We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping with Wolves, Breakfasting in Country Charm”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bozeman
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary
Ranked #1 of 12 Bozeman B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sleeping with Wolves, Breakfasting in Country Charm”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

The Howlers Inn was recommended highly to us and our visit in August 2011 justified the praise. The B&B is very clean and tidy, the owners are friendly and helpful, many comfortable locations are available for reading, wine is always available, and the mountain scenery is postcard perfect. The most remarkable offerings are the imaginative and always wonderful breakfasts, and the wolves in pens behind the sleeping area. We could look out our windows and see the wolves playing, or eating, or sleeping. At night we could hear then baying. They are there as rescued victims and beeing nursed back to health by the owners, Mary Martha and Chris. For an unusual stay at a B&B, what can beat wolves at night - under your windows?

Room Tip: There us no air conditioning, but big fans are in each of the three bedrooms and one suite. The we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    363
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
101
220
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockbridge, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

A warm welcome, gorgeous view, lovely home, great rooms, delicious breakfast, AND an opportunity to view (and even pet through the fence) some rescued wolves. Mary Martha and Chris are gracious hosts who go the last mile to welcome you and meet your needs. A great location for visiting Bozeman or Livingston Montana!

Room Tip: rooms are available for families or for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaintheBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, CA
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2011

After a trip to Yellowstone and Grand Tetons, one could expect to no longer be wowed BUT from the moment we pulled into the Howlers Inn, we were one happy family. The setting, room and home was lovely and my kids were excited about everything. Yet, it was the overall experience with our hosts (their daughter included) and the wolves that made this stay one of our very best bed and breakfast experiences ever. We so enjoyed spending time and learning about the wolves over a scrumptious breakfast. We ended up spending many hours in the afternoon and evening just enjoying ourselves at the Inn.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Being at Howlers was an overall great experience. Mary-Martha and Chris are delightful hosts and you really are sharing their home. We stayed in the Western room that had a king sized bed and lots of room and included a spacious bathroom. We overlooked the wolf enclosures so we could keep a watch out for them. It was fun to see them being fed and get a chance to pet them, especially the pups. And not to worry, they don't keep you up at night, but we did get to hear a few howls one night which we thougt was great. This will be a stay you will tell your friends about.

Room Tip: Western has a king sized bed and overlooks the wolf enclousure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We had the opportunity to stay at the Howler's Inn earlier this month on trip to visit family. We stayed in the carriage house which was perfect for our family of four. The wolves were amazing and fun to watch. They are well-cared for and a special part of the experience. The breakfast was delicious and our 2 and 4 year old (picky) daughters even gobbled up everything. The host and hostess were genuinely friendly and went beyond their way to make sure our stay was comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

What's not to love about Howler's Inn? Mary-Martha and Chris made us feel so welcome and comfortable in their home. The Inn is beautiful, set within peaceful surroundings. Breakfast is fabulous! Of course the highlight are the wolves - seeing them interact with each other and with Mary-Martha and Chris was an amazing opportunity. The attention that is given to their guests and the wolves is heart-warming. This was truly a memorable experience and I hope we have the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlene711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbana, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

My husband and I visit Yellowstone National Park frequently, and this year we decided to spend a few days in Bozeman after 2 weeks in the park. We had read the many positive reviews about Howler's Inn here on trip advisor, so we decided to give it a try. Boy are we glad that we did!
From the moment we arrived at the inn, Mary Martha and Chris made us feel right at home. Their home is spacious, clean, and offers a cozy family room, theatre room, work out area, lots of great outdoor areas to read and take in the incredible views, and a kitchen that overlooks the magnificent wolves. Once Mary Martha gave us a detailed tour of the inn, she took us to our room; the Western room. The room was large, clean, wonderfully decorated, quiet, and offered awesome views of the surrounding countryside and most importantly, the wolves. That evening, after watching Chris feed the wolves, we settled in for the night and were happily serenaded with the howling of the wolves.
Breakfasts at Howler's are scrumptious. Each morning Mary Martha and Chris presented us with meals that were creative and delicious. And if you have any dietary restrictions, they are more than happy to accommodate you.
One of the high points of this inn, however, are the two wolf packs that live there. One pack consists of three older timber wolves (affectionately referred to as the "grumpy old men" pack), and the other pack consists of five alaskan tundra wolves, two of which are just 16 weeks old. Mary Martha and Chris are extremely knowledgable about the wolves, and are happy to share stories and answer questions.
Our stay at Howler's inn was wonderful. We enjoyed every aspect of our stay, and will definitely stay there again when visiting Bozeman.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheresaFromMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bozeman hotels
10.2 mi away
The LARK Bozeman
The LARK Bozeman
#1 of 31 in Bozeman
592 reviews
11.3 mi away
MountainView Lodge & Suites
18.3 mi away
Gallatin River Lodge
Gallatin River Lodge
#8 of 31 in Bozeman
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Element Bozeman
Element Bozeman
#5 of 31 in Bozeman
217 reviews
10.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bozeman
11.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Bozeman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary

Property: Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast and Wolf Sanctuary
Address: 3185 Jackson Creek Rd, Bozeman, MT 59715-9659
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Bozeman
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bozeman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique lodging experience. Visit a beautiful log home B&B with wolf sanctuary set on 42 acres near Bozeman, MT. All rooms have a private bath and mountain views. Some rooms overlook the wolf enclosure, home to five wolves, offering an up close opportunity to enjoy their singing and antics. Children of all ages welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Howlers Inn Bed & Breakfast And Wolf Sanctuary Bozeman, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing