We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Under Repair, don't waste your money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Bozeman
Reviewed 18 August 2008

The staff was cheerful. That was good. The good stops there. The place is still under constuction, but when I called to make reservations, they did not mention it. After we got settled into our very outdated room, I asked for directions to the pool. Only then was I told that the pool was closed for repairs, as was the lounge and resturant. I told the clerk that I had planned the weekend around playing in the pool for the evening. The clerk only shrugged, and said sorry. I mentioned that it isn't mentioned on the internet site that there is constuction. She did not reply.
The hot tub was nice enough, and we used it for a while. The pool table is in disrepair. The exercise room is spread through 3 different rooms, and all of the rooms that I saw were in disrepair, with peeling wallpaper, broken picture glass or mirrors, or pieced together carpet.
The room had a cracked sink, but it didn't leak. The enterance locked only after fiddling withthe lock, but the curtain would not stay closed over the sliding glass front wall. We used the chair to keep it closed. The flocked wall paper is peeling, but the beds and linens, bathroom were clean.
I don't usually worry about outdated rooms. I have issues with advertising a pool, dining room and lounge/casino that didn't exist. They are closed for repair.
I only wish I had read the comment earlier, before I had rented the room. I would have never stayed.

Stayed: August 2008
3  Thank MontanaJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
There are newer reviews for The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2007

We booked this motel only because of some last-minute mixup (our fault) about the date of the Montana State University graduation ceremony, and this was the only motel with rooms available. Now I see why. I had not seen flocked wallpaper in decades until we stayed here, and it's as ugly as I remember it. The only entrance to the room was a sliding glass door which didn't close properly, and the room itself was rather dingy. The too-loud Muzak seemed to play mostly Sinatra.

On the bright side, our family got some good laughs out of all the anachronisms, and the motel was definitely not like all the Super 8, Motel 6, etc. sterile motels. L&C was in the middle of a remodel, so maybe it's better now. Still, I have no desire to stay here ever again.

  • Stayed: May 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MT_Travel_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2006

This property isn't even worth the time it takes to write a review. But hopefully this will save a few consumers & maybe management will buy a cyber-clue and take some of my $100 and invest it back into the property...The only access to my room was through a sliding glass door, with curtains that closed about 95%, and a door lock that had to be turned 3 times before it engaged. After picking my bed, I tried the tv remote which didn't work, so a polite young lady quickly came to program another one--this was the only good thing that happened. After a little tube time I was ready for a shower so I headed to the back of my room to prep my clothes and grooming supplies. I then noticed a hole in the wall, cracks in the wall and ceiling, and a big round stain on the ceiling. Heading into the bathroom, there was one bar of soap and no shampoo. Luckily, I bring my own... While taking my shower, I couldn't help but notice the dark yellow stains all over the ceiling, and the stained retirement-ready shower curtain. Drying off w/the bleach white towels helped, but the place still looked and felt dirty. After settling into the comfortable bed (ok 2 good things), I called the front desk for a 5am wake up call and nodded off to sleep. Upon waking at 7:30 sharp, I strolled down to the office where I was told I should have set my own alarm. Had I been on business, this would have been a major issue. Instead, I laughed off the irresponsible insult and told myself I'd send out my own cyber-clues!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank 4hire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2005

Decent price and great location but even in our "updated room" the non-light blocking curtains resulted in waking up at sunrise and needing to improvise with bedspreads. The door lock was marginal and the housekeeping staff did not make sure the door was locked when they left. The motel-wide Muzak was clearly audible in the room and we had no control over the speaker right outside the room door. The motel was in the middle of a remodel and we did not appreciate the power saws and hammering between 9 and 12 p.m. If the town hadn't been full up with tourists on a holiday weekend, we would have been out of this place immediately.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CrawfordII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Spokane, Wa
17
Reviewed 6 April 2005

This place is old and expensive, the odor of musk and dirt permeates throughout the motel. The little plastic pond in the lobby had mold in it and my kids would have gotten sick if the touched it. I would take my money to another motel to spend on a newer motel.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LenaUppsala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCMotels, Owner at The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank StephanBxl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bozeman hotels
0.4 mi away
The LARK Bozeman
The LARK Bozeman
#1 of 31 in Bozeman
629 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal 7 Budget Inn
Royal 7 Budget Inn
#24 of 31 in Bozeman
159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Element Bozeman
Element Bozeman
#7 of 31 in Bozeman
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
MountainView Lodge & Suites
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#21 of 31 in Bozeman
202 reviews
1.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bozeman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman

Address: 824 W Main St, Bozeman, MT 59715-3359
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Bozeman
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Bozeman
Price Range: £59 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lewis & Clark Motel of Bozeman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lewis And Clark Hotel Bozeman
The Lewis & Clark Motel Of Bozeman Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing