We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all it's cracked up to be”
Review of Dude Rancher Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dude Rancher Lodge
Ranked #33 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not all it's cracked up to be”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We thought this historic hotel would be something better than a 70's decorated room with no phone or working internet service. We were not greeted warmly by the front desk staff. I will not return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinterwandererUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Thank you for taking time to mention your concerns! A 70's decorated room? Well, maybe those bright bathrooms were an 80's thing! Trust me, we're working on this! Every room has a phone - I cannot tell by your review if there was no phone or if your phone was not working. We also have a secured wireless internet network and the password is included with your key at check-in. We apologize if that was not explained to you upon arrival. It would be most helpful to know your date and time of arrival so that I might discuss this matter of unfriendliness with the Front Desk Associate who checked you in. Please feel free to call me at your convenience if you would like to share this with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    93
    60
    48
    25
See reviews for
68
80
36
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Montana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

The hotel is quite nice. No problems with things working or the housekeeping. The big problem is that they did not stick to the price of the room that was promised in the reservation. I was told it would be $69 plus tax. They charged me $76 when I checked in. I mentioned this to them but they didn't seem to care. I checked on-line and you can get a queen for $68 and a king for $71. I tried to get another room somewhere else but could not find one as there is a convention or two in town. This may even be fraud on their behalf.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rodney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Thank you for your review. We're glad that your stay was pleasant and you received the level of service that you deserve!

In response to the issue of your rate, it is quite disturbing to us that you imply fraud on our behalf. I spoke with you at length after your arrival and as I mentioned at that time, the rate you were quoting me was not in our system. When you showed me the rates you found on-line, I pointed out that the rates you were looking at were for entirely different dates and days of the week. Also, our allotment for on-line rooms at the time of your stay was sold out. But we did give you a great discount and your rate was $71.00 plus tax. You seemed happy and okay after we talked. At any rate, there seems to be a communication problem and we're sorry for any inconvenience this has caused you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Billings hotels

Maplewood, Minnesota, United States
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We were on a road trip from Minnesota to California. They were the lowest price in the area as we reached Montana. The place was older but I don't mind a vintage atmosphere. It was close by restaurants and right downtown. We got in late so we didn't have time to check around. Nice and quiet. No hassle.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maity T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duderancher, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thank you for taking a moment to post a review regarding your pleasant stay! It means so much to us that people share! So sorry you were unable to spend more time in Billings as it's a great time of year to explore the area!
MJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glacier National Park, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed here on a whim and were quite disappointed. I paid way too much to stay at this place. The location is great, you can walk to all the downtown places. It smells horrible throughout the hotel, it is very old and needs to be updated. The bed was atrocious, incredibly uncomfortable. The one positive thing that I can say is that the bathroom was immaculate...super clean and I am picky. I would not pick to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MT-JAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duderancher, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
We were so sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your stay. We strive to ensure that every guest has only the very best experience possible. We are currently in the process of updating our guest rooms and we hope that you will return at some point and allow us to provide the type of service that you expect. Thank you for your kind words regarding your bathroom. Our housekeeping department works diligently to ensure that our guestrooms are spotless! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Just traveling through from Minnesota to Idaho, stopped and was happily surprised. Tina (?) got us a room, even asked if we had AAA or AARP (too many hotels won't tell you of discounts - or make you jump through hoops to get a few bucks off). We decided to visit one of the local watering holes and were given precise directions that included "If you have any trouble getting there or back, call us and we'll direct you." Rooms were unique and clean. The excellent customer service and nice amenities - makes me give them 5 stars!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mta202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjlyonspogue, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We do take pride in the level of service that we provide and I'm glad we did not disappoint! We look forward to your next visit!

MJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Tired of the same old, boring chain motels? When in Billings, Montana, try the Dude Rancher Lodge instead. With its brick construction, bunkhouse layout and traditional, Western ranch decor, the Lodge offers a welcome respite from the cookie-cutter style of the chain motels. Located in downtown Billings, the Lodge is classy but inexpensive. The staff is friendly, and dogs are welcomed. The rooms are not fancy, but comfortable and genuine. Spend a few minutes in the large sitting room near the front desk and enjoy the craftsman-style decor with a Western ranch flair. Then eat in the Lodge's cafe, just a few steps away. The entire experience is sincere, low-key and welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rehoboth5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjlyonspogue, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to write such a lovely review of our property! We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Overall the property is in need of some cleaning. Though it is a little dated, the location in historical downtown makes it a prime property for tourism, however, who wants to stay the night breathing years of dust and dirt.
Our room, 201, had to be the hottest room...the heat was either on or off, and opening the window didn't bring much relief. We left it wide open all night in March! The bathroom is not only small, but has no fan to extract the moisture, which only compicates the bedroom heat. The room itself was certainly not made for 2 full sz beds, much less with the other bulky old furniture stuffed in there. It left barely any room to out our things!
The good...it allows pets. So if you're on a budget and traveling with Fido, this is the best of the lower end hotels that allow animals. If you can spring for better, do so...you won't be sorry about the good nights sleep you get!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sstewart10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mjlyonspogue, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you for taking time to write this review. It's my understanding that you had a lengthy conversation at check-out with our General Manager. I am so sorry we were unable to meet your expectations. If you have any other comments or concerns we would love to hear from you. Please don't hesitate to call us at 406-259-5561.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Billings hotels
0.3 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#10 of 51 in Billings
399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riversage Billings Inn
Riversage Billings Inn
#13 of 51 in Billings
253 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilltop Inn by Riversage
Hilltop Inn by Riversage
#28 of 51 in Billings
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Billings
2.4 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
#6 of 51 in Billings
213 reviews
1.9 mi away
Boothill Inn & Suites
Boothill Inn & Suites
#2 of 51 in Billings
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dude Rancher Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dude Rancher Lodge

Property: Dude Rancher Lodge
Address: 415 N 29th St, Billings, MT 59101-1245
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dude Rancher Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dude Rancher Lodge is an historic downtown Billings hotel. We are proud to be listed in the National Register of Historic Places, which is America’s official list of important properties that provide a valuable link to the past and have been deemed worthy of preservation. Built in 1949, our hotel near downtown Billings is a rustic ranch that features weeping brick mortar and full-length porches. Our interior is designed with knotty pine paneling, custom-built western-style furnishings, decorative lampshades and carpeting that is adorned with the brands of local ranchers who originally invested in the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dude Rancher Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dude Rancher Hotel Billings
Dude Rancher Lodge Billings, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing