We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beignets only on Sunday???”
Review of Cafe Zydeco

Cafe Zydeco
Ranked #57 of 236 Restaurants in Bozeman
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
St. George, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
433 reviews
414 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“beignets only on Sunday???”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

wife wanted beignets so we waited in line to order only to be told that they only make them on Sunday. She opted for bread pudding. Is was as good as one would find in most cafes in the south and the whiskey sauce was tasty. I had shrimp and grits. I had made them for dinner 2 nights prior and wanted to see how they were prepared here. The grits more resembled fried polenta than the cheese grits I am used to. The sauce was very good and very cajun. Most people think shrimp and grits are cajun but they are the official state dish of South Carolina and found everywhere throughout the south. There are many interpretations of the dish. The shrimp were lightly breaded and fried. This is a little unusual but they were cooked properly. All in all I would give them a favorable rating especially compared to the other food we have found in Bozeman. I would recommend this place and I will eat here again before leaving Bozeman.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eremitic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    33
    6
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level 6 Contributor
604 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Good food and portions ”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Went here based in other reviews. Were not disappointed. The food was good and the portions were generous. Only lost a star because they were out of multiple menu items on the day we were there.

Helpful?
Thank MileHighJacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
1 review
“Delicious every time”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

It's one of those places that you don't have to have the same thing every time because mostly everything on the menu is so good that it's always rewarding when I order something new! Maybe a little pricey, but worth it in the end! Love this place :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 406deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
458 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Average Meal”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

I had the BBQ po boy with pork. Overall it wasn't bad but by the time I received my meal the bread on the sandwich was all soggy. The place was busy for lunch though, so maybe other people have had better luck with their food.

Helpful?
1 Thank 406Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Constant craving! and Sunday breakfast!”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

What a delight! The menu is extensive, and I'm slowly working my way through the whole thing. So far, everything I've had here is very delicious. My current favorite is the Shrimp and Grits. I just can't get enough of that! So good.

If you've tried going out for breakfast in Bozeman on Sunday morning, you know it's always a wait anyplace downtown. That's why I was thrilled to find out that Zydeco is open for breakfast on Sundays... and not only that, but I could have crawfish etoufee omelet, beignet and coffee in this really lovely setting. This is my new absolute must go-to Sunday morning spot. I recommend that in addition to your breakfast order, you request a takeout po boy or entree for later.

Lots of reviewers here have commented that they miss the old location. I for one LOVE the new location. The south-facing sunny window tables here are so much more to my liking than the old, dark venue. I just feel happy here!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wundersmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Zydeco also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Zydeco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing