We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Emerson is great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emerson Grill

Emerson Grill
Ranked #38 of 234 Restaurants in Bozeman
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fabulous Food. Reallly good wine list. A local told me about it when we were looking at universities for son. Hope my son choses MSU!
Montana
Level Contributor
168 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Emerson is great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Emerson Grill, a block or so south of Main St. Bozeman, and perhaps a bit hard to find, serves excellent meals. Better parking than on Main St. I had a great dinner last night--breads, house salad, wine, and salmon, Excellent food and service. We (12) ate in a private room a bit down the hallway from the main restaurant. It was very quiet, which I appreciated.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank surfonmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    35
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
92 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Love coming here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

The Emerson Grill occupies one corner of an old school building, both inside and, in the summer, out. The menu is not extensive, but there is always something interesting as a special, so we dine here a fair amount. The most recent visit was with out of town guests. Great experience, as always. Starting with the choice of wines, gracious assistance, and an offer of tastes. That settled we ordered the calamari to eat while making up our minds for the main course. This calamari is grilled, with a varying amount of chili, but it is always delicious, as it was this time. The risotto special sounded so awesome that all four of us decided to order it. No regrets either, the risotto's here are always lovely.
The wait staff is very professional, the food always well executed, a meal here is a sure thing.
The only negative is the space between the two-top tables, however, when making a reservation you can specify you'd like a booth!
The outside space is under a huge old tree, and, although casual, also a good choice in summer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Montana
Level Contributor
686 reviews
477 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Always a treat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

One of our favorite restaurants because of conststancy in food and service.
There are always great choices here. We had the Fish special and Carbanara. We started
with a grape and gorganzola mixed salad.
Our meal was prepared well, our server Steven was very informed and relaid all the specials to us prior to ordering.
The Emerson Grill is located in an old buildingl called The Emerson which has been converted into a variety of galleries, frame shop, classrooms,and a small theater. Walking in and around the building you really get a sense of the history. The wood floors are a nice change from concreat or tile.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffreyshapiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fun Night and Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

On our first night in Bozeman, we were taken to this restaurant by our good friends who had recently moved to town. They are world travelers who have unusually refined culinary tastes. Obviously we we anxious to sample the Montana food scene.

The physical space is a repurposed school building also containing a community arts center.

We were certainly not disappointed! Beginning with the pizza appetizer, through the caprese salad and continuing to the pasta main course, each was better than the last! The evening was furthered enhanced by Megan the sommelier. She was especially well informed about the wine list and enjoyed trading wine stories with our party.

A hidden treasure in a really neat town!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody, Wyoming
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

What a wonderful experience we had dining at the Emerson Grill. We were celebrating my daughter's 15th birthday, and chose the Grill for her special dinner. The menu was small, but wonderful. My daughter ordered the artisan pizza. It was a home run. I ordered the fresh fish. Loved it! We were both in heaven. The atmosphere is very sweet, the staff extremely friendly and professional. The attire is anything from casual to dressy - you pick what's most comfortable - you'll fit right in. I will definitely make the Emerson Grill a regular stop when in Bozeman. Thanks for a very special evening, Emerson Grill!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bella1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Emerson Grill also viewed

 

Been to Emerson Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing