We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dude Rancher Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dude Rancher Lodge
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Belgrade, Montana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

This place has some kind of Travelers Choice Award from Tripadvisor for 2012 sitting on the Lobby desk. This place had my husband so angry that I had to wait a day to cool down. I had a horrible night also. So DIRTY, NOISY, OLD it was truly one of the worst places I've stayed in twenty years. The heater would make a loud echoing noise every time it would come on and go off. The switch were either off or on, the fan switch had been removed. So we either were cold or woke up every twenty minutes, not that we slept at all. About One in the morning someone came into the room above us, it was like having people walking on our heads. We could hear everything. I had to get out of bed to turn the lights out, the switch was on the wall next to the door and it controlled all the lights, so pathetic. The heating unit on the wall had wires disconnected and exposed. The bath tub was a jet tub and the jets were all molded. The carpet was so dirty I couldn't walk on it without my shoes on. The Dirt, I haven't seen this much dirt and disgust in a long time. Way over Charged, $89.00, I would have stayed at the Marriott. I was just checking out how well the Hotel Impossible Makeover on the Travel Channel had done. Awful! I would say. I have Pictures!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snewbymt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duderancher, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
On behalf of the Dude Rancher Lodge, please accept my apology for your unpleasant stay.
We strive to ensure our guests experience the best visits possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time. To prove to you that we take every complaint seriously, I would like to send you an invitaiton to try us again.

I hope you will see the improvement and enjoy your time with us in your next visit. Please feel free to contact me if you have any further questions or comments concerning your stay.
Thank you

Nancy
Director of Sales & Marketing
Dude Rancher Lodge
406.259.5561
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    88
    56
    44
    22
See reviews for
66
75
35
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Trelleborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Nice staff and good location. A big plus for the free airport transport.
My room was cosy and comfortable although a bit worn down. Restaurant had very nice and caring staff, but the menu is in need of more vegetables in general (I'm a vegetarian and it was hard to find anything to eat).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duderancher, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Thank you for choosing The Dude Rancher Lodge for your recent stay in Billings. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.

It is very important for us that our guests' experiences are shared.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your collaboration and we hope to see you again soon at The Dude Rancher Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012

We unexpectedly had to spend a night in Billings. While driving around downtown looking for a hotel, we saw the Dude Rancher Lodge. The exterior drew us in. The name intrigued us. After stepping foot into the lobby, we knew we HAD to stay here! What a pleasant surprise. The staff was friendly & accomodating. The decor was like stepping into the past...like a dude ranch lodge in downtown! :) The rate was affordable. Accomodations were clean & a throwback to simpler times. Didn't get a chance to dine in the cafe but it looked cool. The location was great because we could explore downtown on foot, eat dinner & have drinks & walk back to the lodge. No vehicle needed! Highly recommend staying here if you're looking for unique accomodations.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SweetHopfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duderancher, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Dude Rancher Logde for your recent stay in Billings, we proud ourselves on the western theme. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to write as our guests' satisfaction is our main priority. The staff here at the Dude Rancher is amazing and we enjoy hearing wonderful comments about them..

It was a pleasure to have you as our guests.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE Alaska
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012 via mobile

Cowboy up at the Dude Rancher Lodge. Loved the atmosphere. Their custom branded carpet is priceless. The location can't be beat, central down town Billings a short walk to resturants and attractions. Clean rooms at an affordable price what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clarencestrait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duderancher, Director of Sales at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Thank you for choosing the Dude Rancher Lodge for your recent stay in Billings. I was delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed in one of twelve newly remodeled rooms. Clean, bright, excellent. The facility itself is need of a upgrade, but the new room was great. Breakfast at the attached cafe was good. Front desk people were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get the remodeled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bozone7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duderancher, General Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Thank you so much for posting such a nice review! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appomattox, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

First, we had a hard time finding the motel due to all the one way streets in Billings. It is located downtown and quite a ways from restaurants and Cabelas but is very convenient to the airport if you have an early flight like we did. The rooms are way too small for two beds and the carpet in our room was beyond dirty. The decor is old, worn and dated. The chair looked like it was taken from the dump. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely not stay here again and pay more for a nicer place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank egnem2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duderancher, General Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Thank you so much for posting this review. We're sorry we were not up to your expectations. It would be most helpful to know your room number. We are currently remodeling and updating our rooms but the fact that you did not feel your room was clean is a concern for us that we would like to address with housekeeping.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Billings hotels

Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

I gave the Dude Rancher Lodge a rating of Excellent due to the high quality of service we received and the price for the room. We arrived at 7:00 PM hungry and tired thinking that we had made reservations via one of the on line sites, but we were not in their system. Even before my husband could find the receipt they met the price that we told them we had booked it at even though it was the last room of that size available. They had other customers who came in soon after us requesting the room, who would have had to pay more than what we did, but they honored our word and gave us the room. To me this is HUGE! We have two kids and to have to put them back in the car at that point and try to find something else would not have been fun. The room was clean, the furnishings were a bit warn, the rooms on the smaller side but again good for the price we payed. The only real complaint was that the air conditioning did not work as well as we would have liked. We enjoyed the rope hand rails on the stairs and it definitely had a Ranch/Bunkhouse theme which my two kids enjoyed! Unfortunately for us their restaurant was the only one close that was still open, and we would have done better ordering pizza in. It was very disappointing. Needless to say we got up the next morning and drove down the road a bit for breakfast. The location was right down town on big streets, and a good distance off of the freeway. Even with the location being not so good, we will keep the Dude ranch in mind and stop there again if we are due to hit Billings in the evenings on our trek across Montana next summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duderancher, General Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to post this review! We're glad that, for the most part, you were very happy! It would be most helpful for us to know why you were not happy with the restaurant, as we are very well known for our great food! Wish you would have tried the breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Billings hotels
0.3 mi away
Riversage Billings Inn
Riversage Billings Inn
#20 of 51 in Billings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilltop Inn by Riversage
Hilltop Inn by Riversage
#27 of 51 in Billings
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Billings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#8 of 51 in Billings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
#5 of 51 in Billings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Billings
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dude Rancher Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dude Rancher Lodge

Property: Dude Rancher Lodge
Address: 415 North 29th Street, Billings, MT 59101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dude Rancher Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dude Rancher Lodge is an historic downtown Billings hotel. We are proud to be listed in the National Register of Historic Places, which is America’s official list of important properties that provide a valuable link to the past and have been deemed worthy of preservation. Built in 1949, our hotel near downtown Billings is a rustic ranch that features weeping brick mortar and full-length porches. Our interior is designed with knotty pine paneling, custom-built western-style furnishings, decorative lampshades and carpeting that is adorned with the brands of local ranchers who originally invested in the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and TravelClick so you can book your Dude Rancher Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dude Rancher Hotel Billings
Dude Rancher Lodge Billings, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing