We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ted's Montana grill was a thrill!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ted's Montana Grill

Ted's Montana Grill
Ranked #6 of 234 Restaurants in Bozeman
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ted's Montana Grill serves time-honored American favorites in an atmosphere inspired by the hospitality, food and spirit of the Old West. Our mission is to give guests a fresh, authentic and original experience with every visit. Ted's Montana Grill's made-from-scratch menu is known for our premium hand-cut steaks and gourmet burgers. The menu also offers a variety of time-honored favorites such as crab cakes, cedar plank salmon, daily soups, seasonal vegetables, and house-made desserts. Open for Lunch and Dinner daily.
CHARLOTTE
Level Contributor
117 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Ted's Montana grill was a thrill!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

For some reason the vast supply of trout is not served in many restaurants in Bozeman, a meat city. I was bored with eating meat and dined on mountain trout at this restaurant, a big treat after so many meat meals. The trout was cooked to my liking and served with two sides. The beer and wine selection was good yet I can't remember the name of my chardonnay. Service was prompt and polite without being overbearing. I recommend this restaurant for non-meat dining when you find yourself craving fish.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TARHEEL37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    250
    116
    41
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
184 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Bison was terrific”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I've never had a bison burger before, so I had to try it. I was afraid it would be gamely or tough as I've heard it can be. It was easily the best burger I've ever had. Melt in your mouth, tasty and great flavor. The #11 was very good. The house salad was disappointing - way over dressed. If you don't like your salad soppy, make sure to ask for dressing on the side.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The service made up for the kitchen”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

With the positive reviews everywhere, we went in with some high expectations in Feb. The server was outstanding. The kitchen must have been having a communication problem. First we ordered the prime rib only to find out that they were out, then ordered steaks with sweet potatoes, then found they were out of sweet potatoes. Switched to baked, and they came up one short on the potatoes. One steak was ordered medium well, and came to the table very rare.

The problem though was handled very well, both by the server and the manager. I would say that during the problem I thought I may never return. But by the time we left, due to the service, we were happy. I will give it another try.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Consistently good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Pleasant decor, good service and consistently good simple food. Their specialty is bison in various forms. Absolutely outstanding burgers and a wide variety of burger offerings. Really good bar. You can't go wrong!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marvin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
146 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Really enjoyed dinner here. The restaurant is located in a beautiful building also housing a delicious chocolate shop. The atmosphere is western and attractive. I had bison short ribs with mashed potatoes. The bison was delicious as was the gravy and potatoes. It was tender and flavorful. My dinner mates enjoyed their food as well. Several at our table got the apple caramel cobbler with ice cream. It was served in an enormous bowl and it was delicious. We could not finish it all. I would recommend sharing this dessert.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PittsburghBambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ted's Montana Grill also viewed

 

Been to Ted's Montana Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing