We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but disappointing service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ted's Montana Grill

Ted's Montana Grill
Ranked #5 of 234 Restaurants in Bozeman
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ted's Montana Grill serves time-honored American favorites in an atmosphere inspired by the hospitality, food and spirit of the Old West. Our mission is to give guests a fresh, authentic and original experience with every visit. Ted's Montana Grill's made-from-scratch menu is known for our premium hand-cut steaks and gourmet burgers. The menu also offers a variety of time-honored favorites such as crab cakes, cedar plank salmon, daily soups, seasonal vegetables, and house-made desserts. Open for Lunch and Dinner daily.
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food but disappointing service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We were looking forward to trying Ted's because we had heard about it from friends. We were a bit disappointed from the outset - we had had reservations for more than a week, but we were seated at a table right by the kitchen. It was noisy and had high traffic. We asked to be moved, and were told no, even though the place wasn't anywhere near full yet. That kind of put a damper on the whole experience. We ordered the bison meatloaf, the bison stew, and the roasted chicken. Both bison dishes were very good - the meat was well-seasoned and the stew was very tender. Good mashed potatoes too. The green beans were mushy and lacked flavor. The chicken was also bland. Wine selection is rather limited. The menu is varied so you can find a dish within your budget. But, based on the service, I don't know that I would go there again. I don't believe Ted's lives up to all the hype.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank quiettraveler783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    250
    115
    41
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

This place has great food and great service. The burgers are amazing, and cooked to order. The mood is nice and friendly, but also business-type could fit. The only thing is that the main dining room gets noisy when there are a large number of people in there, but the booths do a good job of blocking out most of the sound.

Helpful?
Thank travler488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Alright, but a little pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Hubby and I went to dinner here. Atmosphere seemed pretty good, it was about 5:30pm and saw many people there for happy hour. Since bison is a big thing, we figured we would try it. They start you off with some pickled cucumber, very salt for our taste. Husband had the Kansas City Strip, very tender and flavorful that came with mashed potatoes and green beans. He really enjoyed it, I had the Braised bison short ribs, meat just fell of the bone when I put my fork to it. My dish also came with the same sides. We were both really stuffed but had room to share a dessert, we ordered the "Apple Pecan Crisp" which was a lot bigger than we were expecting, it was like a big soup bowl of crisp. We had to take the rest back to our room, delicious but oh so big. We had two sodas, both our meals, and one dessert and was around $75 before tip. Food was good, decent portion, just a little on the pricey side.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ixta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

My family went to Ted's last night for turkey dinner, which is only available on Sundays. The turkey dinner was sold out for the night, so we picked chicken, salmon, salads, burgers and crab cakes. Some of our sides included green beans and mashed potatoes, which were both cold. Our waitress was friendly, but I was disappointed in the food. Not sure if I'll return.

Helpful?
Thank LocalLadyMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“true Montana dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We were very impressed with the quality of food here and the friendly service! It was very rustic and fun!!! Absolutely loved it here!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ted's Montana Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing