We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A make-over” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Starky's Authentic Americana

Starky's Authentic Americana
Ranked #11 of 234 Restaurants in Bozeman
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: At Starky's, you'll find the handmade foods you crave that nourish and satisfy body and soul, the community connection that energizes, and the appreciation of our staff for your visit. Visit us in Historic Downtown Bozeman for lunch, happy hour, and dinner or come enjoy an ice cold beer or glass of wine on our large outdoor patio! Vegan and Vegetarian menu items are available daily.Thanks for being here... eat, drink, gather, at Starky's.
Bozeman
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A make-over”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

For several years, Starky's was the place in Bozeman for good authentic delicatessen. Then, because of an unfortunate accident, it was forced to close for a long time. The restaurant has re-opened in a new location and with a new contemporary decor. They used to serve breakfast and lunch. Now, it's lunch and dinner. We heard they had a new chef, so we thought we'd try it. The greeter and servers were very casual Bozeman, while the food was more upscale, almost Japanese kiseki-like. The service was reasonably prompt; our waitress, friendly, and the quality, excellent. The portions were small, though well-presented. I had the scallops; my wife, the duck. The bread consisted of a standard-size onion baguette, to be dipped in olive oil. Our wine, a Riesling, came in a glass, but not a wine-glass, was a bit more than half the amount I would hope for, and of average quality. Our desserts were a cinnamon peach cobbler and a chocolate mousse, both very good.
My opinion: I think they're on the right track, only be a bit more generous and serve a small, warm home made bread instead of that roll.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BozemanDick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    87
    29
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Level Contributor
168 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Starky's presents excellent food and service, just off of Main St. in downtown Bozeman. The calamari appetizers are great. Last night, I ate most of the large serving of Jambalaya, and it was very good. In warmer weather, they serve outside.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank surfonmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalispell
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Satisfying food, good service, busy and noisy place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Seated promptly at 12:30 a.m. on a Sunday, filled up after we arrived. Service was fast, efficient and friendly. The pastrami Reuben was delicious as was the hamburger with grilled onions. Both a substantial amount of food for the price. Food arrived very quickly. We were on our way out of town, so ate and left, very satisfied. Would definitely go back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy7227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"best dinner in valley"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

As a long time lunch patron my wife and I decided to try Dinner. New chef, new menu, and after
eating out at just about all restaurants in town we were up for something different. OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!
My wife and I enjoyed the finest dinner we have ever experienced in the valley. I admit I had some tepid thoughts; after all who wants to go to dinner at your favorite lunch spot.
I had the tenderloin with medara maple sauce. It was the best piece of meat I have ever had in
Montana, my wife had the polenta dish. Service was the usual, excellent, and the food came out in a timely manner.
This will be the restaurant we bring guests for dinner when they visit. Honestly, the tenderloin
was so damn good I wanted to go back the next night but my wife put a stop to that because she
wants me to control my red meat intake. Another crazy thing, I am the type of guy that usually doesn't want my meat messed with (no peppercorn sauce, no seasoning, etc) but that maple sauce over the tenderloin was incredible.

Steve

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody, Wyoming
Level Contributor
79 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food and service - best Ruben”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Traveling through Bozeman we stopped in for lunch. There was a good menu and lots of local micro-brews on tap. The waitress said they had the best Ruben's anywhere. Being a Ruben fan I had the pastrami Ruben and my husband had the corned beef. They were so good we couldn't pick a favorite. Will stop at Starky's anytime we are near Bozeman.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wyoming11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Starky's Authentic Americana also viewed

 

Been to Starky's Authentic Americana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing