We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely awful”
Review of Dude Rancher Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dude Rancher Lodge
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Billings
A TripAdvisor Member
Vancouver, BC, Canada
15
Reviewed 24 June 2006

May have been great at some time in the past but has serious problems now. Had confirmed reservations and arrived too late and tired to look elsewhere so stayed but shouldn't have. Dirty carpets, TV that was at least 20 years old and on it's last gasp, very uncomfortable mattress, very tired/ragged/stratched decor and I must'nt forget a broken lock on the exterior door that we had to secure with the table. In serious need of a renovation - looks like the last time it was done was in the 60's. The restaurant seems to be popular with the locals but the food while not terrible wasn't great - stirfry was the frozen variety although they added fresh chicken. Left at 5:30 AM the next morning.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2006

OK the location is good and the price is low, they'll send a cab to pick you up no-charge at the airport; but I wouldn't come back.
It was stuffy and warm in the room, but the windows don't open and the AC doesn't go on until late Spring.
The internet connection was down for one day. They "were having some problems" with their new wireless connections.
No hair dryer in the room and I got the last loaner in a fairly empty motel.
Sorry, because they are nice people.

Stayed: April 2006
Thank passtravelerdmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2004

An extremely clean and well-kept property, the Dude Rancher has an outstanding location near downtown. Certainly not a cookie-cutter chain motel, the carpet throughout has a cattle brand pattern. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable. The lodge hasn't been fully remodeled in a while (orange bathroom counter with canary yellow sink) but has been so well-kept that this is not an issue. If you are looking for a comfortable and unique place to stay in Billings--the Dude Rancher is where you will want to stay.

7  Thank Zipperiffic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2004

Last Fall I was at Billings and we booked the Dude Rancher Lodge. It was GREAT. Mostly I liked it because they have a restaurant at the hotel (try the coconut cream pie, I COULD KILL FOR THAT!), the library with internet access is next door, they are really friendly and helped us with everything we asked for. The whole place is decorated in western style and it's within walking distance to great stores and the museum. So, even when you don't have a car, it's easy to do a lot of things. Can't wait to be back!

12  Thank BerlinCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Birmingham, Alabama
17
Reviewed 17 April 2003

A really nice motel at a good price. The Dude Rancher was super clean and the employees were as friendly and helpful as they could be. It's an older place furnished like, well, a dude ranch. The restaurant next door has a great breakfast. I've stayed at a few different places in Billings but it'll be the Dude Rancher for me from now on.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Danny_voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Katharina_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
duderancher, Manager at Dude Rancher Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Billings hotels
2.4 mi away
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
Ledgestone Hotel Billings
#7 of 51 in Billings
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#11 of 51 in Billings
421 reviews
2.4 mi away
My Place Hotel-Billings, MT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilltop Inn by Riversage
Hilltop Inn by Riversage
#28 of 51 in Billings
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Billings
2.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Billings - West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dude Rancher Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dude Rancher Lodge

Address: 415 N 29th St, Billings, MT 59101-1245
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Billings
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 51 Hotels in Billings
Price Range: £56 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dude Rancher Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dude Rancher Lodge is an historic downtown Billings hotel. We are proud to be listed in the National Register of Historic Places, which is America’s official list of important properties that provide a valuable link to the past and have been deemed worthy of preservation. Built in 1949, our hotel near downtown Billings is a rustic ranch that features weeping brick mortar and full-length porches. Our interior is designed with knotty pine paneling, custom-built western-style furnishings, decorative lampshades and carpeting that is adorned with the brands of local ranchers who originally invested in the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dude Rancher Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dude Rancher Hotel Billings
Dude Rancher Lodge Billings, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing