, thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the hotel.
Ron Spence GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Billings hotels
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Homestead Park
Quality Inn Homestead Park
#24 of 51 in Billings
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelly Inn Billings
Kelly Inn Billings
#27 of 51 in Billings
233 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Billings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#36 of 51 in Billings
218 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Billings
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Billings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center Billings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center Billings

Property: Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center Billings
Address: 1223 Mullowney Ln, Billings, MT 59101-6301 (Formerly Billings Hotel & Convention Center)
Region: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center Billings 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take all the time you need. With the comforts of Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center Billings at hand, the hustle of life on the road can be put on hold for as long as you need to relax and recharge. Located within easy reach of Billings Logan International Airport, Interstate 90, Metrapark, and other landmarks, Red Lion Hotel & Convention Center Billings boasts all the amenities of the big city in a small one. Whether you're experiencing all the charm of Montana's capital city or taking it easy within our hotel, you'll find the relaxation you've been seeking. Indulge in classic American fare on-site, soak in a Montana sunset in the outdoor courtyard, or plan successful gatherings with the help of our skilled support staff and spacious event facilities. Featuring 19 convention and meeting rooms under one roof, there's no Montana business travel hotel with more to offer guests on the go than Red Lion Hotel & Conference Center Billings. TOP FEATURES AT OUR HOTEL IN BILLINGS -Free Wi-Fi -Complimentary Breakfast -24-Hour Business Center -Heated Indoor Pool and Hot Tub -Free Parking -Fitness Center -On-Site Laundry -Pet-Friendly Rooms -Convenient In-Room Amenities GET LOCAL AT NEARBY ATTRACTIONS With all the best of Billings just outside our doors, opportunities to find entertainment and relaxation abound. Visit a museum, take in a movie, or shop for unique finds at one of Billings' many boutiques. It's all within reach. -Yellowstone National Park -Yellowstone County Museum -Yellowstone Art Museum -Zoo Montana -Western Heritage Center -Rose Park -The Rims -Yellowstone Kelly Grave Site -Riverside Park -Custer Battlefield ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center Billings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Billings Hotel Billings
Billings Hotel And Convention Center
Red Lion Hotel And Conference Center Billings Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing