We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Time Ever!”

Montana Grizzly Encounter
Ranked #5 of 61 things to do in Bozeman
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Montana Grizzly Encounter is a grizzly bear rescue and educational sanctuary.
Niagara Falls, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Time Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

This was our first visit but not our last.We had a great time visiting with the bears.We are animal lovers and we loved watching the animals play and interact with each other! Bill was very informative and it was obvious how much he cares for the bears. He was like a proud dad talking about his children.We also appreciate all of the information he gave us about hiking in bear country.We totally enjoyed our visit! We couldn,t stop smiling! Be warned...a couple of days after this we visited the Grizzly Wolf Discovery Center outside of Yellowstone.Their bears came out,got their snacks,and just laid there.They didn,t play or interact with each other at all.We left feeling sad for them.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    80
    35
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brutus and his friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

This was not what I was expecting, but I'm not sure what I was even expecting. The area that the bears are in is very small, but they seem to like walking around and looking at everyone. It was definitely clean and well maintained. I just thought it would be a lot larger of an area for the bears to mingle around. You have to come at different times of the day, because only a couple of bears are out at a time, so if you want to see a specific bear (like my husband did) you have to come back when they are out. The admission is good for 2 days, so that is a great plus.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank debra k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toluca Lake, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Go for the good cause, not for the "encounter"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

How can you turn down the opportunity to have an "encounter" with a grizzly while in MT? Well, I had to check it out and it was a little underwhelming.

The great thing is that this place is a rescue center of sorts, taking in bears that were abused or abandoned. The drawback is that while they have several bears, most don't get along with one another. The result is that one or maybe two bears at a time in this pen area that resembles the "natural" type enclosure you would see in a zoo. The bear(s) come out in shifts lasting about 2 hours, so if you want to see more than one bear you need to hang out for hours, or leave and make the 20min drive back from downtown Bozeman. Again, I appreciate the mission of this business, but it didn't strike me as much of a crowd pleaser.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank UCSB_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to see Grizzly up close”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Such a great place to get a chance to see the bears up close and learn a lot about them. Your pass is good for two days. If you have the time you totally have the chance to come back and see all the bears. We were lucky enough to arrive while Lucy was out and then waited for two more bears. Very educational and a good chance to ask questions that you might have. Plus there is ample time for some sweet photo opportunities.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Littlebean23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love those bears!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

What an amazing experience. We had seen a grizzly in Yellowstone that was about a mile away so we were excited to see one up close. Plus, I was excited to see the famous Brutus the Bear! What a treat. We got there around 3pm and there were two bears (Jake and Maggie) out in the enclosure and shortly after they were swapped with Brutus and Sheena. Then Sheena swapped with Lucy...so we got to see all of the bears during our visit which was unexpected.

The enclosure is amazing and natural for the bears. Between bears they hid treats all over that they search for once they emerge from their dens. They were amazing to watch as they turned over rocks, dug under boulders and climbed on logs to find their treats. Watching Brutus and Lucy interact was the best part. She being a very young bear, she wanted to just wrestle with Brutus. It was incredible to watch these creatures play bite and swat each other. Such power behind them yet such gentleness.

The staff was great. Bill (I believe his name was Bill) was a wealth of information and took the time to explain all he knows (which is a lot) about bears and these bears in particular. He answered a ton of questions and shared stories with everyone. He was great to talk to.

You can't beat the price and it's good for a 2-day pass. We had some rainy weather today so we'll probably stop by again tomorrow. I couldn't get enough of these bears! They were so amazing to watch and I would definitely recommend the stop. You could spend an hour or a couple of hours and not be bored.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Akd2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Montana Grizzly Encounter also viewed

 

Been to Montana Grizzly Encounter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing