We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, decent but a bit dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Billings
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Billings
pa
Level Contributor
158 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Clean, decent but a bit dated”
Reviewed 3 August 2011

This hotel was clean. My room was maintained however the decor was early 90's. I did not visit Billings, I was just stopping here for the night. I am surprised by all the attention in previous posts to the decor. Billings did not strike me as a city where this attention to decor would be a major concern. When we visited, it was very obvious by the smell and sights that Billings is a refinery town. The vehicle of choice here and elsewhere we traveled in Montana (and Wyoming) was a dual-wheel extended cab truck. I am not trying to be snide (my family wishes we would buy one of these as our next vehicle) it just seems like more of a rural city. Perhaps we missed the nicer part of town as we came in on the interstate and traveled directly by the refinery. Of course, perhaps because this hotel calls itself "the Grand", people are justified in their criticism. I wouldn't come here for a romantic weekend.
I liked this hotel. It was average or perhaps above compared to the 15 hotels in this price range I have stayed in the past month or two. The staff was pleasant. My sons were intrigued by the hydraulic mechanism of the elevator. The large several story atrium/lobby with the rooms ringing the lobby reminded me of the inside of the Egyptian themed hotel in Vegas (sorry can't remember its name). As a priority club member, I was offered a complimentary bottle of wine and 10 matching dollars in the casino. The casino was small. Our room was in the main portion of the building and the pool was far away so we did not use it. Perhaps the rooms in the "extensions" are not maintained as well as the rooms in the main structure. The biggest drawback of the room was that the air conditioning in the room had a bit of a rattle to it. It was quieter when on high but not silent. There was also an odd half-wall between the two beds although we found it useful to place items on. There was a microwave in the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PAfamily07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    100
    155
    145
    149
See reviews for
179
104
34
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed at the "Grand Montana" on a Priority Club promotion: 5000 points for a free night. Otherwise, we likely wouldn't have picked this hotel. It is out of date and felt fairly worn. That said, we were upgraded to a room with a separate seating area, so we had plenty of space, and we had no complaints about cleanliness. We got a good night's sleep and were on our way the next morning. Overall, I'd stay here again, as long as it was on a free night promotion!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank froboy4196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Had to stay here because everything else more modern and nicer in Billings was sold out. You can tell that this use to be a "Grand" hotel, but those days have clearly passed. This is a hotel that is in desperate need of some love from the owner and Holiday Inn. It is kinda sad the owner and company let this hotel fall so badly as you can see it could be a very nice property. When you walk in the lobby is a huger open atrium, but when you look closely you see the first signs of age as the carpet and furniture where from the 80's and the big fountain in the lobby has been turned off and just looks ugly and old now.

Whoever owns this hotel needs to stop being a tightwad and open up their wallet and invest some money in upgrading this property because this could easily be one of the nicest hotels in Billings. However, if that never happens, Holiday Inn needs to pull its franchise tag from this property because it clearly is not up to standard.

I will say on the plus side, every single person who worked here was fantastic though, everyone was VERY friendly and seemed to actually enjoy their job, which you don't see at a hotel everyday and they brought the rating up from a one to a three alone.

Room Tip: Do not get a smoking room, ask to be in the main tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spokanecougar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBillings, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Billings, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Grand MT. We continue to upgrade the facility on a consistent basis. This month we have installed new 32 inch flat screens in every guest room. We just finished installing a state of the art fire system. We thank you for your positive comments regarding our staff and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, MI
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

When we opened the door to our room, we wondered what the noise was. The air conditioning unit for the whole hotel was outside our window, and was seriously noisy. We asked to be moved but were informed that the hotel was full. Staff were pleasant and room was clean, and OK apart from the noise.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBillings, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Billings, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
I thank you for commenting on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Grand MT. I apologize for the sound of the air conditioning unit outside you guest room. We appreciate your positive comments regarding our staff and hotel cleanliness. We thank you for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Billings hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
191 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

I stayed here on a business trip only become some of the newer more modern accomidations were not available. The facility is old although some upgrades have been attempted. My main concerns were: the guest laundry room is out of order; the carpet in the hallway, I stayed in room 1121, in my area of the hotel is filthy. I locked myself out of my room and had to walk in my sox to the lobby and the floor is just dirty. The hotel staff is friendly and courteous but I had to request Kleneex replacement in my room. Also, the room I had was very noisy and I notice this part of the hotel has no elevators - totally unacceptable in a modern facility.

I could go on but I won't - I recommend staying here only if nothing else is available. Hotel is just not up to code and I can't believe it still retains a franchise with Holiday Inn. They should pull their franchise.

I could go o

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bringstheeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBillings, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Billings, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Grand MT. We apologize for the inconvenience of the guest laundry being down. We had a new washing machine on order and were unable to install until it was delivered. We are excited to announce that we are in the process of installing an elevator to our 2 story section of the hotel. The project is scheduled to be complete in September of this year. I apologize for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We booked this with a Priceline "name your own price" bid (i.e., we didn't know what hotel we'd get) and wound up at this property. What a pleasant surprise! We were on a 4-week car trip through the West, changing hotels almost every night, and this was one of the 2 or 3 best hotels of our entire trip. Extremely nice place! Immaculately clean, well-appointed room, friendly staff, excellent amenities, decent restaurant with good food, and (given my ridiculously low Priceline bid that was - surprisingly - accepted), an unbelievably reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaneRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBillings, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Billings, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Thank You for your great comments. We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Falls
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

First of all, I just want to say the customer service was exceptional. However, there must have been an event in town, because our favorite places were booked. We stayed here, not as a last resort, but figured we would splurge on a place with a reputation. We were offered a queen bed, smoking for 180.00+. I normally don't have issues with smoking rooms, but apparently they have never heard of Febreze. No fridge, no microwave, which should be staples in this day and age. Vending machines were picky, either indicating "sold out" when there was clearly items there, or not accepting dollar bills (I tried three). Too much competition with better facilities to risk staying here again. Not recommended without a reservation.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MtBeckyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerBillings, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Billings, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
Thank you for your comments; we welcome any suggestions that improve the quality of our guest’s experience. We continue to make changes according to guest’s feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future and let us know how we are improving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Billings hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel and Conference Center Billings
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Billings
0.2 mi away
Kelly Inn Billings
Kelly Inn Billings
#25 of 51 in Billings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Homestead Park
Quality Inn Homestead Park
#23 of 51 in Billings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Billings
1.9 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites Billings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Billings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Billings

Property: Radisson Hotel Billings
Address: 5500 Midland Road, Billings, MT 59101-6321 (Formerly Holiday Inn - The Grand Montana Billings)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Radisson Hotel Billings 3*
Number of rooms: 317
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Hotel Billings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - The Grand Montana Billings Hotel Billings
Billings Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Billings
Radisson Hotel Billings Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing