We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love dinosaurs”

Museum of the Rockies
Ranked #1 of 62 things to do in Bozeman
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Museum of the Rockies at Montana State University is a Smithsonian Affiliate, recognized as one of the world's finest research and history museums. It is renowned for displaying an extensive collection of dinosaur fossils, including a T. rex skeleton! MOR delights visitors with changing exhibits from around the world, permanent indoor and outdoor regional history exhibits, planetarium shows, educational programs, insightful lectures, benefit events, and a museum store.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“If you love dinosaurs”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Very nice museum with a heavy focus on dinosaurs and fossills. Well worth the trip. Easily located a few miles from downtown on the university campus.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sanjuanfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    869
    279
    64
    7
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alta
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Museum.”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We are members and always enjoy our visits. The exhibits and planetarium are first rate and well worth the admission fee if one is not a member.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“World class museum”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This museum tells you about everyone who went on the digs. If you need motivation to go to Montana State U this is it. Also if you love dinosaurs this museum has the most I have ever seen on display and that most of them were discovered right there in Montana.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth It”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I have been a member since my kids were tots and now that they are teenagers, they still love going to MOR. The gift store is a must stop and the exhibits are remarkable. Definitely worth the trip!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Molly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Our family loves to visit museums when we travel-and we have learned that our own Museum of the Rockies is one of the better small town museums out there.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 776Melissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of the Rockies also viewed

 

Been to Museum of the Rockies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing